We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Goreme
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Goreme Suhan Park Hotel
Ranked #68 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Lago Maggiore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best stay”
Reviewed July 25, 2008

We have just come back from our second stay at Goreme Ottoman House and we are very disappointed after reading the terrible review dated May 2008.Since we had a great experience last year we decided to stay there even this summer.
The location is wonderful, just a few minutes walk from village centre. Fantastic view from the terrace where you can enjoy typical turkish dishes. Rooms are clean and confortable.
Last but not least the young staff is very friendly and helpful.
We really do suggest it!
Barbara and Cristina, Italy

  • Liked — everything
  • Disliked — going back home
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank gulegule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    17
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
13
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2008

I can't believe that the previous bad reviews are concerning this hotel ! I've just been there with a friend and we had a very good stay in this hotel. It's comfortable, clean and the staff is very nice. Just go there ! And Göreme is such an incredible place to visit cave churches and to hike by the fairy landscape of Cappadocia.

  • Liked — the global quality
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank likeabutterfly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2008

After hearing just positve stories about this place from my turkish tourist guide friend, we have decided to stay here. Unfortunately the last time she stayed there was 2006 summer. It seemed as if the standards deterioted since than.The hotel owner/manager behaves like a business man from the turkish bazaar. Behind the scenes of a helpful man he tries to organise tours for you to cash his own percentange. We have unfortunately accepted his tour recommendation. It was absolutely a disaster. The bus did not start on time. We spend the first hour of the tour searching for some tourists around the area. The guide was just somebody from the village without any knowledge, etc.

The breakfast at the hotel was terrible. The poor tourists may think that there are some strange turkish food, but being turkish I can just say this was just old food which had been warmed up every morning. The most strange thing was that the fruit juices were kept without cooling the whole day and just before breakfast the cooling was on. We haven't tried them, but whoever has thought that turkish food in this hotel caused diarrhea, it could be just because of the fruit juices.

This place is a shame for turkish hospitality. For so much money there must be something better.

  • Liked — The cave rooms
  • Disliked — Poor food, poor service
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mcky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coos Bay, Oregon
Level Contributor
44 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
Reviewed December 10, 2007

I am a bit puzzled about the raves about this place. We were not so thrilled.
We were supposedly "upgraded" to a "suite". It was sort of large but there were many things lacking. The bath had very few toiletries, only shampoo... and there was a jet-tub that was in bad shape. No closets or any other place to hang coats or clothes. We just left everything in our suitcase. There was no place to put our toothbrush. We could see that there was a space for a TV and a fridge. but there was just a hole in the wall. and, no AC. There was a nice looking terrace but was quite out in the open on the street and looking right up into another hotel. Very basic indeed. The breakfast , however,was nice with a gorgeous view. There was no place to sit and have a drink or chat in the evening except for the small lobby ..and there was no bar. We thought that there was a "cozy" bar, according to the information about the place.

We mentioned all of this at check out. No apologies that we were charged over $100 for a barely 2 star room. We were not offered a reduction in the price. The guy at the front desk appeared to be totally undisturbed about our very viable complaints.
We will not stay here again. Definately not worth the $$.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — no AC, very basic rooms
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank fisches
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 11, 2007

Stayed at Ottoman House for the easter holiday for 4 days. We enjoyed our stay so much, very nice staffs, clean, lovely breakfast and yummy dinner and good price. Located in the town center of Goreme with a nice view. Easy to explore the area.What else i should look for? They have just finished renovations. The indoor pool was heated and great. I definitely recommend for other travellers.

  • Liked — lovely breakfast at rooftop with a nice view
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
istanbul,turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2007

We had an unpleasant stay in one of the cave houses in Cappadocia and decided to transfer to another place. We found The Ottoman House and decided to stay there for the next couple of days. Since we came to Goreme during off season and winter time, we wanted to make sure that heating and hot shower is available during our stay. The Ottoman house didn't disappoint. The lobby is well appointed. There was good heating in the room. Hot shower was also available. The room was simple but clean better than most pensions you may find in Goreme. A buffet breakfast was served in the terrace on the top floor and it was good. No birds picking on the breads as the previous review stated. The venue was inside a room since it was winter season. You may even find some hot air balloons roaming around on early mornings during your breakfast.

The staff was very helpful and efficient. The price of the rooms were decent and very reasonable. The indoor pool was closed during our stay but we didn't mind. There are so many things to see and do in the region, we didn't have time to go for a swim even if we wanted to.

  • Liked — good heating and shower system- a must during winter timei n Goreme
  • Stayed January 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank suncatcherph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
64 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2006

I am a bit puzzled why this hotel has such a high ranking on TripAdvisor. Certainly Goreme is the best choice of town in amazing Cappadocia. Ottoman's location is not exactly central but Goreme is a little town so it's quite close enough to walk easily. And the price is good, and certainly the staff (all-male strangely enough) are friendly and helpful. Cheap internet in the lounge room was nice.

But the room was not very big and looked over a construction site (where the hotel owners are constructing an elaborate hamam, for some reason). It was also quite basic and a little bodgie, something which the fancy tufa bedhead failed to redeem. The original Ottoman styling of the hotel seemed to extend to the shower plumbing, although this was not matched by other plastic fittings in the bathroom.

The rooftop dining was capable of some magical moments, although this was more at evening when the sun set over the distant rock formations. At breakfast the buffet looked enticing but I'm not sure how frequently it was refreshed, and the flocks of sparrows which constantly descended on the bread and the muesli were a worry, especially in a country with reported cases of bird flu. I stuck to the things which didn't interest the birds, like the cheese, olives and tomatoes.

Apparently there used to be a basement restaurant with music but this is inoperative now (apparently making way for the hamam).

I guess it was value for money had had some nice touches, but number one in town? We are dubious.

Stayed July 2006
Helpful?
6 Thank Baudolino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
8.5 mi away
Suhan Cappadocia Hotel & Spa
6.5 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#59 of 72 in Goreme
79 reviews
11.5 mi away
Dinler Hotels – Urgup
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.2 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
6.5 mi away
Ciner Hotel
Ciner Hotel
#65 of 72 in Goreme
53 reviews
5.2 mi away
Rox Cappadocia
Rox Cappadocia
#4 of 28 in Uchisar
426 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Goreme Suhan Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Goreme Suhan Park Hotel

Property: Goreme Suhan Park Hotel
Address: Orta Mah. Uzun Dere Sok. No:25, Goreme 50180, Turkey (Formerly Goreme Ottoman House Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Also Known As:
Goreme Ottoman Hotel
Goreme Suhan Park Hotel Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing