We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“amazing sites” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Rose Valley

Rose Valley
Book In Advance
More Info
$68.91*
and up
Southern Cappadocia Tour with Lunch
Ranked #5 of 50 things to do in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Terre Haute, Indiana
Level Contributor
132 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“amazing sites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

be prepared for lots of hiking and very poorly marked trails but the sites are worth every meter of walking

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank 201pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,407 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    981
    357
    58
    10
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

A must see whilst in Cappodoccia. We hiked around the stunning Rose Valley during our stay and it was another highlight of our stay in Cappodoccia...

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank GouFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mcallen
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great hike through Rose Valley”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

It was sunny and hot, so bring comfortable shoes, a hat and plenty of water and enjoy immersing yourself in the beautiful valley. Be sure to stay on the path and you will find yourself passing through 3 small cafes. We sat down and had orange juice at the first cafe, Natural Cafe, and met the owner Yilmaz who was very friendly.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank charisse l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very Unique Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 21, 2013

We recommend starting your hike from the Goreme Open Air Museum and walking through Sword Valley and Red Valley. However, we started from the top of Sword Valley, which made for a more difficult hike. It was worth it for the wonderful view from above. There were also caves you could explore from above. You do end up walking through farmland on your descend, but just be respective and walk on the paths. On the rocks someone had used spray paint to direct you toward the valleys. Follow it and it gets you to where you need to go. But overall it is hard to get lost if you stay on a path. And the exploration is just part of the experience.

The fairly chimneys are just magical and as the call to prayer echoes through the valleys, you are instantly reminded how you are some where very unique. The trails were also very quiet. We only saw 5 other people during our hike, so majority of the time it was our personal wonderland. We went in June, so it does get pretty hot. Remember to bring water and plenty of sunblock. But along the way you could also cool down in one of the many caves carved into the fairy chimneys.

We walked past a few goats and a family of horses (unfenced and roaming freely). Considering that Cappadocia is the land of beautiful horses, it was nice to see actual horses rather than only their droppings online the trail - from those that opt to explore the valleys via horseback. ATV rentals were also suggested if you're short on time or did not want to walk. For walkers, hiking shoes recommended. The gravel may make it difficult to get a good footing in some areas.

The only incident that put a damper to our experience was when we crossed a store along our way to/through Rose Valley. One of the men that manned the store followed us. He had on a hearing aid so perhaps things were lost in translation. He was overly friendly and kept touching me. As a female that made me very uncomfortable. The entire time he was with us, I just wanted him to leave so we could continue on our journey on our own and I was just in shock at how he took every opportunity to touch me. I tried to be neutral about it, but when he touched my face I had to contain my anger. At the end he told us he would like us to pay him for directing us to the church even though we were walking that way anyways. Even worst, he suggested he would follow us through our entire trek through Rose Valley as our guide. We made an excuse that we had to leave and we paid him when he asked so he would leave first. He left very quickly after he had some money in hand. After that we were feeling very uneasy, so we decided to take the less scenic route toward town rather than continue on our trek.

Overall, really worth the visit. The man we encountered was likely harmless, and we were just being overly cautious because of the excessive touching.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Anna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best of all!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

The colour is amazing and the view the same. Great to see from the balloon, but just walking in the valley is very relaxing. You'll find the best coffee and great service up there.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank SuzanCD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rose Valley also viewed

 

Been to Rose Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing