We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food, but Make a Reservation!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topdeck Cave Restaurant

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Kids, Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared.Open daily Monday to Saturday from 6 to 11 PM. Please note : Sundays Closed !
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Food, but Make a Reservation!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Definitely reserve in advance to avoid disappointment. You can email them directly, or ask your hotel to arrange for you. This was the best meal we had in our 2 weeks in Turkey. The atmosphere was lovely and we felt that they genuinely cared that we had a good experience. We took their advice and ordered the dinner plate sized meze to start with and then we shared the vegetarian main dish, which was plenty of food. Their mezes were amazing. We just told them we were vegetarian and let them pick and we ended up with a great assortment. The fried cheese pastry is a must! For our main we had what I presume is a traditional Anatolian vegetable stir fry with rice. Everything was cooked perfectly and nicely seasoned. We had Raki to start and finished our meal with some local red wine. The total bill was 100TL with tip, which we thought was incredibly reasonable for the quality of food. Yes, the restaurant was full of tourists, but in Goreme this is typical so don't be at all put off by that. The food is very authentic!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GretchyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,390
    263
    70
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

Its a quaint little place very close to the Kelebek Hotel in Cappadocia...Our Hotel guy Matt recommended this place to us for authentic home cooked local food.
Here you have to make reservations by afternoon if you looking for a table for dinner.
As the name suggests its actually a cave room turned into a resturant run by a local family.The interiors is quite cozy where you can choose to sit either on tables or on cushions for people who prefer floor sitting arrangements
Coming to the food.. the "Mezze" platter of assorted veggie delights is something one must order. They have different portions catering to your appetite.
The main dish we had ordered was a meat delicacy which was also something which was also something we really liked.We finished our meal with a plate of baklava which was moderately sweet..making it one of the best we have had in Turkey.
Our entire meal for 2 came for around 60 TL which is quite a steal for the overall experience!
So if you are looking for good home cooked turkish food with a good ambiance... one must not miss out on Top Deck in Cappadocia.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank ananya b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Best food in goreme definitely. ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014 via mobile

Food was perfect - we ordered medium mezes, lamb chops, chicken plate.

Atmosphere was great too. Customer service was good when they served us, explaining the dishes and attending to our requests. However one of the staff wasn't very conscious of hygiene - our bread container was overturned by the staff and the bread were just picked up and placed back into the basket. The staff's thumb was also touching the salad and no apologies was made for that lack of hygiene.

Overall I will still go back for the food as there is nothing else better in this town.

Helpful?
Thank Sebastian T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Wow.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2014

We were only in Goreme for 4 nights in May 2014, (stayed a total of 3 weeks in Turkey), but after eating here the second night, we had to come back for a second meal. This was BY FAR, the best food we experienced on our entire vacation. The mezzes were outstanding. The lamb was 'melt in your mouth' flavourful. The family running the restaurant were very friendly. Very authentic. Reserve. Don't miss this place!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jcfries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“The Best Turkish Food in Cappadocia”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2014

Summarized in few word it is:
A nice & cheerful Turkish-South African family, serving the best Turkish food in Cappadocia, 5 days a week, in an ancient cave, reservation required.
:)

  • Visited April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mostafa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing