We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enchanting Hotel, Brilliant Staff”
Review of Mithra Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mithra Cave Hotel
Ranked #15 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We spent 9 days at the Mithra Cave while giving ourselves lots of time to explore magical Cappadocia, and it was the ideal choice. Because we were staying so long, they upgraded us to a 2-level suite--too much room for the two of us, but a big beautiful space with a great view out over Goreme. We especially enjoyed waking up every morning to the balloons floating over the town and the valleys beyond. It was comfortable, clean and very quiet (except for the call to prayer much too early in the morning from the 3 mosques nearby). The breakfasts were excellent. And the staff really made our stay special. Yusuf and Yuksel and Seher and Rasul and the rest of the team were so sweet and helpful, so friendly and affectionate. They were keen to advise us about things to do, and offered us rides to wherever we wanted to go (which would have been really useful if we didn't already have a rental car.) We had a fantastic time in Goreme and the Mithra Cave Hotel was a big part of it.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jerrywas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (493)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

179 - 185 of 493 reviews

Reviewed April 30, 2013

We stayed three nights at the Mithra Cave, two of them in the cave room. It is an experience to stay in the cave room, which is beautifully decorated and comfortable. The hotel is located up hill from the main street and has fantastic views of Goreme and its fairy chimneys. The staff is fantastic and helped with arranging a balloon trip and getting us in contact with Walking Mehment (a very interesting character). Breakfast was by far the best we had during our two weeks in Turkey. Don't miss the cooked to order eggs...they are done just perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Horse_Buggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2013


We had room 11. Very convenient for a family. Great hospitality, very good service. The staff was exceeding our expectations! They released us a lot by taking care of organizing our excursions (ballon trip with Butterfly, private tours and at really reasonable price) and activities (quad trip with reliable company).
So, many thanks to Resul, Yuksel, Ali Riza, Yusuf, Seher and Mustafa!
Also, the place itself is magic! The hotel is located at the highest point in Göreme which gives a beautiful view of the town and on its fairy chimneys. If you get breakfast from the nice terrace until 8:00 around, the balloons ballet in clear sky is an unforgettable memory!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 705quaile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

We have just spent 5 days at this hotel. We were given a beautiful room with an en suite complete with sauna. The staff are fabulous and couldn't be any more helpful. It has made our stay in Goreme the best it could possibly be. Thank you!

Room Tip: We would certainly return here should we come back to Cappodocia.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2013

Visited in August 2012. Mithra Cave is a lovely new cave hotel with a stunning view of the town from the cafe and the terrace. We spent lots of time at both. Great staff who are very polite and helpful. The hotel organised a car and driver for our sightseeing. The driver was very good and served as our guide for Cappadocia. The only drawback was that they didn't serve lunch and dinner. Perhaps that may have changed by now.

Room Tip: All rooms are different sizes. If possible, see the room before selecting one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liveformynextholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Have been here a couple of days, but have received a lot of positive emotions. Great service, beautiful exotic room right in the cave. A delicious breakfast on the terrace with panoramic view of Goreme. Just steps away is the best restaurant in town, and all the major attractions are also nearby. In general, we were good. Thank you, Yusuf!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oleg K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 25, 2013

I and two of my friends stayed in fairly chimney for 2 days. With the advantage of the highest location in the region, the Mithra hotel provides the beautiful scenery.
Plus, it was fabulous experience in the cave that we can't have in any other place.(check out the snapshots of the rooms). The room was absolutely clean and quiet. Especially for the fairly chimney, the light and the atmosphere is very romantic. Maybe seems too romantic for us, but perfect for couples and even better for honeymoon~ :)
The assistant in the front desk can speak in English well and willing to help us. We haven't any solid plan when arrived in Cappadocia and everything seemed new and different. Then, the assistant gently explained must-to-do things ranging from types of tours to restaurants. The air of the hotel was very comfortable and restful.
I think I can't say all the great things in this short review, but one thing I can guarantee is that this hotel won't regret your choice.

Room Tip: For the fairly chimney room, there were not enough electric plugs, but the assistants will bring you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seungho C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,172 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 77 in Goreme
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
969 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Kaya Hotel
Goreme Kaya Hotel
#23 of 77 in Goreme
369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 77 in Goreme
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mithra Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mithra Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mahallesi Akgul Sokak No:10, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Luxury Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $37 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mithra Cave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mithra Cave Hotel has a total of 32 individial rooms consisting in original cave rooms, authentic Cappadocian arch rooms and traditional stone rooms each one different from one another. We are located on the top of Goreme town, where, from our terraces, you can enjoy the beautiful view. Early in the morning while the balloons are flying, you can enjoy the most amazing view of Cappadocia. We are only within 5 minutes walking distance from the main center of Goreme town. Our rooms have been decorated to reflect the authenticity of the Cappadocian Culture and living style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Mithra Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mithra Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing