We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“get a good tour guide”

Goreme National Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$53.33*
and up
Horse Back Riding through Cappadocia
More Info
$50.00*
and up
2 Hour ATV Tours around Goreme and Surrounding Valleys
Ranked #1 of 50 things to do in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Windsor, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“get a good tour guide”
Reviewed February 3, 2013

Like thousands of other tourists, our cruise ended in Istanbul.
Plan to stay a few days there and do an overnight to Cappadocia. We were picked up at the airport and taking to our hotel where we were met by our professional guide, Cansu Ozer. He and our driver Mustapha made sure we covered all the must do's the first day. This gave them an idea of our travel preferences. Day two, Cansu arranged an early morning balloon ride, a three hour hike, some great meals and some shopping for local crafts. This place is magical.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,958 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,359
    507
    77
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
149 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
“Hiking all the way”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I'm a strong hiker and I did nothing but hike for 2 entire days in this area, and my mind was continually blown away by the amazing and surreal panoramic landscapes. This is definitely one of the most special places on earth and I've never had this much fun exploring a natural area.

Keep in mind that the signage in the area is extremely poor. I got lost the first time but encountered Kiliclar valley, an amazing narrow gorge that was a lot of fun to navigate. Then I skirted the top of the ridge just before and above the roadway, across from Goreme Museum, where I could see, not only Kiliclar valley that I was just in, but a great view in all directions.

I came back to the park the second time and thankfully was able to find what I missed the first time, Rouge Valley. I climbed up a steep ladder through more narrow gorges and was rewarded by an amazing view at the top. There are so many great viewpoints and I tried my best to see them all, and each one provided something a little new and different.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank My2BareFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“crowded but worthwhile”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

I am glad we visited, but the huge tours really took away from the overall experience. IF you go, get there early. IT gets very very hot in July and August.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank CharlieHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stornoway, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Interesting history over many centuries”
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Fascinating site. Unfortunately the best parts required paying an extra fee once you were in the park.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Well worth the Visit”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

This whole are is a fun and exicting area to explore, and very unique, some level of fitness would be a good, but there are areas you can easly stroll through.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank belinda1203
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Goreme National Park also viewed

 

Been to Goreme National Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing