We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$169
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$33
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caravanserai Cave Hotel(Goreme)(Great Value!)
$37
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goreme House(Goreme)(Great Value!)
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$66
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$53
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,690)
Filter reviews
2,690 results
Traveler rating
2,344
316
25
5
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,344
316
25
5
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsorganic breakfastkelebek staffturkeybutterfly balloonsturkish bathheritage travelballoon ridefairy chimneyscommon areasbeautiful hotelunique experiencethe hot air balloonsamazing viewsmagical placeday touropen air museumunderground cities
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
924 - 929 of 2,690 reviews
Reviewed June 14, 2014

I love this place! The view is spectacular and cave rooms are very quaint. The staff are the sweetest. Please don't miss out on the organic breakfast they offer. I would come back here in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phulish222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2014

If you want a unique experience without sacrificing any modern amenities and conveniences, then the Kelebek Cave Hotel is perfect for you. Our room was, indeed, fashioned into a cave from one of the many rocky hills that abounds in this part of Cappadocia, but it was anything but rustic or primitive. It combined the best of the ancient and the modern: the space was carved out of rock but it had a beautiful modern bathroom with both a shower and a sizeable bathtub. The grounds of the hotel were even more amazing than the rooms. Aside from the spectacular views of the surrounding area, the grounds featured a lovely garden with plenty of trees for shade, a great pool if you want sun, and a nice dining area where a breakfast buffet with tons of options is served daily. In addition, the hotel has a nice hammam spa that offers a variety of massages and treatments. We got Turkish massages and they were wonderful.

The only negative was that our room, while cozy, was small and dark in comparison to others in the same price category. We stayed in suite 105 (it was the only one available in that category when we booked) and did have the opportunity to glance into a few of the other suites around the rose garden, all of which seemed considerably larger than ours, with more windows and light. We didn't complain because the room was fine and we didn't feel like moving, but it's important to note the disparity in rooms as other reviewers have pointed out.

The hotel is located just a short walk uphill from the center of town. But if you want to explore the area around the hotel, there are plenty of fantastic restaurants just a stroll away. One of the best is Seten, a more upscale-feeling yet moderately-priced restaurant, which offers a 10% discount to guest staying at the Kelebek.

One of the most interesting and enjoyable features of the Kelebek is the organic breakfast served on a nearby farm that belongs to the owners of the hotel. Make sure you sign up for this experience when you check in. The manager (who is the owner's nephew) was very warm and hospitable and gave us an insider’s perspective on the way that locals have lived, worked, and eaten in this wondrous place for generations. The farm itself is nestled in a little valley that seems like paradise. They offer up servings of locally produced food including honeycomb, truly organic free-range eggs (you can see chickens roaming the ground as you leave), freshly bread bread, candied fruits and vegetables, and lots of other delicious food grown right there.

The service was lovely throughout and our only regret was not having stayed for more than three nights.

Room Tip: Suite 105 was small and dark for the price, though it was very quiet. All of the rooms in the suite category are situated around the rose garden that is slightly separate from the restaurant area so I'd guess that the other rooms here are also very quiet.
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RebequitaNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2014

We loved our stay at the Kelebek, As well as being beautiful, the Kelebek is clean and comfortable. The restaurant is a highlight! The staff were friendly and knowledegable, and could not have been more helpful arranging tours and sightseeing. We highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2014

We had 4 nights here at the Kelebek recently. We chose the Eagles Nest for it,s generous size, balcony and value for money. It was definitely worth it. Only shame was we were looking forward to sitting on our balcony viewing the coolness of the blue swimming pool but unfortunately we were at the beginning of the season and it was empty and being cleaned.
Apart from this small disappointment the Hotel was great. Very friendly staff,good food on the wonderful terrace with it,s views. The highlight for me apart from seeing all the rock formations was my Turkish Haman experience in the Wellness centre. It was sensational and so worth the experience. Also Ali,s breakfast in Kings Valley was amazing.
Highly recommended place to stay.
Cheers Sonya

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank giveup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2014

We reached Kelebek hotel at 10.30pm after a long trip, we flew to Kayseri Airport and from there took the bus. I called the hotel to check if someone could pick us up from the bus station and two minutes later the car was there.

Tuna welcomed us at the reception. He just gave us our room key said “please have a good night sleep, and come tomorrow morning after the breakfast for the registration.

We selected our rooms from the hotel website and did not regret our choice!
We spent two nights in Room 15 and 2 other nights in room 18. The rate was 85 Euro per night, but we got a 10% for cash payment.
It is a unique experience to sleep in a cave room. Everyone should try it at least once!

The breakfast was a plentiful spread; the rose jam was amazingly tasty. They offer complimentary tea all day long if you feel like staying and relaxing at the hotel.

The view from the terrace area is just breathtaking, if you are an early bird you can see the balloons flying from 5.30 to around 7 am.

The staff is just amazing; they provide you with plenty of information about the region and the tours. They are not pushy; actually if you follow their advice you get to see the best of Goreme.
We booked all our tours thru the hotel and did enjoy ourselves!

Special Thanks to Unal, Osman & Mert for making our stay a memorable one!

We did fall in love with the hotel and Cappadocia region!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tinhinen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews