We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dervis Dervishes”

Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes
Attraction details
Tienen, Belgium
Level Contributor
94 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Dervis Dervishes”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Interesting Cultural event, especially with the guides explanations, about Turkish history.
No foto/films to be taken in the event self; well at the end for 5 minutes.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    67
    61
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Towson, Maryland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Whirling Dervishes”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

My mom told us not to miss this, & I guess I could say I was glad we went, but I wouldn't really recommend it. It is a religious experience for the dervishes. It is about 45 minutes long and involves 5 men whirling maybe 100 revolutions with eerie music to accompany them. They are trying to communicate with God during the ceremony. It is quiet & everyone was respectful, but for the cost & the time it took to see the show & return home, I, & I know my husband would have preferred an evening off. We had such an ambitious tour, this is one attraction you might want to skip. We had gotten up at 4:30 A.M. for our hot air balloon ride & by the time we were at the performance, we were pretty tired.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Adrienne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Varna, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Interesting”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

When you are in that region of Turkey, it is absolutely obligated to visit a dervishes show. The music is so nice and relaxing and the dance... I have never seen such a dance.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank MiglenaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
398 reviews
163 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Very moving!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013


This is a religious ceremony and not an entertainment show for tourists,we found it a very spiritual experience. The ceremony is performed downstairs in a cave. The audience is seated around a round stage. We were told photography is prohibited during the ceremony. The musicians enter the stage, followed by five dervishes. The lights dim during the ceremony and at the end of the ceremony, the musicians and dervishes exit the stage.
We really enjoyed it and found it very moving to see the look of serenity n the faces of the performers.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 2gnomesinparis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
303 reviews
91 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“take it off your bucket list”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

do not go. zzzzzzz, boring. Certainly not for kids and as an adult I didn't like and wouldn't recommend it. save your $ for a Cirque de Soliel show. This is just really dudes, spinning around in circles. Boring repetitive music and spinning. A dentist by day and a twirler by night. No pyrotechnics, no acrobatics, no interesting music. It is an hour of your life that you won't get back but wish you could. No-one liked it in our group. Ntg cultural or mystic or sacred about it. I felt taken.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank abmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes also viewed

 
 

Been to Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing