We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hiking experience”
Review of Gulludere Vadisi

Gulludere Vadisi
Book In Advance
More Info
$70.81*
and up
Southern Cappadocia Tour with Lunch
More Info
$58.73*
and up
Small Group: Cappadocia Full Day Tour with Red Valley and Kaymakli Underground...
More Info
$35.96*
and up
Wonders of Cappadocia: Kaymakli Underground City and Red Valley Hiking Tour
Ranked #5 of 50 things to do in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Hong Kong, China
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good hiking experience”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Caravanserai cave hotel arranged a hiking guide for us, it is very exciting experience, should try. But ensure you have enough training.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wing0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,441 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,009
    363
    58
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The best singletrack by far”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We rented mountain bikes for an afternoon and took teh singletracks that lead to the red/rose valey. Lovely mountainbike area, beautiful singlerack with very nice backdrops. Will have to go back to Goreme for more of this.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Carine R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fascinating”
Reviewed July 14, 2013

We walked around the rose valley with no one around it was an amazing experience. The landscape is mindblowing and the cave rooms and fairy chimney's intriguing. The area is beautiful. One of the highlights of my trip to Turkey. If walking doesn't suit there are many other options for going around the valley including horseback and ATV

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Annabelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“One of the most memorable days in Cappadocia”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

My dad and I parked up where the ATVs, 4WD vehicles look over the valley, and we began our independent hike - without a guide, tour, etc. We didn't really have a plan, but just figured we'd go in the direction of the Red Valley. Things I learned from hiking around Cappadocia:

- wear convertible pants, to roll up when it's hot, and to roll down to prevent bramble scratches
- obviously, bring water and sunscreen
- there are about 100 different trails all leading to a single place, and chances are that the small trail leading of the main one will eventually loop back around

We didn't use a map, just kept track of our turns and were mindful of the sun's location. I know people say it's quite easy to get lost, but I would recommend taking a small detour off the main trail every once in a while. Sometimes you find beautiful panoramas, churches, wildlife, etc. As previously mentioned, the small trails usually wind back up at the main trail anyways.

A highlight of the hike was when we climbing through the narrow slots, when the sun was setting and the rocks turned to red, orange, and pink. The later in the day, the more rich and beautiful the colors of the rocks become. I would definitely recommend being adventurous and trying to hiking the winding trails through the tall, narrow canyons.

Also a plus - the further into the valley we got, the less tourists we saw!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank MikaelaByers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great solo walks”
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Nice walk, can do on own. Do not need a guide. Can pick fruits along the way. Is about 4 km so will take roughly 2 hours.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank explore_life_2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gulludere Vadisi also viewed

 

Been to Gulludere Vadisi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing