We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #7 of 72 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We stayed in a cave room suite. Our first choice of fairy chimney rooms were all booked. The cave suite was cozy and yet very spacious. Service and staff is excellent. Their restaurant has a great view. Food is ok. Most cave hotels are a climb above the main centre. But kelebek is not too steep nor long a walk from the city centre.
The hotel also owns a balloon company (butterfly balloons)and a travel agency(Turkish heritage travels). Unlike a lot of places in turkey, Kelebek never misguides or forces yout to use one of their sister concerns for your travel planning.
But I would highly recommend both the travel agency and the balloon company. Though they are on the expensive side they are far superior to the other agencies in the region.
We took an excellent day tour with them. We saw other agencies offering more sights on their tour. On enquiry we found out that these agencies added into their itineraries museums that were closed for renovation, carpet weaving, pottery demontration and shopping etc which are absolutely worthless. Turkish heritage did none of that rubbish and had a very well informed guide.
Though we had a booking with butterfly balloons, our flight was cancelled because of bad weather. A lot of the other balloon companies took the risk and flew that day despite bad weather, but butterfly refused as safety was their priority. They suffered a loss of 7500 euros (approx) in refunds that day. Clearly they choose your safety over their own profit. Therefore, despite not flying with them I would recommend them highly :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travelbreeze2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,566 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,226
    305
    26
    7
    2
See reviews for
433
1,323
134
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (642)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2013

I was so surprised when I stepped into this great hotel. From the first moment I felt I was at home. Reception desk stuff, specially mister Mert and the others of course were always there for any of your request. Always with a smile, always so kind and helpful. Accommodation was totally another story. It is so interesting, cozy, clean... Sometimes I didn't want to leave it. You have everything you need it. Breakfast is also excellent. A variety of fruits, dairy products, bread, butter, cheese, corn flakes and so many other thing.We also used laundry service which is perfect and not expensive at all. Swimming pool which is not big is just enough when you come in the afternoon after tracking. Anyway I will remember this hotel for the people who work there, rooms and fantastic service they provide. I wish you have so many prosperous years in the future, because you deserve it. Thank you for feeling so great in your magnificent hotel !!!!

Room Tip: We stayed at room number 1 and 14. Room number one is on the ground floor but it is quiet and good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dejan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Our journey to Cappadocia could not have been better, and that is largely due to the warmth and professionalism of the Kelebek hotel. We are typically reluctant to have one outfit arrange all of our activities for us, and in fact did not have much planned when we first arrived, thinking we'd explore goreme on our own.

Kelebek proved over and over that it was worth it. We ended up doing two hiking tours (1 and 3), both with Serhat, who was an ideal tour guide: funny, warm, well-informed, adventurous. We did a balloon ride, arranged through the hotel as well, that was absolutely beautiful.

When we weren't busy, we were at the pool, or enjoying the many meze dishes at the restaurant.

The most remarkable aspect of the hotel, and the one that left us literally with smiles on our faces was the warmth and friendliness of the entire staff. From the woman working the bar at the pool, to the receptionist who went out of his way to arrange transport for us in an entirely different city, we always felt welcome.

Highly recommend!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noir101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013 via mobile

From the moment we arrived we were looked after very well by the staff. Very clean rooms and a nice pool area. I recommend room 17 if you want a big balcony and a spacious room. If you book hot air ballooning you can do it thought the hotel at a good price. I also suggest doing the breakfast tour in the valley.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lewis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuzhou, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 14, 2013

They drove us to the outdoor museum without charge and were happy to help us go to the bus station.MY family is very satisfied with the hotel and the room. The hotel is in a magical location.The staff was very friendly and he gave me more suggestions.The Buffet breakfast is a very good.The Breakfast terrace has a superb view of the Goreme town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oktoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murat Y, Owner at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel. We are happy to read that you are satisfied with our facilities, our service and our team. I have shared your comments with them and they are all very pleased. Our focus is to deliver Turkish Hospitality to our guests from all around the world.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

To summarize our experience briefly - this hotel surpassed all our expectations and provided an exceptional room, unbelievable (complementary) breakfast and a level of customer service we didn't find anywhere else in Turkey.

We arrived in Goreme after a pretty brutal hotel experience in Istanbul and with an unfortunate image of Turkey as a whole forming in our minds when the delightful staff of Kelebek completely saved our vacation. They all speak English, which is not something you can take for granted in Turkey. Furthermore, we felt throughout our stay as though they were concerned first and foremost with our well-being. They even insisted on making us sandwiches and juices for our early airport pickup on the last day when we wouldn't be able to make it to the daily buffet breakfast.

The hotel is at the very top of the town, which means the view from the breakfast terrace is unbeatable, but still very near to every place you'll want to go in Goreme.

The manager gave us an extremely helpful and honest overview of all the activities we should pursue in the area based on our time-frame and the other places we would be visiting in Turkey.

Perhaps the best part was how affordable all this luxury was.

You should stay here.

Room Tip: Room 112 is quiet and spacious enough. I'm sure all the rooms are equally good, though the fairy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aaron S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
1 review
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The hotel and setting are magnificent. You can sit and enjoy a drink at the hotel bar overlooking Goreme. The hotel staff make a real effort to make your stay as pleasant as possible - even offering a lift to some of the nearby attractions. Tremendous.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryTurk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murat Y, Sahibi at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking time to share your recent experience at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel. We are happy to read that you are satisfied with our facilities, our service and our team. I have shared your comments with them and they are all very pleased. Our focus is to deliver Turkish Hospitality to our guests from all around the world.

My team and I are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 72 in Goreme
935 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#13 of 72 in Goreme
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Property: Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
#2 Spa Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing