We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quirky, comfortable, clean and ideally situated”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goreme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goreme Suhan Park Hotel
Ranked #72 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Quirky, comfortable, clean and ideally situated”
Reviewed September 29, 2010

As part of a tour of Turkey, I was part of a group which stayed in the Ottoman for 2 nights. The hotel was a delight after the anonymous "5 star" hotels we'd stayed in up to this point!

The hotel isn't large, 3 floors high (no lift, but the staff will carry luggage if needed), with the restaurant/bar and outdoor balcony seating on the top floor. The hotel is less than 5 mins from Goreme bus station, so would be ideal for travellers arriving by bus. It's also a stone's throw from bars, shops, etc in the middle of the village so entertainment is close at hand.

The interior is mostly white plaster, with lots of wall hangings and rugs on the floors - almost like being in a large tent!

From discussions with other members of the group, the rooms aren't all the same, and there are different facilities available depending on the room you're in. For example, my room (2nd floor front) didn't have air conditioning, but other rooms did have it. My room had 2 single beds, and some hanging space in an alcove (a wardrobe without doors, if you will!). The bathroom was very small, not much bigger than an en-suite room in a regular house, and it contained a WC, sink and shower cubicle. All was clean, if a little worn. Some rooms were suite-style, with a separate sitting area and bedroom, some had a jacuzzi bath.

Breakfast was buffet style, with a small selection of breads, jams/honey, juice, tea/coffee, and there was someone on hand to cook eggs on demand.

Dinner (included in our package) was served to our tables, and was very tasty.
Drinks weren't overpriced (e.g. beer was €2 approx).

Both breakfast and dinner were served in the 3rd floor restaurant.

I didn't use the swimming pool in the basement, but had a look, and it seemed to be in good condition.

We all agreed that the hotel was great, it was clean, comfortable, it had character, and is very centrally located.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gipi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rapid City, South Dakota
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2009

Walking distance from Goreme city center. Nice indoor pool. Wireless Internet. Low rates.

Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank catts4christ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2009

I loved this hotel! The Beds, the sheets, towels, cleanness, everything was so perfect. I couldn't get up from bed, because it was so comfortable! The Interior is interesting. Small and cosy.

Stayed July 2009
Helpful?
4 Thank Kaplumbacik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2008

Small, updated hotel. Excellent English. Good service, rooms were clean, internet access in the lobby. Rooftop restaurant was good for dinner. Breakfast could have had more variety. Staff was courteous and helpful. Hotel is well-located and quiet. Has a large indoor pool.

  • Liked — Service
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank LGH_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lago Maggiore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We have just come back from our second stay at Goreme Ottoman House and we are very disappointed after reading the terrible review dated May 2008.Since we had a great experience last year we decided to stay there even this summer.
The location is wonderful, just a few minutes walk from village centre. Fantastic view from the terrace where you can enjoy typical turkish dishes. Rooms are clean and confortable.
Last but not least the young staff is very friendly and helpful.
We really do suggest it!
Barbara and Cristina, Italy

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — going back home
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gulegule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2008

I can't believe that the previous bad reviews are concerning this hotel ! I've just been there with a friend and we had a very good stay in this hotel. It's comfortable, clean and the staff is very nice. Just go there ! And Göreme is such an incredible place to visit cave churches and to hike by the fairy landscape of Cappadocia.

  • Liked — the global quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank likeabutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

After hearing just positve stories about this place from my turkish tourist guide friend, we have decided to stay here. Unfortunately the last time she stayed there was 2006 summer. It seemed as if the standards deterioted since than.The hotel owner/manager behaves like a business man from the turkish bazaar. Behind the scenes of a helpful man he tries to organise tours for you to cash his own percentange. We have unfortunately accepted his tour recommendation. It was absolutely a disaster. The bus did not start on time. We spend the first hour of the tour searching for some tourists around the area. The guide was just somebody from the village without any knowledge, etc.

The breakfast at the hotel was terrible. The poor tourists may think that there are some strange turkish food, but being turkish I can just say this was just old food which had been warmed up every morning. The most strange thing was that the fruit juices were kept without cooling the whole day and just before breakfast the cooling was on. We haven't tried them, but whoever has thought that turkish food in this hotel caused diarrhea, it could be just because of the fruit juices.

This place is a shame for turkish hospitality. For so much money there must be something better.

  • Liked — The cave rooms
  • Disliked — Poor food, poor service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
6.6 mi away
Tourist Hotel & Resort Cappadocia
6.2 mi away
Doors Of Cappadocia Hotel
10.5 mi away
Elif Stone House
Elif Stone House
#23 of 65 in Urgup
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#23 of 77 in Goreme
440 reviews
6.5 mi away
Ciner Hotel
Ciner Hotel
#74 of 77 in Goreme
55 reviews
10.4 mi away
Best Western Premier Cappadocia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goreme Suhan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goreme Suhan Park Hotel

Property: Goreme Suhan Park Hotel
Address: Orta Mah. Uzun Dere Sok. No:25, Goreme 50180, Turkey (Formerly Goreme Ottoman House Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Goreme Ottoman Hotel
Goreme Suhan Park Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing