We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent staff and original cave rooms” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Emily's Cave House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Goreme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Emily's Cave House
Ranked #56 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent staff and original cave rooms”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stayed here for 3 nights and we loved it. We were lucky to have the upper room, inside the rock, like one of the caves in Capadocia. The room was very clean and comfortable and the balcony has a great view. The staff helped us a lot with everything we needed (tours, transfers, motor rent, advice, etc) and everyone was very very friendly, doing their best to make everything perfect for us.

Our flight was really early in the morning and we wouldn't be able to have breakfast at the hotel, so when we arrived from dinner the day before, there was a sandwich and juice in front of our door, for us to eat before we leave the next day. The breakfast is really good (fruits, breads, jelly, honey, eggs, cheese, ham, juice, coffee, tea, etc).

We'll definitely stay there again if we go back to Goreme one day. We strongly recommend Emily's.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mbahury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    10
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
8
52
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2013

We were lucky enough to find Emily's cave house online. We didn't know what to expect but were very pleased and ended up extending our stay we enjoyed it so much. Mahmet and Esen were such great hosts. It felt much more like we were house guests rather than paying customers. We can't wait to come back. The rooms were beautiful, clean and comfortable. The price was great. The hospitality was wonderful. Looking forward to returning one day.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dborges24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goa, Goa, India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2013

We did not know what to expect and were all very happy with our cave!
Our son found a playmate in Fissek the puppy and decided he wanted to stay. Our rooms were wonderful and we were immediately made to feel part of the family.
Breakfast every morning was delicious and Mehmet, Emily and their family did everything to make our stay memorable.
When we return to Goreme we will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

I booked this hotel based on the excellent Trip Advisor reviews (which are usually quite on the mark!), but after staying here recently, I left feeling my stay was pretty average compared to the 5-6 other hotels I stayed at during my Greece/Turkey trip.

Although the cave rooms were cute, the owners well-meaning, and the place quaint and central to nearby attractions, there were many things that could be improved. First, the rooms are not sound proof and there was a family of roosters along with dogs that made noise pretty often. You could hear other guests/employees too. Luckily, the other guests were not loud, though I could see it being loud depending on the type of guests. Second, there was lots of cigarette smoke in the common areas. Third, there were miscommunications due to language barriers with staff. Although very helpful, the staff is still working on their English so we had some inconveniences since my guest and I are not Turkish speakers.

Room Tip: Try a second floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LLK7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 20, 2013

There are only five rooms cave house, just a renovated last year. Friendly owner to service their all guests. Here is an original cave house, if you decided to stay here from how nice pictures in the website. You might get some disappoint. But if you're looking a small nice and original cave house, it's okay. There are 3 rooms in the ground floor and 2 rooms in the upper floor. So if you want to see the fantastic view with your own space. Choose the upper floor is better. My room have no toilet facilities like soap, shampoo etc. only one hand liquid in bathroom. But it doesn't matter.

However, I could said that I enjoyed here for 2 nights in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wnsiripant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Staying at Emily's was trully fantastic. The staff couldn't be more kind and attentive. They really make an effort to make you feel comfortable and cared about, and are always fast to suggest tours, itineraries, atractions, places to visit, things to do, and give whatever kind of advice you might need. From the moment you arrive and are offered to have a sit and sip a cup of tea, you know you're in the right place.

The rooms are clean, warm and comfortable, carved inside the fairy chimneys that define Capadoccia's geography, a true cave experience (for a very reasonable price!). And the hotel's location is perfect, right inside Göreme and around the corner from the main streets, shops, cafes and restaurants. The breakfast is hearty, varied and delicious. Oh, and they have a big parking space in case you're travelling by car.

We'd like to thank Mehmet, Esin and Maureen for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Maia E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

This family-run establishment is a home away from home! The owners, Mehmet & Esin, make sure that everything is taken care of. The staff, which is also extended family, is helpful & friendly. Esin delighted us with her freshly-cooked breakfast and Muk & his father went out of their way to drop us at Goreme Open Air Museum. Room is very clean & spacious with a comfy bed. Tea/coffee service is ceaseless. Location is fantastic - you get to the town center in a minute's walk with all its restaurants & boutiques. Given this lovely combination of outstanding service & value-for-money accommodation, one can never go wrong staying here. Thank you!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MariaN75017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.4 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#27 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nirvana Cave
Nirvana Cave
#18 of 33 in Goreme
4.0 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ufuk Pension
Ufuk Pension
#11 of 33 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Emily's Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Emily's Cave House

Property: Emily's Cave House
Address: Gaferli Mahallesi Muze Cad. Goynuk Sokak No:12, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Emily's Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing