We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nothing better”
Review of Heybe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Heybe Hotel
Ranked #12 of 77 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2012

At first, I was curious that I choose common hotel instead of cave hotel. However, I was satisfied because the exterior of hotel was modern but the inside of hotel makes me be in cave. Without a doubt, all of hotel assistants were kind, also, this hotel has a quiet mood swimming pool. Every morning, not only breakfast buffet but also the omelet hotel served me were great. I did not make any plan, but the hotel introduce to me reliable tour company - balloon tour and green tour with a reasonable price. I was fully enjoyed.

Room Tip: I stayed third floor room has a great Goreme view with quiet and comfort.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jisoo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybe, Manager at Heybe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2012

Dear Jisoo,

Thank you very much for your nice review. It was a great pleasure having you at Heybe Hotel. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our service, facilities and the buffet breakfast on offer. We hope to see you again in Cappadocia and hope you can stay longer next time.

Kind regards

Mert KURA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

228 - 234 of 401 reviews

Reviewed July 11, 2012

Recently changed hands and now run by Mert Kura, a Turkish winemaker, and formerely known as the Ottonaman House. He personally helped us plan our local tours. Not pushy, but very informative on the area. Whilst some renovations in the rooms still need finishing, each small fault fixed immediately. Service overall was excellent, and all staff very friendly. The Ballong experience organised by the Hotel through their own very professional company, Butterfly Ballons was a highlight of our trip. Awesome and recommended. Great value for money, and would go back. Very well located for travel throughout Capadoccia.

Room Tip: Arrived at the front door at 4pm, negotiated directly, and got adequate flexibility. Most rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Richard B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Richard,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share with us your experience at Heybe Hotel during your recent stay. We are glad we were able to assist you and your friends during your time of need and that you were pleased with our services and recommendations.

My team and I look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Mert KURA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

The welcome was very warm. The manager (Mert) and his staff are great, we had never had such a good experience as in this hotel and the people who work here are very kind. They want to do everything to make our stay as comfortable as possible. The manager looked after us during our stay and was very helpful. He speaks fluently English and try's to give everybody a unforgettable experience of Cappadocië.
It's certainly worth for hikers to spend the holiday in Göreme, at Heybe Hotel. We stayed for 15 days. The area is beautiful and there are many routes for hikers. The manager is willing to bring you to places you want to start hiking or pick you up where you end your hiking, very attentive.
For not hikers, as well hikers there are several excursions and much to see, which the manager will book for you if you like. If you want to make a balloon flight, please do, it is a unforgettable experience.

The rooms are nice, airconditioned. There are some facilities like a swimming pool, hamam, steam room and spa with several types of massage.
The breakfast buffet is very delicious and is widespread with yoghurt, cereals, dried and fresh fruits, olives, omelettes and eggs, bread, cake, honey, marmalades and more. It is really Turkish and a lot of local products. The coffee is good, very important fur Dutch people. The breakfast is from a very high standard. Now they are setting up dinner, what hopefully will be from the same standard as breakfast, excellent.
Perhaps nice for the Dutch and German people, one of the staff members is Dutch and speaks Dutch and German.
The hotel lays in a quiet area, nearby the lively centre. We can sincerely recommend this hotel. When we describe the hotel and the area in one word, it is: SUPER!!!!

Rob and Marjoke (The Netherlands)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marjoke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 12, 2012

Dear Marjoke and Rob,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Heybe Hotel. We are glad to know that you are satisfied with our service, facilities and the buffet breakfast on offer. I will share your comment with the team, I’m sure you will also be satisfied with our dinner menu next time. I have made your pre reservation for May 2013.
Please give my regards to Mr. And Mrs Blavw as well.
My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in 2013.

Kind Regards
Mert KURA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

We arrived very late in Goreme to find our original accommodation booking had fallen through.
We walked into the lobby of the Heybe Hotel and talked with the desk clerk who rang his manager. Despite the lateness of the hour, he came round to the hotel immediately and arranged for us a very good room at a very competitive rate.
During our stay in Goreme, the manager personally looked after us and booked all our tours and airport shuttle on departure.
The staff, room quality, food were were excellent and we would recommend the Heybe to anyone. The tariff is well-priced and very comparable to boutique cave houses/B&B's etc.
The Heybe Hotel in Goreme is very conveniently located.

Alan and Joy Smith N.Z.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded July 7, 2012

Dear Alan and Joy Smith,

It was a coincidence but I am very glad to have met you. On behalf of Heybe Hotel thank you for taking time to share your experience with us. Our focus is to show Turkish Hospitality to all our guests from all over the world.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards

Mert KURA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

i stayed many times with my groups in Heybe(i'm professional turist guide )
Hotel is very very clean and hotel stuff are very helpful and friendly,
breakfast is very rich also !

i highly recommend this hotel and vouch for hotel stuff !

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seyfi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybe, Manager at Heybe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear Seyfi G,

Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience with us on Trip Advisor. Our housekeeping and culinary team were delighted to read your comment with so many praiseful words and glad to hear that you liked our services on offer.

The team and I are looking forward to welcome you and your guests back during your next visit to Cappadocia.

Kind Regards

Mert KURA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2012

We stayed at Heybe for 5 days in late May 2012 and have nothing but positives to say about the hotel and staff. The only thing I'm disappointed with is that I missed out on posting the first review for Heybe after requesting TripAdvisor add them several weeks ago! Sorry Mert!

Where to start?
If you're wondering why there are so few reviews for Heybe, it isn't because Heybe is a new hotel, but because it has recently been taken over by the owners of Kelebek, Sultan Cave Suites (and a number of other hotels) and old reviews have been removed from TripAdvisor. If any new reviews pop up of stays prior to April 2012, take them with a grain of salt - the new ownership and management are obviously working hard to bring the hotel up to a higher standard. Although there were a few minor maintenance hangovers in the hotel from the previous ownership they were being rectified as we stayed there - things like door latches being adjusted, taps being replaced etc. The new manager was very solicitous of feedback about the facilities and quick to act in fixing even the slightest thing.There were also some more major alterations or repairs going on downstairs, with tradesmen coming and going through a service entrance with cement blocks and sacks of concrete, however these works were obviously well managed and we were never disturbed by any noise.

Location:
Easy to find near the centre of town, on one of the major streets at the bottom of the valley (not up a steep hill like many Goreme hotels). If you have a lot of luggage, or are travelling with a baby (or both as we were) this is a significant plus.
The location is nice and quiet - no road noise (no through traffic up this valley) and it's not too close to the mosque either for those who dread the early morning wake-up calls to prayer.

Rooms:
Heybe is not a cave hotel, but this isn’t a bad thing; rooms are well ventilated, bright and airy. It still has a very Cappadocian feel as the rooms are built of cave rock with some beautiful detailing.
The rooms have radiators for heating in the winter, and air-conditioning for cooling in the summer (neither of which we used because the temperature in spring is perfect to leave the windows open).

We were advised the hotel had just replaced all their mattresses after the change in ownership a month earlier. The mattress in our room was certainly comfortable and looked new so we have no reason to doubt other rooms are any different.

The standard of cleanliness left nothing to be desired. Housekeeping were also helpful with the needs that come with having a baby, providing extra linen and towels. The hotel also provided a cot and bedding for our baby at no extra charge.

Rooms have a smallish LCD TV, with a good selection of local and international satellite channels. I don't normally watch TV on holidays, but did catch the end of a stage of the Giro d'Italia on Eurosport live after my 9 month old baby tried to eat the remote control and the TV came on! Serendipity...

Staff:
Although the rooms are nice, what really makes this hotel a cut above the rest is the staff!

Mert (the hotel manager) and his team are simply outstanding in the level of service provided, far exceeding the expectations at this price level. You couldn't do any better having your own personal concierge. He's also a genuinely nice guy to have a conversation with if you're lucky enough to catch him when he's not too busy working.

Mert was always ready to provide advice and assistance, whether making a restaurant reservation for us, giving us tips on the best places to go walking, the best company to go ballooning with, or actually giving us a 30 minute lift in the hotel car to the beginning of a hike on the far outskirts of town. He also arranged car hire for us (and finding a car with a functional baby seat in Cappadocia is no mean feat), having the car delivered to the hotel and allowing us to put the car on our hotel tab when we didn't have the cash on hand to pay (and for the cynics, the rate we were given was as good as any we were told by other travellers). At the end of our stay Mert organised a free shuttle to Nevsehir airport even though we were not expecting it (this is now advertised on their website for stays of 4 days or longer, but we didn't know this at the time).

Despite being part of a chain (or group) of hotels, there is a family feel to the way the hotel is run. It was very nice to see the staff (management and housekeeping) sitting down to breakfast or coffee together and interacting as friends as well as colleagues. Happy staff = happy guests.

The Hotel facilities:
The indoor swimming pool swimming pool is available to all guests, and the hotel also offers sauna, hamam (turkish bath), steam room and spa services offering various types of massage etc. My wife and I each had a massage in the hamam - although the price is higher than at a public hamam, it does entitle you to use all the spa facilities for the duration of your stay.

Breakfast:
Well above average with a huge selection of cereals, dried fruits, nuts, yoghurt, olives, bread and cake, savoury dishes, omelettes cooked to order, fresh filter coffee and tea. The breakfast room is on the top floor and has nice views over the valley. There are also outdoor tables on the terrace.

Overall, we heartily recommend the hotel to other travellers and say a big thank you to Mert and his team!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank dsut4392
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybe, Manager at Heybe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 15, 2012

Dear dsut4392,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience with us. We are delighted to know that you are satisfied with our services on offer, the breakfast, the wellness center. Your comments are so detailed and involves a lot of departments in the hotel. I have shared your review with the team and they are all very happy to receive such a complacency comment and we are all very motivated.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in future.

Kind Regards
Mert KURA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2012

Heybe is definitely different from most of the boutique hotels in Goreme for one thing: it’s not a cave hotel as most of them are or claim to be. BUT, that did not make my stay with Heybe any less of a Cappadocian experience! It offers the modern amenity one might need for vacation (swimming pool, Spa,Turkish Bath, as well as rooftop cafe and terrace/garden bars) and convenience on one hand, and does not lack for local hospitality and village experience on the other hand.

It’s located at the exit of Pigeon Valley. The hotel provides complimentary rides to Pigeon Valley (and others, of course!); it’s absolutely wonderful that the hotel is just right there at the end of a few hours hiking, where one can continue to admire the loveliness of the village, local passer-bys, and fellow travellers, while recovering from the fatigue and sipping Turkish tea (as much as one could take without becoming sleepless at night) at the garden of the hotel! Another big plus (in particular for someone with a very bad sense of direction such as me) is that it is very easy to find, situated on one of the main roads in town center (yes, there is a “town center”, despite the size of Goreme).

Above all, Heybe stands out for the diversity of its staff and the quality of the services. Mert, the hotel manager, speaks fluent English, which makes the communication stress-free, obviously. Having been educated/worked abroad for more than 10 years and travelled extensively himself, he understands perfectly the requests/needs of guests of different cultures. He goes out his way to make sure all his guests have a pleasant stay, pay every attention to personal needs, and ensure that they have an unforgetable Capppdocian experience (with impartial and thoughtful recommendation of tours and what to do in the area). Nico, another staff on the team, speaks very good English and, on top of that, is fluent in Dutch and German; make sure you have a chance to sit with him and chat - he has had an interesting life and lots of stories to tell!

And the Goreme experience would not be complete without Cete, a constant presence at Heybe besides the staff! He is the older brother of the hotel owner and does not speak any English (or any other language than Turkish actually). Nonetheless, he shows hospitality to guests in his own way, with the lovable Turkish (or, rather, Goreme) rawness; for example, he told me (with Mert/Nico’s translation, of course), without hesitation, not to spend money on unnecessary stuff here, or to put on warm clothes (so that I would not get sick)!

Here you have it: a hotel stay with both modern and Cappadocian flavor!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nycstranger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heybe, Manager at Heybe Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2012

Dear nycstranger,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Heybe Hotel. We are happy to read that you are satisfied with our facilities, our service and our team. I have shared your comments with them and they are all very pleased. Our focus is to deliver Turkish Hospitality to our guests from all around the world.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards

Mert KURA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,047 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#3 of 78 in Goreme
1,142 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 78 in Goreme
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#19 of 78 in Goreme
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Heybe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Heybe Hotel

Address: Aydinli-Orta Mah. Uzundere Cad. No:25 | Goreme Cappadocia, Goreme, Turkey (Formerly Goreme Suhan Park Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $43 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Heybe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring a spa & wellness centre with a large indoor pool and a Turkish bath, Heybe Hotel is situated in the centre of Goreme. There is free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel and in all the 33 rooms. Air-conditioned rooms are well designed and include an LCD TV. A minibar and a private bathroom with a hairdryer and a shower or bath are provided. The hotel’s terrace restaurant offers a wide range of dishes. Breakfast is also served on the terrace with indoor and outdoor seating options. There are 3 bars, situated in the garden, lobby and on the terrace, serving refreshing drinks. Guests can benefit from sauna and massage room facilities at Heybe Hotel. Laundry services and a tour desk are available. Nevsehir Kapadokya Airport is 40 km from the hotel. A shuttle service can be arranged upon request with an additional fee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Heybe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Heybe Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing