We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I loved staying in a cave!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Ranked #6 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I loved staying here. I had one of the cave rooms. I have never stayed in a more quiet place. In addition, the bathroom was spacious and had a wonderful shower. The bathroom rivaled any U.S. hotel...and yet I was in a cave! The views from outside my room were fantastic! The staff were very helpful and friendly. Breakfast every morning was delicious with lots of variety. I also arranged my tours of the area through the hotel's travel agency. This meant after breakfast every morning, I would meet my guide in the hotel lobby and head out. Staying here was an unforgettable experience!

Room Tip: You can see pictures of all of the hotel's rooms online at their website. Check out the picture...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer60661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,645)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,702 - 1,708 of 2,645 reviews

Reviewed March 12, 2012

We booked room no 20 in Kelebek Hotel to experience staying in a cave hotel. We upgraded ourselves to a King Suite - room 109. The suite was wonderful. We loved the bathroom most coz it had marble flooring.. So it keeps u warm! The breakfast at the hotel is also superb and the staff is helpful and friendly.

Two thumbs up and will definitely come again.. An unforgettable experience in Cappadocia! :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Freezeup53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Great place to stay with excellent service. We arrived in the wee hours of the morning to find that we had been upgraded to a suite - with a fire in the fireplace burning bright for our arrival. They took the time in the morning to help us prioritize the best places to invest our time during a fairly short stay. It's worth booking your tours through them as well since their prices are competitive. Great to have the family dog welcome you at breakfast.

Room Tip: When making a reservation, you can see each of the rooms available and specifically choose the one f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Cbroderick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2012

We thought this an excellent hotel. The service was absolutely excellent in every way. The views from the lounge and dining area were wonderful. It is up high enough you can see pretty much everything. The rooms were good. We had two different ones from small to moderate and would suggest the larger one. There is free parking for guests.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mrsboll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2012

We stayed at the Kelebek for 4 nights and could have stayed another four easily. It's comfortable, warm in winter, unique and the breakfasts rocked. We were travelling with two small children, and the staff went above and beyond to accomodate our needs. The on site hammam is a wonderful bonus.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarotchka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Goreme. The rooms have unique interior that makes you feel like you're getting a truly Cappadocian experience. I utilized the hotel's travel agency to book tours and flights. I spent two days on tour and two days hiking around Goreme. The price was reasonable and the tour guide could not have been better.

Room: Unique and picturesque room

Breakfast: Great breakfast with variety

Travel agency: I would recommend the tours provided. It allows you to visit many places at a good pace while providing historical and cultural backgrounds.

View: You get a great view of Goreme

Air Balloon: Recommended. Pictures alone should convince you to try this here.

Note: I would strongly recommend hiking around Goreme if you are active. I am not sure if they have established trails but I immensely enjoyed hiking and wandering around. I got a sandwich from one of the small local shops. The sandwich was mediocre at best objectively but after hiking and with a view tasted like gourmet food.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephenSohn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay at Kelebek. There was a problem with my room when I arrived, so they cheerfully upgraded me to a suite with a spa and a fireplace. If you are travelling to Goreme in winter then I suggest you look at that room (I think it was 101) because snuggling down in front of a fire when there's a snow storm outside is nice and comforting. The rooms were well appointed, the breakfasts substantial and the staff provided excellent advice - even giving me a lift down to the pharmacy in town when they saw me walking down the hill in the snow. I've read other people complain about the steepness of the hill, and I don't honestly think it was so bad - I'm pretty unfit and went up and down it a few times a day, once with a 15kg backpack.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 77 in Goreme
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
967 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 77 in Goreme
1,297 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 77 in Goreme
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kelebek Special Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kelebek Special Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Yavuz Sok. No 1, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#1 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#2 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $67 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kelebek Special Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ever dreamed of staying in a cave-hotel with all mod cons? Well, now's your chance to make those dreams come true with a stay in the gorgeous Kelebek Hotel and Pension.Spacious cave bedrooms with hand-carved furnishings and locally-made fabrics, marble-walled bathrooms and a lovely flower-filled garden with fairy chimneys behind. The new cave Turkish bath and swimming pool are also available to guests! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Kelebek Special Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kelebek Hotel Goreme
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing