We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“take it off your bucket list”

Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes
Attraction details
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 6 Contributor
341 reviews
110 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“take it off your bucket list”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

do not go. zzzzzzz, boring. Certainly not for kids and as an adult I didn't like and wouldn't recommend it. save your $ for a Cirque de Soliel show. This is just really dudes, spinning around in circles. Boring repetitive music and spinning. A dentist by day and a twirler by night. No pyrotechnics, no acrobatics, no interesting music. It is an hour of your life that you won't get back but wish you could. No-one liked it in our group. Ntg cultural or mystic or sacred about it. I felt taken.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank abmilw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    67
    61
    17
    20
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Valparaiso
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Interesting ceremony”
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Interesting ceremony , presented as a sacred ritual and essential to understand the Ottoman culture.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DBinValpa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Overated show all over Turkey !!!!!”
Reviewed March 18, 2013

Guys just skip this performance , the whole show is about some guys that just keep turning around , I admir their redundance but just give me a break it is noting spectacular so please just dont go save your money and your time. You can see them for free at a restaurant near Aya Sofia where are performances every night on the open terrace. Now after i saw this thing i would not attend again this kind of performance even if I get paid for . Truth is the whole country is based on fooling tourists to spend money on rugs and ceramics that you dont need and have no practical value. Beware of any purchases you will make on Turkey around corner may be half the price .

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Stefanvpopa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

Great cultural experience! So intriguing and beautiful. Serenity on their faces. It was nice to experience this in a more cozy atmosphere in Goreme. The view from the car going to the venue was incredible!!!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Its ok”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

The one we attended was at a Caravanesi (spot where the caravans heading to the Orient would stop for the night). Driver picked us up at the hotel on time, said nothing and drove a half hour to location. We were brought into the building, which is very impressive and well worth a visit and left in the courtyard with still nothing being said. This was a little disconcerting as we were the only non-Turks there and no one said anything. But we walked around and soon others arrived and they brought us into the performing area. It was announced that no photos were allowed of the performers and they came out. The music played and they spun and you could see how they could get into a trance like/meditative state. It was interesting enough but its the same thing for 40 minutes. It ends, tea is served and you are brought back to your hotel. For 25 euros per person, I don't know if it is worth it. Check out a video and decide, I saw spots in Istanbul where you could see it with dinner or a drink which might be the better choice.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank pei162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes also viewed

 

Been to Dervis Evi Whirling Dervishes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing