We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty good, could be better.”
Review of Istanbul Balloons

Istanbul Balloons
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Hot air ballooning is the best way of exploring Cappadocia. Our pilots so called " wind talkers " will take you off smoothly and fly you alone the spectacular rock formations known as " fairy chimneys ". You will feel Cappadocia at your fingertips and see feats of color of the sun rise with your eyes. All Istanbul Balloon Flight Crew are trained to the highest standard and all our pilots hold full TR commercial ballooning pilot licences, so you are in the safest hands. You will feel the art of flying.
Ulaanbaatar, Mongolia
Level 6 Contributor
23 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty good, could be better.”
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Overall Istanbul Balloons made for a good trip, but there is room for improvement. On the plus side, the staff was very friendly and they seemed to really know what they were doing, which I suppose is important when booking a trip in a balloon. Pick-up was prompt, but we then sat around for almost 30 minutes at their office/cafe area which was sort of annoying at 6:30am. My only real complain was that they packed us into the balloon like sardines; barely enough room to turn around. I don't have other experiences with ballooning in cappadocia though, so this could be standar. I suspect these companies are fairly similar, would probably try another one if I were back.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank modesto111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oznkrkc, Manager at Istanbul Balloons, responded to this review, August 5, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you for sharing , your opinions ... The office-cafe you are talking about is our breakfast area

and sometimes in ballooning we have to ask our guests to wait until the weather is ok for flying .

Unfortunately sometimes it takes more time than other days ...

In your comments you say the basket was very crowded , in standart flights we have 24 pax

baskets. If you had chosen comfort or deluxe package you could fly in 8 or 16 pax baskets ...
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    438
    38
    4
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Istanbul Balloons do a good job”
Reviewed December 21, 2012

The hot air balloon excursion went very well from beginning to end. They picked us up, gave us a very early morning breakfast, took us for a nice balloon ride, flew high (up to 700 meters) and low, great views. And to finish off, we got a certificate and some bubbly!

Ali, our pilot did a good job

Also, I have to add that the staff is very helpful and friendly. At one point, my mum and I couldn't find out hotel in Goreme, so we visited Istanbul balloon's office in town, and they were kind enough to look up our hotel and drive us back! Now THAT's service!!!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Nathalie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto Alegre, RS
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Istanbul Demirbilek Ali balloon tour”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

I flew to Istanbul Demirbilek ali balloon tour. It was one of the most wonderful experiences of my life!

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank Stefania_Pilz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Egaleo, Greece
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“" Captivating flight with the best Pilot in Cappadocia ! "”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

I want to congratulate our Pilot Ali Demirbilek for his abilities. He was great proffecional pilot and kind to us. He droves away our fear with his humor, he tours us of the valleys. We were amused by the fantastic shapes of the rocks (very close) and shadows of ballon. Thank you Ali for an unforgettable experience which gave us! It was magical. I would like to do it again !!! Congratulations on Instabul Ballons company to better serve offered us from the beginning to the end of our flight. Don't miss it when you are in Cappadocia!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
5 Thank KaterinaPloumpidou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Balloons also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Balloons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing