We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Choice for Goreme”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
Ranked #20 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 1, 2014

This is our 4th and last day here, in the heat of late July, and I highly recommend this hotel for 4 reasons:

1. in light of its position, on an incline north-most in town, it has views of the valleys and rock formations on both sides. It is also farther away from the 3 mosques than most Goreme hotels and the call to prayer less loud at 3:45 am. But equally close to all the restaurants and tourist services.

2. It is 2-3 years' new. Furnishings and materials are not worn and in need of repair. It has a lightness and coolness, and the design, with a large internal courtyard, is most attractive. Breakfast room and "reception area" are also light-filled and inviting. With 17 rooms, it is large enough to be able to offer more amenities but small enough for personal service and and a casual atmosphere.

3. Its staff take initiative and are service-oriented - our emails were promptly answered by all and our requests were readily met by the wonderful and patient Ozge, Koray, Vehbi, and the breakfast server (a quiet fellow whose name I didn't get). Little things, eg twice we sat on the terrace with coffee outside our room, and the breakfast server would bring little napkins and packages of wet wipes. Vehbi invited us to use the kitchen whenever we wanted, "it is your kitchen to use, and you can take coffee anytime you like". General Manager, Perihan, although all business and somewhat lacking in warmth, was quick to intervene and recommend 3 restaurants other than the one we were planning to reserve at, which she quickly described and ranked. None of the 3 was the hotel's own restaurant. Then she handed me her business card and invited me to contact her if she could help with any request.

4. It has a small pool and charming, covered seating area with chairs and tables, and comfortable, padded loungers adjacent to the pool. The pool is not heated, but in the middle of the hot summer, it is a delightful place to rest and refresh after hiking in the dusty valleys.

In addition, it has the other offerings of hotels in Cappadocia - free internet and breakfast, ability to arrange every possible tour or transfer, and a restaurant at the bottom of the hill. Unlike some, it also has room mini-fridges and A/C.

The only downside is traffic noise while sitting by the pool from the main road on the north side. This is a small negative when compared with its considerable advantages.

We stayed in deluxe room 104. It is line 1 of the photos of the deluxe rooms and, I believe, the best room in the hotel. Excellent value for money. An upstairs loft and access to a private terrace with panoramic views of the balloons taking flight. Note, there is no shade on the terrace. There is good shade on the little chairs and table outside the main door of our room, which we used often. High ceilings and 5 windows - hence very bright. And dry. We loved this aspect of the room, as we are not partial to darker and damper cave-type rooms. Consider sleeping with eye-shades. (If you prefer a cave room, Doors has those too). Queen bed, perfect pillows. Romantic lighting behind the bed head, and convenient switches at each bedside. Slippers in the room, but no bathrobes. Deep and long tub with shower attachment, but no shower curtains. Kettle, and tea and instant coffee making facilities. 104 is adjacent to the breakfast room, and the pool. Superb location, and completely soundproof from outside noise or its neighbour, room 105. Two small quibbles with 104: as with many Goreme hotels, very limited space to put clothes that are not hanging or other "stuff" - suggest management consider adding shelves under the stairs to the loft; A/C sounds a bit like ocean waves - not bad or loud, but I thought I should mention.

I tried to capture, in the attached photos, details and perspectives that may not have been captured by others.

I did extensive research including TA forum posts, and corresponded with many other hotels. While staff at many were responsive and gracious (Goreme Inn comes to mind) Doors of Cappadocia simply offered the best amenities for the price. We would choose to stay at Doors again, on a return visit to Cappadocia.

Room Tip: Deluxe category room 104 is, I believe, the best room in the hotel. It is beside the breakfast room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Ingle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2015

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.
All details that you type in your comment will be reviewed but Bath robes on request at our rooms.
We are also happy to hear that you facilities.All the DOC staff also thanks you for your nice comment.
We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. If you have decide to smell the same air again,
We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA!

Best Regards :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (518)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

157 - 163 of 518 reviews

Reviewed August 25, 2014

Our luggage was not placed on Turkish Airlines to Kayseri due to late arrival from another City. We were without warm clothes or resources for about 24 hours. Doors of Cappadocia was kind enough to lend us a fleece wrap so we can keep warm during an early morning balloon ride. Later that day, management was very kind to get on the phone with the Airline to track down our luggage and arrange delivery. For this attentiveness alone, I would rate this hotel as Excellent. The stone rooms were charming with two sitting areas. The bathroom was spacious. The hotel location was very convenient for our daily walk into town. The scenery from and of the hotel is breathtaking. We will have wonderful memories of this trip and the DOC is part of that package.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 24, 2014

My friend and I stayed 2 nights in this wonderful hotel. We had been travelling for over 10 hours so the warm friendly greeting and the beautiful views made us completely forget our weariness. Be prepared for the magnificent hot air balloon displays in the early morning. Wonderful to watch whilst having breakfast.

Room Tip: Be aware that this hotel has many steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JenLB2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2014

My wife & I flew to Cappadocia from Istanbul. Our plane (not a small one either) was violently tossed around during our approach to Kayseri airport due to a large thunderstorm. Nearly everyone on the plane was praying and/or crying. Thankfully, the pilot did a fantastic job of getting that bird on the ground, and we could all breathe a bit.

Then, we had an hour long transfer to our hotel. In the traditional Turkish driving manor, our driver pushed the Sprinter van to the speed of light the pitch black, desolate road... dodging potholes & just barely making tight curves without flipping the vehicle or running off the road. The seats were beyond uncomfortable & most of the seat belts didn't work. So, again our nerves were pushed to the limit.

When we arrived at Doors of Cappadocia, it was pretty late at night & very quiet. We made our way to the office to check in & were greeted by two wonderful gentlemen, the owner Yavuz & Vehbi. They got us checked in & helped calm our nerves with their incredibly friendly & welcoming demeanor. We purchased a fantastic bottle of wine & were shown to our room.

As this was our honeymoon, our travel agent had coordinated with the hotel to provide a special touch as a surprise. Our magnificent room was made even more amazing by having rose petals spread across the bed, and a complimentary bottle of wine & a fruit basket.
With a balloon ride scheduled just a few hours later, we had some wine & tried to get some sleep.

About 4 hours later, we were picked up to be taken to the site for our balloon ride. It was magical, but due to higher than usual winds, the landing was rough... we bounced hard twice & then tipped over. Thankfully, everyone was ok & as we watched other balloons having the same issues, we could quickly laugh it off & reflect on the breathtaking views we just experienced.

We returned to the hotel where we were again met by Vehbi. We had a delicious Turkish breakfast on the terrace, overlooking Goreme. We took a short nap before we were picked up for a tour of the Open Air Museum & Imagination Valley. That evening, we wandered around Goreme for a bit, having dinner before returning to the hotel. We enjoyed some wine in the courtyard, while taking in the interesting layout of the hotel complex & how lovely it seemed lit up at night.

Just a few hours later, we would again be picked up for our flight back to Istanbul, and then to on to Kusadasi. Our time in Goreme seemed far too short, and it's laid back pace was very welcome after the hustle & bustle of Istanbul. Tessekur ederim to Yavuz for his hospitality & magnificent hotel, and to Vehbi for all his help & especially for his amazingly awesome and bubbly personality!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2014

a great experience! High quality rooms, beautifully appointed, elegant building, great facilities, excellent service and holiday support. A truly unique experience. Cave rooms a feature. pool, and roof top views exceptional

Room Tip: All rooms looked high quality (we asked for a tour around the facility)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Sharryn_Cook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2014

Can't thank our wonderful host Yavaz enough for his hospitality at The Doors Of Cappadocia.
We had two nights in this very spacious and enchanting cave hotel.The service was very friendly and exceptional we were even entertained by our host and his lovely wife at his home for dinner.
Thoroughly enjoyed the infinity pool on the rooftop which had wonderful views of the town and valley.A lovely way to finish the day relaxing poolside with friends. Our room was very spacious and all our needs catered for,i.e. wi.fi, hairdryer,tea making facilities,minibar and very good air.conditioner.
Looking forward to returning to this wonderful land one day.
Once again thank you Yavaz regards Lynne Stone.

Room Tip: WE had a room on the top floor had fantastic views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
8  Thank LadyLynne2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2014 via mobile

Enjoyed the beautiful terrace area by the pool with access to wifi. Our room had a private terrace and was a roomy suite for a reasonable rate. When my flight was canceled the staff helped us rebook and were very accommodating providing a late checkout and adjusted our transfer to the airport. We loved having a cappuccino early morning by the Infiniti pool watching balloons float overhead. Ideally located close to hiking trails, restaurants but quiet.

Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
5  Thank Jacquelline F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PERİHAN Ç, Genel Müdür at Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2014

Dear Guest;

Thank you for sharing your experience from your recent stay with us at DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA on Tripadvisor.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were happy with the services provided by our colleagues.We are also happy to hear that you enjoyed our services and facilities.We have shared your comment with the teams and they are equally happy to hear that you had a super stay with us.

Once again, thank you for taking the time to post your review on Tripadvisor. We look forward to welcoming you back on your return to DOORS OF CAPPADOCIA

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
967 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 78 in Goreme
392 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel

Address: Orta Mahallesi Mizrak Sokak No:11, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#12 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#18 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $65 - $1,116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel Goreme, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing