We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hygienically challenged and overpriced”
Review of Arch Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Arch Palace Hotel
Ranked #37 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
La Coruna, Spain
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Hygienically challenged and overpriced”
Reviewed September 20, 2012

Mustafa, the owner, is a very nice person. However, this is not enough to make a hotel pleasant. The room upstairs was plain and rather ugly. Service consisted in changing the towels if they were put on the floor and providing soap to the bathroom. It was never vacuumed nor cleaned in the 6 days I stayed there. In fact, I observed that the cleaning lady does not carry any cleaning device. A fly that happened to die the first day on the carpet remained there for the 6 days. Breakfast was bad and not hygienic. Someone in a previous critique talked about "breakfast that was dead for a week". This is exactly the feeling my wife and I had. One could find bits of fruits cut many hours ago. A big fly was on the watermelon. I told the owner to cover the fruit with plastic or find another way to avoid this. He was very receptive to my suggestion but did not change anything except that my part of fruit and that of my wife were kept in the fridge before I arrived. But nothing was changed for the rest of the customers. Except for Mustafa, who of course could not be there everytime, nobody spoke a word of any foreign language except Turkish. Abdullah, the person who helped in everything at this hotel, was an extremely nice person but one could not communicate with him. We had an extremely bad experience upon arrival as the shuttle who was supposed to be waiting for us at the airport (at 11 PM) did not want to drive us to the hotel. Communicating with the hotel reception over the phone was a nightmare as nobody at the hotel reception could understand us. Last: the rooms don't have TV and the only TV in the hotel was out of order while I was there. Of course, one does not go to Turkey to watch TV, but after dark there is not much to do in a small town. Nowadays, TV's are not a luxury anymore. All in all: 70 euros is too much for a place like this. I am sorry I cannot recommend it, although, I repeat, Mustafa and Abdullah are extremely nice persons.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Epi_traveller_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    69
    10
    4
    1
See reviews for
51
172
33
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ancaster, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed at Arch Palace for 3 nights. My luggage did not make the flight to Nevsehir, so Mustafa, the owner took full responsibility for getting it for me so that I could enjoy my time there. He and his staff were very accommodating and helpful, as well as fun. Our room was average size based on other rooms we stayed in in Turkey. There was no AC but the room was not hot, probably because of the stone from which it was made. There was a fan in the room if we had needed it. We really liked the decor in the hotel and in our room. There wasn't much storage space in the room, but by this time, we'd learned to live out of our suitcases. The bathroom was very nice with a fantastic shower. Breakfast was served on the roof and was very good. It was a nice place to sit and watch all the hot air balloons in the sky. Mustafa was very helpful in planning an itinerary for us for the day and drove us to the dolmus station to get us a good start. He also booked the small basket at Atmosfer Balloons for us at an excellent price, as well as the Green Tour. Another day, he booked a table for us at a restaurant that takes two hours to cook their meat in pottery, and beforehand we sat on the roof enjoying drinks while he fed us walnuts fresh from the tree. The hotel is in a great location, just a few minutes walk from the main street.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank summersky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 13, 2012

I do not know how I can express how much our stay was enjoyable better than saying that, no matter how impossible it seems, every single tripadvisor review on Arch Palace is true. Mustafa is a warm, reliable and welcoming host: in five minutes talking with him after a long flight day, we had understood that our jump to Cappadocia would be worth it. He directed us to one of the best place to eat in the entire world (and one of the most hard to find on a map). Our cave room was typically ottoman, decorated with style, comfortable. There is a small air cooler in the room (which is not true of some hotels with twice the price): we did not need it as cave rooms are cool, but it can be more than precious to sleep with ease without mosquitoes buzzing on your face all night long because you opened your window for 5 minutes. We slept better just knowing that the cooler was there. Breakfast with fresh fruits, fresh bread, hot coffee and tea... I even had the right to a special mint beverage for my cold. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrogsByFoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbell, California
Level Contributor
114 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2012

As previous reviews show, Mustafa is an excellent host, and delivers great service and a great value. We had a booked a quad room and we paid 85 euros/ night for two nights. This was a last minute trip and email communication was very timely w Mustafa. Our room had very comfortable beds, and included free breakfast on the roof top terrace, which has great views and makes a great start to the day. We also had free internet which I found very reliable (unlike some 5 star properties throughout Turkey). One thing that i would like to point out is how trustworthy Mustafa is. One member of our party left a bag containing their passports and a large sum of money in the room after checkout, and we found this out half way to the airport. I was able to call Mustafa, who went to the room, found the bag and agreed to drive to the airport to drop it off (otherwise we would have missed our flight). As promised, Mustafa made it to the airport with the bag and we were able to make our flight. Without his help, our trip would have become a nightmare. I wholeheartedly recommend staying at the Arch Palace, and would gladly do so again if I make it to Goreme again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank omeeda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed at Arch Palace for 3 nights during our trip around Turkey. The place is very well located, close to the bus station in a quiet area, with great views over Goreme from its rooftop. Our room was spacious, clean and beds were extremely comfortable. Breakfast was great.

Nonetheless, what makes this hotel such a great place is Mustafa, owner and soul of the hotel. He was always taking care after his costumers, which he treats almost like family. We felt at home from the very beginning of our stay. His recommendations on tours, restaurants, and other activities were always a success. He helped us in a number of ways (hints for the rest of our trip, bus reservations, and so on).

If you're going to Goreme do not hesitate for a moment, Arch Palace is your place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carles M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
india
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2012

Staying at the arch palace was like living in a typical ottoman style. Mr. Mustafa greeted us with a warm smile and loads of helpful advice. We just trusted his recomendations and had a wonderful tour and enjoyable stay. I suggest you to just trust his recommendations, he is very attentive to his guests without being overbearing. The rooms are ottoman style quaint, fully equipped and warm with wonderful impeccably clean modern bathrooms. The view from the restaurant on top is unbelievable....The staff to is very helpful and friendly. In short, our stay at the arch palace was excellent and we had a wonderful time at Capadoccia.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nalita22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
99 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2012

Welcome by Mustafa late evening, Transfer arranged by the hotel, same price as if you book through info@goreme.com. 10€ per head.
Spacious triple room eventhough we were two, otoman decorated and nice views overlooking Goreme town. No top sheet or turkish duvet though, winter duvet is too much during summer time.
Good buffet breakfast served at the roof terrace, enjoying the wiews, Coffee magic moment spoilt by Mustafa, explaining us ALL ABOUT GOREME, which we appreciated, but he even grabbed a coffee and sat with us, border line between friendly and pushy, maybe just a cultural thing, but we had not seen this in any other hotel during our 15 day tour around Turkey.
Overall good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusGS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#33 of 72 in Goreme
392 reviews
0.0 mi away
Diamond of Cappadocia Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#49 of 72 in Goreme
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 72 in Goreme
589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#31 of 72 in Goreme
516 reviews
0.3 mi away
Matianasos Hotel
Matianasos Hotel
#52 of 72 in Goreme
50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arch Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arch Palace Hotel

Property: Arch Palace Hotel
Address: Gaferli Mah. No:14, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#19 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Arch Palace Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Arch Palace Hotel is set in the middle of breathtaking surroundings with spectacular panoramic views of Goreme, ideally situated only 300m from the centre of Goreme. All the rooms at Arch Palace Hotel have central heating, air conditioning and private bathrooms. In total there are 11 rooms for a maximum of 30 guests. Arch Palace Hotel is a family run hotel where you will be made to feel at home by the owner Mustafa and his wife. From the spacious rooftop terrace you can enjoy the amazing surroundings and beautiful sunsets, or just relax on the cushions of the Turkish style sitting corner. The name of Arch Palace Hotel comes from the traditional room-type that has been built in Anatolia for centuries. A building with an arched ceiling keeps the room cool during the hot months of summer and retains the warmth during cold winters. This building tradition is still used today as can be seen at Arch Palace Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Arch Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arch Palace Goreme
Hotel Arch Palace
Arch Palace Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing