We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really average tourist evening”

Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes
Attraction details
Lismore
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Really average tourist evening”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Food was barely average and the wine was not drinkable. The dancers were good particularly the solo female whirling dervish. It would be very nice to be able to just pay to see the show and skip the meal.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wet-paddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    67
    61
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
pompano beach
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Wonderful spiritual performance”
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The setting was beautiful, the ceremony for me was spectacular, I haven't experienced anything like this. After the performance, somewhat of a history was shown as a movie on the caravanserai walls with hot apple cider. I loved it, it was one of the two best parts of the trip.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank juliviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Meditation time”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed both the music and the devotional movement. It was a time of quiet relaxation in a full programme of touring. I bought a CD.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank islandloverBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, CO
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Dervishes location dreary”
Reviewed June 23, 2013

I was told this would be a highlight of my trip to Turkey and it really wasn't. The performance wasn't explained very well (the explanation on the internet is much better), the sound was not good (or maybe that was just the singer) and the cave we were sitting in was damp and uncomfortable. I probably would have dozed off if there had been a back to my seat! I did think it was nice that after the Sema Ceremony the dervishes came back out and allowed photos while they whirled.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank LCCSCO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
629 reviews
247 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Very Interesting”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The whirling dervishes performance takes place in a caravanserai (a roadside inn for ancients travelling along the Silk Road - often with there camels). There is an amazing multimedia show after the performance. The whirling dervishes are authentic and part of Turkish culture.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GaleAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes also viewed

 

Been to Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing