We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful but uncomfortable” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cappadocia Cave Suites

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Ranked #17 of 68 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“beautiful but uncomfortable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2011

How do you say "damp" in Turkish? I don't know why we didn't realize a room in a cave would be damp, but the dehumidifier in our room never registered below 68% humidity and was usually up at 80%.

Because there were no windows, the heat given off by the dehumidifier had nowhere to go, so the room was also consistently warm. We had to leave the door open when we were in the room and turn the dehumidifier off at night or the room got up to 85 degrees - and might have gone higher if we'd not turned it off. The lights in the room were all incandescent so they gave off a good deal of heat as well, but had to be kept on as there were no windows. We spent a lot of time in the very pretty courtyards, but we paid extra thinking we'd have a cool room to retire to in the heat of the day.

There was also no top sheet on our bed, so the first night we had to take the blanket out of the duvet cover and sleep under the duvet cover which was still too warm. Because of language difficulties, it took a couple tries to get an additional sheet for our bed (at first they just brought us another duvet cover!)

There were washcloths the first night, but none after that, and they made up the rooms rather late in the day, so when we came back to the room at around 2pm, the bed was still unmade, which detracted from the only thing the room had going for it - the prettiness.

When we brought the dampness issue up to the management, they did offer to switch us to a non-cave room, but that room had windows out to both the reception area/main courtyard and the space above the dining hall which promised to be both noisy and smoky. The room was very breezy, but because of all the lovely architectural lighting throughout the grounds, would have also been very bright at night (the curtains were a very light thin cotton). That, coupled with the fact that the bathroom had no shower curtain (just a hand-held shower head and a bathtub), we decided to stick with the cave room.

This turned out to be a mistake because even though the room was clean, it smelled like clay/dust and caused my boyfriend’s allergies to act up so that he was sniffling and sneezing the whole time.

The staff at the front desk didn't seem to be particularly knowledgeable - about either the area or tourist concerns in general. We might just have been spoiled after the exceptional service we experienced at our hotel in Istanbul, but I expected more from a place that's billed as a luxury hotel. When we were online booking a flight back to Istanbul for the end of our trip, they offered to help us - and then directed us to a travel agency in town!

The breakfast was quite nice - eggs were the only option for hot food, but the presentation was elegant (as were the surroundings) and it was the breakfast staff that turned me on to the wonders of sun-dried apricots (so much tastier than the orange chemical-dried/sulphured ones!). There was a decent variety of fresh fruit (much of it under-ripe), and dried fruit (figs!), as well as nuts, some interesting cheeses, chocolate spread, halva, breakfast cake (bit dry), bread, yogurt, cucumbers, tomatoes.

We paid about half price through a deal on booking.com - even so, it felt pricey for the level of comfort.

Room Tip: Cave rms are damp. Above ground rms may be bright at night + noise & smoke from ppl in courtyar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 0ut-0f-0ffice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

915 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    666
    204
    30
    11
    4
See reviews for
185
404
48
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pune, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2011

We loved this hotel from the first moment.This is the most beautiful hotel. Stayed in Suite 106, complete with jacuzzi. Service was excellent - the staff are so generous and kınd. they really took care and even arranged all of our sight seeing. Nice breakfast. The hotle locatıon ıs great and the beyond imagination and we dıd not even want to leave ıt. We hıghly reccomend ıt!. We really thank Mr, Ercan hotel manager and Ms. Umran and the driver Mr. Saleem and all staffs for their excellent service. Thank you guys! Really want to come and stay at your place next time. Keep it up and wish yu and your family a very happy and healthy life. with regards VIJATY AND GEETA PUNE INDIA.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank v v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goreme, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2011

CCS as the hotel is locally known gives you unmatched views of the valley of the fairy chimneys. Room number 107 is the only one with a small cantelever balcony open to the skies. The staff was courteous and friendly and the breakfast fare was typically a mix of Turkish and Continental. I strongly recommend the CCS for a very pleasant stay in Goreme.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Samiran01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

Easily the most beautiful hotel in which I have ever had the pleasure of being a guest. Stayed in Suite 213, complete with jacuzzi and Turkish bath. Service was impeccable - airport pick-up, transportation to local sites, wait staff remembering my meal preferences. Location is easily walkable into town, restaurant breakfast and dinner buffet plentiful and varied, and you can ask for a snack bag for hiking trips. I would love to return and have been telling everyone I know planning to visit about this place. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sanfranciscolaura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 30, 2011

The hotel was in a good location and the rooms where good, but, the service was horible!! They forgot to pit us up from the airpot, they over charged us in all the tours, the transfer back to the airpot was late... It didnt worth the expensive price.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Isawju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cnpole, General Manager at Cappadocia Cave Suites, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear Guest,
I am the General Manager of the Cappadocia Cave Suites Hotel and so sorry to see your review regarding our hotel.
I checked our record and see that, you did not purchase any of services from us that you have complained.
Please let me know if this information is correct or not? If you purchased any service from us that you are not happy with, we would like to refund.
Our ultimate aim is our guests satisfaction, please let us know how we can rectify the situation.
Kind Regards,
General Manager
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2011

We were visiting from Ireland, had been in Dalyan where we rented a car and drove to Cappadocia. A Turkish friend had made the reservation for us at the Cappadocia Suites Hotel, and we had no idea what to expect. We loved it from the first moment. We phoned from outside Goreme as we had no hope of finding the exact location, and they came to meet us. We received a fantastic welcome and wonderful service and guidance during our three days there as independent travellers. Management and staff could not have been more helpful, and the setting is idyllic. We arrived at sunset, and were amazed by the beauty of the whole place. The views from our suite were stunning. We loved it so much that we stayed an extra night.

Room Tip: We moved rooms because of or extra night, and also visited other rooms. All the rooms we saw were e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wakefield02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

Cappadocia Cave Suites is a very nice hotel built in and around the cave structures created by earlier occupants, a perfect example of recycling! It is the nicest "hole in the wall" I have ever stayed in. The hotel rooms are all located in, among or next to the wonderful pointed tepee-like stone structures of the Cappadocian landscape up on the side of the hill in the village of Goreme, Turkey. Many of the rooms are cave-like although some built high up in the stone have spectacular views over the village and the countryside. Every room has a sitting room, a bedroom and a bathroom and each one is unique. One lovely aerie had old pigeon nest alcoves as part of the original "decor" of the room. There are lovely Turkish carpets and comfortable furniture in every room which I saw. The restaurant in the hotel is excellent serving both buffet for the first course and then excellent plated meal for the second course. Breakfast has many choices and was always excellent. Our particular room was a cave room with only two tiny windows for ventilation only, as they were too high up to see out and would have given a look at patio if you could look out them. I must say I was happy with the room because of two factors: it was sometimes snowing outside and the external temperature was around 4 degrees Celsius. Our room was cozy with only the bathroom towel rack heater going even though there were working radiators in both our sitting room and our bedroom. On the downside, if you turned on all the radiators it would drive you outside in minutes by being much too hot in the room. On the upside the bathroom towel rack was both a heater and a laundry dryer as well and it worked perfectly for both. My one complaint was that the boiler was operated by coal and the coal smoke hung in the air and got into our room if we opened a window for ventilation. The smell when the wind was "right" was not good. No one else mentioned this problem to me in our tour group, so I think it may have been the placement of our room that caught the smoke. I think we were in room #9 and I would avoid that as well as #4 which was closer yet to the smoke stack from the boiler. Also there is no public internet access unless you bring your own machine. I think the place must be a lovely place in the later spring, summer and fall. There were patios between all the rooms with chairs and tables with umbrellas to sit out in when the weather was fine. A glass of the local wine (which was good!) and some nuts or grilled vegetable appetizer would have made a lovely way to while away time before dinner or after a long day of touring.

Room Tip: If you want a view, ask for one of the higher up rooms which are grand suites with fabulous views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maggie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
3.9 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.3 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cappadocia Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cappadocia Cave Suites

Property: Cappadocia Cave Suites
Address: Gafferli Mah. Unlu Sokak No 19, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Goreme
#6 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
#7 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#8 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Cappadocia Cave Suites 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cappadocia Cave Suites is located in the city of Goreme, one of the most beautiful and characteristic locales in the Cappadocia region. The famous fairy chimneys and fantastic colorful shapes of the landscape, make this region a natural wonder of the world. Come to relax and explore this historic, wondrous and romantic landscape while enjoying the finest in hotel accommodations and world famous Turkish hospitality.... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, HRS and Despegar.com so you can book your Cappadocia Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cappadocia Cave Hotel Goreme
Cappadocia Cave Goreme
Cappadocia Cave Suites Goreme, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing