We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kelebek is an amazing 'experience'”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Kelebek is an amazing 'experience'”
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Kelebek was simply amazing. Perched on a hillside overlooking the Rose Valley, the location meant that we ate breakfast looking at hundreds of coloured balloons. Then at night we saw the Fairy Lights of Goreme. It was magic. The Cave bedroom was very cosy and comfortable and unlike any room I've stayed in. I've never slept in a cave room before with gorgeous rugs on the floors. We used the beautiful marbled Hamam (Turkish bath) which was all included. Matt (Manager), Ali (night manager) and the dining staff were all incredibly helpful. The breakfast was traditional Turkish but you could order an omelet or cooked eggs as well. We ate dinner there one night too. Delicious and reasonably priced. Our 4 nights at Kelebek added heaps to our experience of Cappadocia. I couldn't recommend it more highly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MichelleAddo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,228
    306
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
434
1,325
134
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 5, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights when we came to Cappadocia as part of our honeymoon trip in Mid-Jan. It was very fun to see and stay in a cave hotel that's so different from the 'normal' ones. We had a superb 3 nights staying with them!!

After the overnight bus, we arrived at the early morning in Goreme. A staff came to the bus station to pick us up after someone at the station helped us to call the hotel. We thought it would be far away, but only few mins drive! When we arrived the hotel, the manager was very nice and made you feel very welcomed! After greeting us, he invited us to have breakfast at their hotel first (free) as the room was not completely ready yet (We arrived early, it's not the check-in time yet). After the room was ready, we checked in and the manager was kind enough to ask us to find him again for all the local information after we got ourselves ready after the long overnight bus. He's been very very helpful and knew that we were on our honeymoon, so the hotel was very generous to give us wine and other complimentary fruits and snacks!

We stayed in room 17. The room was excellent with great view in our balcony. You can see all the hot air balloons flying in the early morning! Our room has a fireplace too but we didn't use it even though during winter time, as their heating is very warm for us already. Everything was excellent in our room except one tiny matter is the wifi. The manager has already informed and apologised to us that the internet reception is not good in our room. So if you need to access to the internet, we needed to go out to the balcony though. Apart from that we were totally in love with this room!

We did go on to the hot air balloon as well and the hotel made an excellent arrangement with the balloon company! And we also did have a bottle of wine after our ride from the balloon company!!! We greatly appreciated this!

In general, we were in love with this hotel and I would definitely recommend people to stay in this hotel if you visit Goreme! I would definitely come to stay in this hotel again when I return in the future!!! We feel so welcomed and comfortable for my entire stay! It's such a memorable stay for us as well!!! Thank you very much!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JFJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This was my girlfriend's favourite hotel on our trip to Turkey. She particularly enjoyed the cosy library with its steady apple tea service. The management and staff were eager to meet all requests. I would stay there again.

Room Tip: We stayed in 3 different rooms. Each had its charms, but 105 (I think) had heated floors in the bat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

We had a great stay at Kelebek while visiting cappadocia. Mert, the manager, and the night concierge (sorry name escapes me - young man) were consummate professionals who made us feel welcome, well looked after and entirely comfortable. This kind of service will always make people recommend and return - well done.
I would recommend considering this hotel above others because of the decadence of having a beautiful hamam free at the hotel, the exceptional breakfast, lovely cave setting and outstanding service. The rooms and bathrooms are beautifully presented and comfortable too.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank mtya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014

What fun to stay in a room carved out of rock! Cozily warm despite the cold February temps outside, room 102 had heated floors in the spacious bathroom, comfy beds and a fireplace. The view from the door was over a garden, the golden rock valley and hot air balloons in the morning! The manager, Mert, was super helpful and friendly, booking us airport shuttles, a discounted balloon flight and tours of the area with the very professional and knowledgeable Turkey Heritage Tours. We also appreciated the delicious breakfast and free coffee, tea and water throughout the day, especially when we were using the free internet in the sitting area. Lovely hotel, lovely management and a breath-taking area of the world worth a visit!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gcblase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2014

We booked Kelebek after seeing the pictures in Tripadvisor and we loved to stay in a cave room and we booked room no 11 for our stay. though the room was little small for a family it was a great experience inside a cave room. the bathroom was really small. i would recommend this room for single travellers only!!The breakfast was good and the hotel owner dropped us in goreme museum. he was very helpful and friendly. the organic lunch at their place in the valley was awesome!!llove the whole kelebek family!! the morning view was just WOW!!..the hot air ballons all over the sky was truly magical view!! the hotel surroundings was beautiful!!Evryone should try to stay in Kelebek in Goreme!! Highly recommended!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank liyaimran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester Hills, Michigan
Level Contributor
69 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 208 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

What can I say? Great great great! What's really interesting is that there are rooms from very inexpensive to quite expensive. We were travelling with 2 teen sons and emailed the hotel in advance for assistance in selecting a room(s). They quickly emailed back with exactly which rooms were close to each other in the hotel. In the end, we went with a single room (rather than the boys in one room and us in another, mainly because they would have had a cooler room than we had). With the options they gave us we ended up going with the Eagle Nest suite, and they put 2 beds in for the boys. And they're big teenaged boys, and the beds were normal beds. They slept VERY well! Loved the room, loved the unbelievable views and the cute little balcony. We found (having teenagers!) that the wifi worked best on the balcony. Bathroom was super cool. Loved the fires at night. We were there the first week in April and nights were definitely cool but I will confirm that the hotel has excellent radiator-style heating that you control so it was PERFECT! Beautiful view every morning of the balloons going up.
The hotel itself is just so COOL that it is super fun to stay there and figure out the rabbit warren of hallways and stairwells. There are lots of little common areas which we took good advantage of using. My teens enjoyed being able to head to a sitting area (there are many, both inside and out) to use the wifi (and get away from us?). Every single person that works here is super friendly. One evening we ended up watching some of the young guys working playing FIFA Soccer/Football on the playstation. Super fun. They thought it was hilarious as Americans that we didn't know much about soccer/football. Led to an interesting discussion.
The breakfasts were GREAT!
The cats are hysterically funny and smart. Spooky smart. Watch how some can open doors into the breakfast area! :)
It's very nice that there is a restaurant on site so that if you don't want to hike down the hill to dinner, you can eat there. Food was very good, slightly more expensive than "in town" but the quality was very high. Totally enjoyed and utilized the free hot cocoa, tea, coffee etc during the day and evening.
My husband and I did the Turkish bath in the hotel. IT WAS GREAT! Kind of funny because you're trying to cover yourself with a tiny towel while sliding around on a marble slab, covered in bubbles. I'm laughing now just thinking about it. But the young people working there were skilled in keeping me covered. It was interesting that in a muslim country, men and women are massaged in the same room. My husband, who back in the states would NEVER get a massage (just not manly, and thinks it's weird) loved it and thought it was one of his favorite things to do there (he also went to a barbershop in Goreme and had a full Turkish old fashioned straight razor shave). It was really nice to do it here in Goreme and not try to do it at a big, busy place in Istanbul.
USE THEIR SERVICES at the front desk for planning. They set us up with a car rental one day (very inexpensive) and patiently sorted out with us what we would want to see and do that while driving around. Even suggested a specific guide to ask for at one of the underground cities. All of that for no charge, and all we rented through them was the car. Another day we did an ATV tour and they told us in advance "go to this place and the cost will be XXX". We went there and walked in and I thought we'd just see what cost they quoted us and it was WAY higher. When I told them we were from the Kelebek and they said it should be XXX they immediately dropped it which saved us something like $120 USD for the 4 of us. (the ATV trip was super fun, and the highlight of my teen sons' trip, but maybe a little light on safety. LOL). Ditto for when we asked them about hiking recommendations, they did a superb job with specific recommendations.

Room Tip: If travelling with kids/teens, email them and explain your wants so they can help you pick the perfe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrDebi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,160 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 72 in Goreme
934 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing