We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good vibes at Gerdis Evi”
Review of Gerdis Evi

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Gerdis Evi
Ranked #53 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good vibes at Gerdis Evi”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

I have stayed in many hotels in Turkey and Gerdis Evi has one of the warmest atmospheres I've experienced, from beginning to end. The proprietors speak English (one is from the UK) and Kadir, the Turkish owner, is fabulous - funny, interesting and knowledgeable. Apparently it opened this year. Had there not been so many other activities in the area I would have been content to just hang out on the terraces and chat. For a single woman, this is a boon.
Comfort is a priority and the beds were indeed comfortable - bedding was nice too, which is not always the case in pensions of this country.The place was clean and breakfast was hearty enough for this big eater. Needless to say, this is not one of those charmless concrete block places :)
Gerdis Evi has a really nice vibe and I would not only stay there again, I would recommend it highly to any other visitors to the area.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rcg88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Awww, thank you for your kind words. We loved having you to stay and hope you had a great trip home. Come again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    23
    3
    0
    2
See reviews for
22
36
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Very cold room during the night, because heating was on lowest level. Seems they wanted to save energy.
Naphalene pellets were in the washing shell, maybe to prevent cockroaches to crawl out of the drain. The smell of this toxic pesticide was intensive and causing headache and dizziness.
The bathroom is dirty and the wet tiles get slippery, so you unavoidable slip at leaving shower and risk a serious injury.

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank from0815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
We are saddened that you were unhappy with your stay in our guest house and if you had informed us at the time we could have resolved your issues – staff are available 24hrs. The central heating radiators in each room have individual temperature controls and we can provide extra blankets and an electric fire for guests who feel the cold (usually for the –C temperatures of winter months).
The bathroom is a wet-room with a separate shower area and a bath mat for use on wet tiles. As we the owners/managers do our own cleaning we are surprised at the term ‘dirty’ bathroom and pride ourselves on the praise from other guests regarding cleanliness. Our cleaning agents are not toxic but safe, hygienic materials and there is no record of any sighting of cockroaches at our or any other hotel in Goreme.
To-date none of our guests have expressed feeling cold or suggested the danger of an injury being inflicted in our bathrooms.
You also stated, on another review site, that staff “pretended” on check-in to be full the following day – as explained we were fully booked for the following 4 days because it was the Bayram week (Turkish public holiday), although the offer was made to make room available to extend your stay if at all possible.
We strive to maintain the highest standards of customer care in a warm and inviting atmosphere and hopefully succeed almost all of the time – as illustrated by other guest reviews on this and other review sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorburg
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

We stayed in sept 12 for three nights in room no 5 in Gerdis Evi. We just loved the room: no cave (who wants a dark crampy cave if you can sleep in a room like this?) but a beautiful new room made with big yellow stones from the area, high wooden ceiling, wooden floor and three big windows on 2 sides of the room. The room is decorated with eye for detail and has a modern spacious bathroom. Outside is a terrace for just the 2 upstairs rooms with a table and some - unfortunately - not so comfy chairs but the owners are thinking of buying a swingchair. Do! ;-) Breakfast was the most divers we have had in Turkey and you can eat ourside. The English owners who run it with a Turkisch co-owner are very laidback and helpful.
The place is not so big so we had no tourgroups but only other individual travellers staying there. Location is on your way to the museum and near the centre and busstation.
Okay, here the critical comment: the matras of the bed felt like a cheap thing, although it is pretty new the iron innerwork sticks trough the matras and was not so compfy on my hips and the water in the shower had in the morning in problem with keeping a constant temperature.

Last thing: we made a balloonflight wit butterfly balloons (the husband of the female owners runs that company) and we had the most terrific experience! It was very well arranged with nice details and we saw almost all valleys from the air, which not all companies do. It is a lot of money but for us it was money well spent!

Room Tip: The deluxe rooms are newly build and really a lot better than the standerd rooms, they are bigger, n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hey guys, thank you so much for your positive review of our guest house. It was a pleasure to meet you and we hope you will return again. We took your constructive criticism and have changed the mattress in the room and also this winter will work on making the hot water pressure consistent during busy periods. Enjoy all your future travels and keep up the backgammon! Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goreme, Turkey
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 5, 2012

We spent our 3rd night at Goreme with Gerdis Evi because our bus to another city was full. We wish we found Gerdis Evi earlier!!! Compare to a few places we checked, the dorm room and facilities at Gerdis Evi is much cleaner and well maintained. Gerdis Evi has some pretty comfortable area to hang out. Like other places, the dorm room doesn't have locker but the room is tucked away so I feel that my stuff is safer than the other Pension we stayed in. There is also a safe available at the reception. I highly recommend staying at Gerdis Evi. Book ahead as there are that many beds in the dorm.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jleung21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The people are Gerdis Evi are Fantastic. The service level is amazing as they will do anything to help you, give you all the info you need as well as ensure you are always comfortable.

Ally (the nice english lady) and Kadir (the great turkish guy) made us feel really at home. From the first tea they offered us when we walked in till the final hugs and goodbyes before we left made us feel like we were staying with family.

Of our 2 weeks of various hotel experiences in Turkey, this was the best one we have had. Well done !

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Keeranraaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kadir B, Owner at Gerdis Evi, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
What a great time we had with you here, lots of good conversation and plenty of tea. You have a lovely family and we specially enjoyed your grandmother being here. We will try and come and visit you guys one day but our door is always open for you and your family at Gerdis Evi. Best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Gerdis Evi and it was a very pleasant and relaxing experience.

Our room was very clean and well decorated (very comfortable mattress, hard wood floor, wall made out of stone). The bathroom was also very clean and made ​​out of stone.

The pension is very nice and relaxing (terrace, organic garden, access to a lounge, television, washing machine, beverages, etc..).

The breakfast is delicious (homemade jam, fruits, cereals, vegetables, eggs, cold cuts, etc..) and you can eat on the terrasse in front of a beautiful capadoccian chimney.

The owners are very helpful and welcoming. They made sure that our buses for tours would pick us up at the pension and booked us an airport shuttle on the way back.

I highly recommend this pension.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrianne409
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2012

I stayed in this place for on the weekend. Our room was really nice indeed. I have to say that it is one of the best places I ever stayed. It has a very unique structure. The price is reasonable for bed and breakfast. Breakfast was good. Beds are extremely comfortable. It is also very close to the restaurants in the town.

Room Tip: We stayed in the room number 6. Ask for the similar rooms. They are slightly more expensive than the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sem C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Cave Hotel Saksagan
Cave Hotel Saksagan
#52 of 76 in Goreme
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Matianasos Hotel
Matianasos Hotel
#54 of 76 in Goreme
51 reviews
0.3 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#36 of 76 in Goreme
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sarihan Cave Hotel
Sarihan Cave Hotel
#61 of 76 in Goreme
80 reviews
0.2 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#40 of 76 in Goreme
379 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Stone Palace
Cappadocia Stone Palace
#49 of 76 in Goreme
100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gerdis Evi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gerdis Evi

Property: Gerdis Evi
Address: Gaferli Mahallesi Goynuk Sokak No: 5/B, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gerdis Evi 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Gerdis Evi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gerdis Evi Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing