We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A slice of heaven”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 20, 2013

We stayed here 17 June - 20 June 2012 as a family of 4 (7yr + 6mth).

What can I say, from the moment we arrived we received friendly attentive service. We were taken too our room which was absolutely beautiful!! My 7yr old daughter especially loved it. She ooed and ahhed at the bathroom. We enjoyed baths all 3 nights of our stay.

We had dinner in the other hotel's restaurant, owned by the same proprietor, and were given a discount on what was an absolutely delicious meal. The staff at the restaurant were lovely too. They offered us wraps to keep warm, as the evenings can be a bit chilly, and didn't even mind when my 6 month old vomited on the wrap. The music added to the ambience and atmosphere.

The breakfast every morning was delicious and varied and the staff very helpful. The pool, though small, was heaven after a long day sightseeing. We ate upstairs at the hotels restaurant and found it delicious and reasonable.

We used their dry leaning services and found that the be good, all clothes returned lovely and clean.

We just didn't want to leave this hotel. It was magical and beautiful, especially in the evenings on the restaurant terrace.

We found all the staff to be friendly and helpful and doting on our kids (Turks in general are very attentive to children and we were always treated very well) and we found value for money.

I would definitely stay at kelebek hotel again! I can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Aussietraveller062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,646)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,395 - 1,401 of 2,646 reviews

Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here while visiting Cappadocia and it was excellent. We are both consultants and travel quite a bit staying at fancy hotels and my wife thinks this is the best hotel she has stayed in.Our room had a fireplace, terrace and very modern bathroom in the floor below us. Breakfast was great, overlooking the valley of amazing landscapes. They also set us up with the balloon ride, which if you havent done before, shouldnt be missed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kilerbootsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

I will preface this review by saying that we are budget travelers, but we splurged on this hotel for two nights for my birthday. As budget travelers, we usually pay around $20-30usd for a hotel room. This usually includes a room with double bed, ac, wifi, tv with satellite, mini fridge, private bath and a basic breakfast. So I was slightly disappointed that paying more than TWICE that amount got is less for our money in Goreme. The stay was nice, there are very pretty views from the terrace, andthe breakfast buffet was outstanding. However, there was no phone in our room, no tv, no wifi(only in theterrace), and since we we were near the terrace and hammam, it was crazy noisy. I get the feeling that most people who stay here are really well off and spend lots of moneys on hot air balloon rides, expensive tours andlavish dinners. Since wehave a very tight budget, we sisn't interact much with the staff, so I can't say much about service. The breakfast buffet was really good though!

Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
15  Thank lindayolid00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murat Y, Owner at Kelebek Special Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your invaluable feedback following your stay with us.

I really am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us and you found the boutique character of Kelebek and the experience it provides not to be to your liking. We have 36 rooms in total from deluxe rooms to Presidential Suit rooms. Each and every room is individually decorated and the layout and to a lesser extent the room size and amenities can vary from one to another within each room category. The details of rooms are shown in detail with pictures on our web side for our guest to decide before they make their reservations.

It was wonderful to hear that, despite the style of Kelebek Special Cave Hotel is not being to your taste, you did appreciate breakfast offering. Thank you again for recognizing the high quality of our breakfast buffet.

I am disappointed to learn that you did not interact with my team who enjoy providing guest with the unobtrusive but highly personalized service, which is a big part of what makes staying at Kelebek such a memorable experience.

I am very sorry again that your experience was not as positive as most of our guest, but would once again like to thank you for sharing your review with us and highlighting areas where improvements may be found.

Kind Regards

Murat Yavuz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 17, 2013

My daughter and I stayed here for 3 nights in early April after a recommendation from one of her friends. Our room was beautiful and exactly as shown in the website photo (if anything more spacious) and entirely comfortable, impeccably clean and well maintained. It represented extraordinary value -- as did all the amenities, including transfer service, complimentary tea and coffee at any time, access to the Turkish bath, and the great breakfast and meals. I loved the comfortable common areas with wifi and the lovely views. Goreme is full of cave hotels but I find it hard to imagine that there is any place which matches the attention to detail and wonderful service -- the staff are so welcoming and eager to please and I was very impressed with the tour we booked through the hotel, balloon ride etc. (I would note that in other places in Turkey we felt we were given the "hard sell" to book tours which ended up being disappointing -- at Kelebek the emphasis was on quality but also these extras were "offered" but not pushed. Indeed, maps and other assistance to explore independently were offered very freely as were great recommendations on restaurants etc). I would definitely say, "book now ... look no further".

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We, too, enjoyed the most attentive welcome and support of Mert and all his staff during our stay at the Kelebek Hotel. His advice about activities in the area was most helpful as we planned our days. The hamam provided us a wonderful Turkish bath experience. And meals were relished on the beautiful terraces overlooking the village and valley. Ours could not have been a better experience. Thank you for looking after us so beautifully!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JRHutton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Staying at the Kelebek Hotel was a joy! We enjoyed one of the cave rooms that had once been part of a stable. We were there at the end of March and made use of the fireplace - it was so cosy and comfortable. The breakfast is fantastic and enough to fuel you until dinner. The staff could not have been more helpful. We took advantage of their tours for a couple of days. The guides were very friendly and informed. A real highlight was the early morning hot air balloon ride. Our pilot was Mustapha. He is an individual worth experiencing! We highly, highly recommend a stay at the Kelebek.

Room Tip: Look at the photos online and choose one that appeals to you. You won't be disappointed!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pywieber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

We loved staying here in one of the "cave rooms". The rate was affordable, and the service was great. The staff was very helpful with directing us on sights to see and places to go. Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I would recommend a "cave room" to take advantage of that Cappadocia experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TA2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 77 in Goreme
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 77 in Goreme
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,300 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#13 of 77 in Goreme
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#1 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $67 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing