We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quality carpets, quality service, genuine people”

Tribal Collections Nomadic Rugs and Textiles
Ranked #3 of 24 Shopping in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Ruth Lockwood is the owner of Tribal Collections - a beautiful rug gallery in a restored cave house, in the village of Goreme, Cappadocia. Originally from NZ, and now with 30yrs of expertise in Turkey, her gallery has an established reputation for integrity and quality and is a leading choice for those looking to learn, or to acquire, a beautiful hand-woven rug, flat-woven kilim or tribal weaving. Ruth can help you navigate the stunning styles, intricate designs and rich color palettes to find the rug thats just 'right' for you and expresses your individuality. She buys at source and chooses each of her rugs personally so you can be assured of their quality & authenticity. You are welcome to spend time with her, browse and enjoy, or learn more about motifs, dyes and traditions that make every carpet unique.She has a wide-open door policy and fixed prices: making it easy for you to compare and importantly you know you are with a trusted professional who is passionate about rugs!
Useful Information: Stairs / elevator, Wheelchair access, Bathroom facilities
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was traveling in the region with my wife and stepped into the shop out of curiosity and ended up being truly amazed at the beautiful collection of carpets and at the wealth of information. We had a great chat with both Ruth and Faruk and bonded immediately through conversation. There was never any pressure to buy, and the passion they both had in sharing knowledge about the traditions of carpet making helped us appreciate the art in greater depth and detail. My wife and I made the decision to purchase carpets here (we each chose one) after seeing other places, and I must say that uniqueness, quality and the attention to the carpet's historical narrative provides tremendous depth and value. I absolutely love the carpet I chose and am very happy that I came here for a visit!

Thank Eka_AbdulJabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlockwood, Owner at Tribal Collections Nomadic Rugs and Textiles, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you both so much for such a wonderful review . It was great meeting you and I really enjoyed our time together . Thanks also for recommending our shop to the lovely mother and son. They also came in and bought a couple of gorgeous pieces and it was all thanks to your very kind recommendation . Hope your beautiful pieces are looking wonderful at home !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"ruth lockwood"
in 21 reviews
"no pressure"
in 21 reviews
"beautiful shop"
in 9 reviews
"rug shop"
in 8 reviews
"shopping experience"
in 10 reviews
"turkey"
in 95 reviews
"set price"
in 3 reviews
"mutual friend"
in 3 reviews
"cushion covers"
in 7 reviews
"carpet sellers"
in 7 reviews
"hand luggage"
in 3 reviews
"beautiful pieces"
in 6 reviews
"turkish rug"
in 7 reviews
"carpet making"
in 6 reviews
"buying carpets"
in 6 reviews
"carpet shopping"
in 5 reviews
"beautiful carpets"
in 8 reviews
Filter

154 - 158 of 211 reviews

Reviewed July 25, 2013

Based on rave reviews on Tripadvisor, my husband and I visited Tribal Collections. We had only 45 minutes before we had to leave Goreme, but that proved enough time to not only purchase a beautiful carpet, but to become educated by Ruth about different types of carpets, quality, history, etc... There is no pressure to purchase, unlike most Turkish carpet stores. Also, no negotiating. We feel very positive about the experience and would recommend this store to anyone interested in purchasing a Turkish carpet.

Thank luvtravel123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlockwood, Owner at Tribal Collections Nomadic Rugs and Textiles, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2013

Thank you so much ! I loved this review and appreciate you taking the time to write it . Even though it was only 45 mins I remeber you and your husband well and am delighted you are happy with your carpet !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

I love my carpet! My friend and I spent a few hours with Ruth and were not pressured at all to buy. I highly recommend this shop to anyone. I showed my carpet to a guest at my hotel who owns high-end carpets, and he told me identical information and confirmed that I bought a quality carpet. I will visit again should I return to Goreme (and I hope I will).

Thank Elizabeth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlockwood, Owner at Tribal Collections Nomadic Rugs and Textiles, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

Thank you so much for taking the time to post this review . I am delighted you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to seeing you next time you are in Goreme .
Kind Regards ,
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

My husband and I have been traveling around the world for a year now and our tight budget precludes us from purchasing many of the art pieces we've seen along the way. However, I had the chance to visit Ruth's shop over three years ago (when I had even less money to spend) and I knew that this time we couldn't leave empty-handed! Ruth patiently accommodated us and waves of our friends whom we kept bringing in to the shop over several days, and we were always greeted with a smile and tea. Her explanations of the pieces we were considering, along with their history and technique were a joy to listen to and we never felt talked down to despite our complete ignorance on the topic. She also provided gentle guidance in terms of which piece would be the better investment, but in the end she stands by her motto that you have to buy what you love and that a smaller quality piece is better than a larger inferior one. We ended up going with an opened donkey bag (we preferred the kilims over the more traditional) and can't wait to be reunited with it again once our trip is over, Even though we don't yet have a home to put it in, we'll be reminded every day of our time with Ruth and what we learned. We look forward to returning to Goreme in the future, hopefully with a bit more expendable income to invest in the Tribal Collections simply astounding inventory. Can't recommend enough!

Thank Froggren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlockwood, Owner at Tribal Collections Nomadic Rugs and Textiles, responded to this reviewResponded July 10, 2013

I loved this review and really appreciate your comments . Thank you so mu7ch for taking the time to share this and support us
Warm Regards ,
Ruth

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 24, 2013

I truly enjoyed my rug searching and purchasing experience. The shop is immaculately clean and organized, not dusty and overfilled like some shops. They definitely take care of their rugs because my allergies did not flare up in this shop. They took their time to educate you and help you with your selections, a fun and enjoyable experience. Don't miss this shop!

Thank Jane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rlockwood, Owner at Tribal Collections Nomadic Rugs and Textiles, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Thanks you very much for your lovely review of our shop . Your comments are very much appreciated and we are delighted that you are enjoying your caqrpets .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tribal Collections Nomadic Rugs and Textiles also viewed

 
Goreme, Cappadocia
 

Been to Tribal Collections Nomadic Rugs and Textiles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing