We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yes it is an authentic boutique cave hotel. However it lacks the finer touch.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Ranked #22 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 17, 2014

I would give this one 3.5 stars but tripadvisor does not allow for fractions.

First the positives - Yes this is an authentic boutique cave hotel. We stayed in suite 301. It was really in a cave. The suite was large with a comfortable lounge at the mezzanine level, an alcove with cushions that doubles as a rest and additional sleep area. A big comfortable bed and large spacious bathroom. We got access to a balcony which offers breathtaking view of the surroundings. The hotel is truly well located for good views. And it was a short 10min walk (albeit uphill when you are coming back from town) from Goreme. Which is good for at least you have the opportunity to dine out at night and stroll around the souvenirs bazzaar when you are tired of sightseeing. The room service and housekeeping response is quite prompt.

Now the downsides - Manage your expectations. It may give the impression that it is quite luxurious and up market with the name like Suites or all suite boutique hotel. But it is not. It is rather rustic and in my opinion lacks the finer touch. Let me elaborate. When we checked in - we found that the tissues, some towels, toiletries and drinking water has not be replenished. One would expect all these basic necessities should be in the room before the guests check in.
A bigger issue we had was - the heating and AC is centrally controlled and we were told it cannot be adjusted. There was nights when it was simply TOO hot to get a good night's sleep. We resorted to opening our windows. But that only cool down the living room in the mezzanine floor but not really the bedroom set further back from the windows. Likewise for the sauna like heat we had to endure in the bathroom.
The breakfast was not very good. Both range and quality. Presentations were also quite unimpressive. A rather provincial feel to it.
The front desk service was functional but not exactly forthcoming or warm. While reliable and responsive when asked; you don't expect them to volunteer anything additional or do anything more then what they were asked to.
The worse experience of all was the housekeeping staff on the day of our checkout. We came from a culture where tipping is customary for porters but not necessarily housekeeping. We were not informed it was expected. In most other hotels - a tipping box would have been left at the reception or dining area for the general tip to the staff. If so, we will have not problem with it. But there were no such hints either in this place. So we went checked out, we were surprised to find the housekeeper standing by our pickup transfer. We only had change for the porter. So we inadvertently failed to tip the housekeeper. In very bad form, she gave us a nasty disgusted look, and throw a towel on the floor close to our feet. I think such behavior is totally unacceptable. I also had impression Turkish people are always nice and friendly. This was the first bad case we had and it sure left a sour taste for our thoughts of the hotel. For the record, in all my travels to so many hotels, big ,small, expensive, cheaps etc etc ...I have never came across at incident like this. I urge the hotel to give better training to its housekeepers.

It is such a pity. There is so much potential in this hotel. They need to improve on their 'software'. Until then, on my next trip, I may just try the Museum Hotel in Uchicisar.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Navigator22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan50, Manager at Cappadocia Cave Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear our guests,

First of all, thank you for your comment about the hotel. We are so sorry to hear about your complaints. However I would like to point out some misunderstandings.

About the heating system, you stayed in one of seven best suit rooms in our hotel.As you probably noticed in your room there is no radiator.It is central heating system and the pipeline is beneath the floor.This is why there is no controller in the room. If you just had told reception about the temperature, I am sure they would gladly help you.

About the problem with housekeeping, with all my respect sir , we don't understand how you got the idea about the housekeeper that she was demanding tip . This is totally a big misunderstanding. What really happened i , they were waiting for you to check out because we had guests at the reception waiting for particularly that room. It wasn't about tip at all. They were just trying to do their jobs.This is the first time we have a complaint about tipping.

Hope this helps to clear out at least some of the misunderstadings.

Best wishes,
Ercan Tufekci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (960)
There are newer reviews for Cappadocia Cave Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

308 - 314 of 960 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2014

The Cappadocia Cave Suites have a great location and an excellent view!

Initially we were put up in the deluxe room that we booked but there was some maintenance work scheduled outside of our room and the staff upgraded us to their fairy chimney suite. This room is located in a fairy chimney right below a 1200 years old chapel.The decor was beautiful and the room was huge! The bathroom could have been a bit larger though.

There was soulful turkish music playing in their restaurant and they had a lovely breakfast spread. The service was good too.

If you are an early riser, come out in the balcony or terrace at sunrise. The sky is filled with colorful hot air balloons and some of them might fly over your head too!

Room Tip: Go for the Fairy Chimney Suites, they are a bit pricey but well worth the experience!
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanvi_23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Should try this hotel although a bit on higher side on the prices but you will be enjoying every moment...there's a jacuzzi in the bathroom...nicely room tiering and arrangement. I went during winter, it's very cosy and superb surroundings of the cave suites scenary. Every moment cherised especially when you are with the one all the times.

Room Tip: Every room with the unique design and do make sure that can overseen everything :)
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zue5480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2014

We had a terrific stay in Cappadocia. Our spacious room at the Cappadocia Cave Suites provided a true cave hotel experience. It included a balcony, appropriate decorative touches and modern bathroom fittings. From our balcony we could see the hot air balloons. Hotel staff were unfailingly friendly and helpful. They quickly arranged tours and a whirling dervish presentation for us. Transportation to and from the Nevsehir airport was on time and comfortable. The hotel's restaurant was acceptable rather than stellar, although the service was certainly friendly.
The location, however, made it easy to find restaurants (and other interesting shops) in Goreme. Overall we thought we had made an excellent choice and recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan50, Manager at Cappadocia Cave Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear our guests,
Thank you for sharing your experience regarding our hotel.
We are very happy to see that you had a memorable experience in our hotel.
Looking forward to seeing you in our hotel Cappadocia Cave Suites again.
Best wishes,
Ercan Tufekci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2014 via mobile

Arrived early morning from overnight bus journey from istanbul. Metro bus office helped us call the hotel which picked us up in 10 mins. When checkout they also brought us to bus station. Location is right between otogar(bus stop) and sun set point, very convenient to walk around.


Room was ready before check in timing and while checking in front staff helped us book tours for the stay. There was no hard hard sell and helpful.

Room was cosy with nice view. Was bit chilly outdoors but heating kept us warm. The blanket was a bit weird with metal plates on it though on the middle of the cover which jingle when you move. But was warm and soft under the cover.

We tried the mini bar local wine and funnily the wine opener broke while opening the cork. Room service changed for us right away and opened the new bottle for us :). The local wine was pretty palatable and price was very good for a hotel minibar.

The shower area does not have curtains so water splashed all over, one down fall of the room.

Overall was a pleasant stay, will recommend.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank MdmKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan50, Manager at Cappadocia Cave Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear our guests,
Thank you for your review.
We have jacuzzi in our hotel, we don't have bath tube and the curtain is not used for jacuzzi.
Looking forward to seeing you in our hotel again.
Ercan Tufekci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2014

We were wide eyed when we saw our suite at this hotel. They gave us an upgrade and the room was fabulous to say the least. This was located a short uphill walk from the main dreamy Goreme town. There was no fairy chimney view anywhere but who is complaining.
The breakfast served was good with many options for us veggies. The cleaning staff was effecient.

Room Tip: Please see to it that the jacuzzi in the room does not leak.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niraj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan50, Manager at Cappadocia Cave Suites, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Dear our guests,
Thank you for your review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and services.
Looking forward to seeing you in our hotel again.
Ercan Tufekci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

Our trip to Cappadocia is coming up shortly and although we won't be staying at the Cappadocia Cave Suites this time, we were so impressed with the high level of responsiveness to our many questions and emails.

Ercan Tufekci, the Hotel Manager, was kind and patient throughout all our communications.
And there were many. ;-)

Looking forward to staying with you on our next visit to the region!

Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
4  Thank DebbieIrwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ercan50, Manager at Cappadocia Cave Suites, responded to this reviewResponded March 7, 2014

Dear Debbie Irwin,
Thank you very much for kind interest and for your review that shared on trip avdisor.
Best wishes,
Ercan Tufekci
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
376 reviews
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 78 in Goreme
1,042 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,131 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 78 in Goreme
477 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#17 of 78 in Goreme
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappadocia Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappadocia Cave Suites

Address: Gafferli Mah. Unlu Sokak No 19, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#7 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#7 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#8 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $55 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cappadocia Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappadocia Cave Suites is located in the city of Goreme, one of the most beautiful and characteristic locales in the Cappadocia region. The famous fairy chimneys and fantastic colorful shapes of the landscape, make this region a natural wonder of the world. Come to relax and explore this historic, wondrous and romantic landscape while enjoying the finest in hotel accommodations and world famous Turkish hospitality.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Cappadocia Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappadocia Cave Hotel Goreme
Cappadocia Cave Goreme
Cappadocia Cave Suites Goreme, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing