We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Walking Mehment - One of a kind”

Walking Mehmet Guide Walks
Ranked #49 of 102 Tours in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Walking Mehment - One of a kind”
Reviewed April 30, 2013

Mehment is a one of a kind walking guide. His extensive knowledge of the valleys and unknown paths in and around Goreme and Cappadocia led us to views most tourists never see. Mehmet is very entertaining and easy to talk to. He knows nearly every plant out there, which are edible and which are not. His knowledge and stories made the 6 hours we spent walking with him fly by. If you like to walk, you should definitely walk with Mehment.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
4 Thank Horse_Buggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    4
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
SFO
Level Contributor
263 reviews
174 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
“One of a kind experience with a soap opera character”
Reviewed April 25, 2013

Mehmet has been exploring the region on foot long before any other guide. Thus, he does have a special claim to the space few others have. I've been to a lot of places and been guided by many, and I can say that Mehmet is the most entertaining. He's not just full of knowledge of the region, he's also full of opinions. He's an entertaining man who will guide you as long as you want for the day to places you won't find yourself, and he does it for an honest tip. If you have a chance, you should definitely take a walk with Mehmet.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank wvzjxq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goreme Cappadocia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“'Walking Mehmet'shows you a special side of Cappadocia that no one else can!”
Reviewed January 3, 2012

Mehmet has an expert knowledge of the Goreme valleys, secret churches and unknown paths.At one with his natural environment he seems to know the name of nearly every plant and answers endless questions on local traditions as well as the unique landscape. I have recommended him to so many friends, from hiking enthusiasts to photgraphers, and they have all been really impressed with his excellent walks !
Well worth spending time with Mehmet when you are in Cappadocia.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
8 Thank rlockwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
142 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
“Fantastic Walking Tour In Goreme”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

We took a walking/hiking tour thru the Love & Rose Valleys w/ Mehmet in June. He is a wonderful individual and VERY experienced and knowledgeable in hiking the area. While walking with him we learned a great deal about the history, culture, and flora/fauna of the area. It seemed that there were no questions that he is unable to answer. It was like having a walking encyclopedia! Mehmet is very kind and has a passion for teaching others about the outdoors and the local area. His English was excellent as well. I would HIGHLY recommend taking a walking tour with him. He has a website, which can be accessed by Googling "Walking Mehmet".

Visited June 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Trockie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Walking Mehmet Guide Walks also viewed

 

Been to Walking Mehmet Guide Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing