We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm Hospitality”
Review of Castle Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Castle Cave House
Ranked #55 of 78 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 20, 2013

We have spent a fantastic weekend in Goreme. The House staff, Nicole and Fatih, has been very helpful, creating a family atmosphere. The rooms are so characteristic, clean and large. We definitely recommend this house!

Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (111)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

29 - 35 of 111 reviews

Reviewed March 14, 2013

Staying in a cave is absolutely surreal and this place was fantastic. The view from our cave balcony was incredible and the rooms were cool. We arrived on the night bus at 6:30am, and the staff was more than willing to clean our room and have it ready for 10:00am, as opposed to 2:00pm. They gave us some suggestions of what to do with our time, the best being the restaurant Nostalji. We would most definitely recommend this to our friends!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoandJenniGoExplorin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

I wanted to experience a room in a cave, which I did here. The room was spacious and had an ensuite. There was electrical lighting and enough sockets. Being a cave dwelling, it is warmer when outside is colder (and cooler when outside is hot). Of course because of the solid rock it's hard to get wifi reception in the room, but good in the common area.

There's free hot water and tea from an always-on machine. Location is central to places to eat, transport and sunset point (the highest point in town for balloon and sunrise/sunset watching.

The key difference was the manager, a German lady who spoke good English. She was friendly, helpful and informative.

Room Tip: Get a full-cave room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank manitree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I want to start by saying, I highly recommend staying at this hotel if you are looking for a less expensive option. I picked it for its price range and I felt like I got what I paid for, which is important to me.

We arrived late at night and were ushered right to our room, it felt a little awkward but it was late. The room took a little getting used to but then again, it is a cave-literally. I image this would have been the case in any cave suite. It was a a giant room, awkwardly decorated. The bed was comfortable and the there was good water pressure in the shower, which is necessary in dusty Goreme. There is only all purpose soap provided. The view was amazing as our room was at the very top of the hotel with a terrace right out side (I highly recommend getting up early to see the hot air balloons taking off at sunrise). Once we got to know the ladies at reception they were very nice and friendly. They answered all of our questions and were a wealth of knowledge about various tours and activities. The breakfast was typical for Turkey, as described in other reviews so I wont take the time, other then to say, average breakfast for an average price. If you ask, they will make you fried or scrambled eggs. :) The hotel is located up a hill but so are a lot of things in this region. The town is small, getting around by walking is easy and the hotel is centrally located.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank alibseattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Fantastic service from Fatih and his family. They looked after us like family members and were very helpful and provided great recommendations for places to visit and restaurants to eat at. They also arranged our transportation and tours with no fuss. Very nice views can be seen from the breakfast area and multiple terraces. Breakfast was comprehensive.

We stayed in room 204, which was part cave and was very spacious, quiet and private. Loved the double shower heads too.

Highly recommended and will stay here again if we return to Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MustafaOguz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

I don't know from where to start...I am shocked from the positive reviews and I feel sorry that I chose this hotel.
1:When we arrived at the hotel they told us that our room was not ready, despite the fact that it was after the check in time.So we had to wait for a while in order to clean it.Totally unprofessional.
2:I had booked a cave room and they gave us a different room, the standard one which was cheaper.When I asked Durmus if this was the cave room he replied yes.He lied.Finally I demonstrated and they gave us the real cave room,the one I booked.
3:The bathroom was not clean.They did not even put paper toilet.There was a really bad smell and I could not breath inside!Really smelly!In addition the waters from the bath were going outside so every time I had a shower there was water everywhere. No light also.
4:The breakfast was not sufficient.The brekfast area was not nice at all.It was really decorated in a bad way.Many times I didnt have anything to eat.
5:The staff was not friendly and helpful at all!!!They didnt care about us and they didnt help us at all!I didnt feel welcome and I there was no anatolian hospitality,They destroyed my trip.
6:When we checked out the german woman asked us how we would like to pay.We responsed by credit card.And she sharted laughing.Can you imagine?They didnt even have the machine for credit card.And they had to ask it from their friend!So Durmus woke up, he didnt wear shoed and they were laughing at us!When we paid them they didnt say thank you and goodbye to us!!!He was greeding only like an animal.Really they were rude and not professional at any way...It was the worst experience in a hotel in my whole life....

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank elenaki1287
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Wonderful hotel in the centre of Goreme- just a short walk down the hill to the centre of the town. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. They organised airport transfers and advised on what to see in the area. The room was clean and comfortable and there's free tea and coffee in the reception at all times. There's plenty of choice at breakfast. The views of the surrounding area from the hotel are amazing. We had a great time and would stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank EdinburghSasha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 77 in Goreme
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#11 of 77 in Goreme
1,054 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 77 in Goreme
969 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#15 of 77 in Goreme
493 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,172 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 77 in Goreme
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castle Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castle Cave House

Address: Gaferli Mahallesi No: 24, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $35 - $56 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Castle Cave House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in a traditional cave house in the heart of Goreme, the Castle Cave House offers luxurious cave rooms with free Wi-Fi. It is only 550 metres away from the Open Air Museum and 150 metres from the city centre. Bright traditional carpets, luxurious, marbled bathrooms and stone-carved walls provide a unique feel of the Castle Cave. Every morning, guests can enjoy a full Turkish buffet breakfast. Free coffee and tea are available throughout the day. Hot air balooning is the best way to see this unique landscape. Other activities in the village include horse riding, quad-bike and mountain bike tracks can be arranged for you. The Castle Cave House is 80 km away from Kayseri Airport and 30 km away from Cappadocia Airport. An airport shuttle service is posible and can be arranged by the hotel and free private parking is provided on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz and TripOnline SA so you can book your Castle Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing