We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing hotel, great rooms, and wonderful staff” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Safran Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Safran Cave Hotel
Ranked #9 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel, great rooms, and wonderful staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

From the minute I booked, Veli, the manager was helpful, attentive and caring. He met us when we arrived and arranged a pick up from the airport. The tours and hot air balloon rides were offered at prices lower than what you could find in town. He offers to coordinate the tours not to make money, but honestly to help you out and make your stay enjoyable. Being from Canada, I am always suspicious of officious people and always worried about being ripped off, but I never felt that way at all with him or the wonderful chef (she is also the owner's wife). It is a well run, friendly and comfortable family-business. Veli also arranged a complimentary shuttle to the airport because we gladly and happily booked many tours with him (hot air balloon ride, red and green tour) The rooms were very nice, bathrooms were spotless, and the beds comfortable. Laundry services were reasonably priced. The food in the restaurant was fresh, cooked on demand and delicious! The fresh salads were always washed in vinegar beforehand and tasted crisp, fresh and scrumptious. For 20-40 lira, you could get an amazing 3 course meal (bread, salad, soup, ravioli or testi kebab and dessert). Breakfasts were amazing. Fruit was some of the best I have ever tasted (particularly the oranges and pomegranates). The freshly made cheese crepes were nice too. All in all, this was an amazing hotel, one of the best in terms of customer service, feeling respected and well taken care of. It is also amazing value for the money. Veli and the owner's wife even showed us one of the real cave suites (we preferred a modified cave suite due to more light and bathroom ventilation). We felt like a part of the family and my mom hugged the owner's wife as we left, and my mom is not a touchy feely type person! Would definitely recommend this hotel.
Just to lend this post some credibility, some cons were : lack of freshly made coffee in the morning (only instant coffee), stairwell up to the 2nd floor was a bit small and narrow, and the bathroom had a slightly mouldy smell (but it dissipated completely after a few hours).

Room Tip: Good base to travel to Goreme Open Air Museum. Don't be afraid to let Veli arrange all the tours...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aaron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    54
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
83
134
15
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2014

We have stayed in the hotel for two nights. Hereby I would like to thank to all the staff there as everyone was super helpful. They made us feeling home, especially the homemade breakfast which was really special among all the hotels that I have stayed so far.

The hotel is located nearby city center, which makes things easily to be arranged, such as hot balloon ride, daily tours....The room itself is very nice, clean, and with very cute nice decoration.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lisayun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2014 via mobile

I never write any reviews but this hotel has left so warm and unforgettable feelings that I feel obliged to mention it. First of all, to live in a cave room is something! I can't imagine anything more romantic than that, especially if u light some candles;) We have spend a fantastic St Valentine's day there. The bathroom was amazing indeed, to take a shower and being surrounded by stone is absolutely not comparable with an ordinary shower. But all this would be worth nothing without the lovely and friendly stuff. Thanks to Veli for all his assistance. Thanks to the owner, she prepared for us a great homemade Turkish dinner. We spent at Safran only two days but that was enough for you guys to make us feel like at home. Tesekkur ederiz ve gorusmek uzere:)

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Inna M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Samorin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Thanks to staff you feel like family member in this hotel. You need to taste their traditional dinner, it is as experience! Great location for making trips arround and hot air baloon flight. We highly recommand it to everybody. We were missing furniture inside the room, but even though it was great experience to stay in "rocky" room. Thank you Safran Cave, you will stay in our memories.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rojanah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinan-gun, South Korea
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

I stayed at the Safran for a couple of nights. I also booked my tours through them, so they provided free transport from Kayseri Airport.
The service was great. The food was delicious and authentic and the accommodation was most comfortable. It's close to Goreme's main street.
The hotel is a family run affair. I recommend it. I travelled alone, but met some nice people at the Safran. My Cappadoccian experience was a good one.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wary2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

I have travel around the word but I have never live in any hotel more like home or has better service than Safran Cave Hotel. The location is excellent Stuffs in the hotel are very reliable and helpful. Veli ( the guy at the reception) is very nice. He helped us with everything (Ballon Tour, Green Tour, Red Tour, bus ticket to Antalya) with good price. Our room is clean and very comfortable. Everything is PERFECT!
I will come back again!


----yilin

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yilin Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2014

Our first contact with the hotel was having helpful emails from Veli - the manager(?), receptionist, financial person, tour organiser, all round angel. We really enjoyed our couple of days in Goreme but this young man was the shining representative of the hotel and the lovely friendly genuine Turkish people. He treated us not just as guests but as family. He is totally professional, sincere and warm. He made us laugh, he made us omelettes. If Veli hadn't been at the Safran Cave Hotel it would still be a great little hotel but he makes it very special. Thank you so much! (And I hope your boss appreciates you for the value you bring to this hotel).

Room Tip: We had 101 and it was beautiful. (But girls, don't expect to see your make-up, there's not m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Antoinette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#7 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Safran Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Safran Cave Hotel

Property: Safran Cave Hotel
Address: Orta Mahalle Kagni Yolu Sokak No : 3, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Safran Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Safran Cave is a small family-run hotel in the very centre of Goreme. All the 8 rooms are inside caves in what used to be a family house. At Safran Cave you can experience the Turkish hospitality at its best. The place has a very special atmosphere, it is impossible to describe it, you just have to come here and experience it. The hotel staff are happy to help you with all arrangements and organize activities and tours for you ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Safran Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Safran Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing