We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious and friendly place.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Topdeck Cave Restaurant

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 99 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Turkish, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Kids, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared.Open daily Monday to Saturday from 6 to 11 PM. Please note : Sundays Closed !
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delicious and friendly place.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

I love a "mom and pop" business. Their young daughter warmed my heart with her earnest, precocious personality, too! The food was lovely, the server was knowledgeable. We were recommended to go, and we were glad we did!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank tinathebuckeye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,768 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,390
    263
    70
    19
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Old Bridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
41 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Top Notch!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

We ate at this restaurant on our first night in Goreme. Our hotel manager made the reservation for us. We were greeted as soon at we got in. The place feels homey, we cannot complain about the service and the food. Everyone was attentive, made rounds to each table including the chef, explained the dishes on the menu. We ordered the medium plate mezes, enough for two and filling. We also shared the lamb chops and rice. Very tasty. I had the youghurt drink and my friend had wine. We tried the asade(?) for dessert, which was delicious too! I read a so-so review, but for me, this is a highly recommended one. We tried another fancy restaurant tonight which was closer to our hotel, but the food was a lot better at Top Deck. Top Deck, Top Notch, in my book!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Amrel26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

This was a lovely experience, eating in cave with the 2 children. Hospitality, was amazing, a family run restaurant and all food explained. Great value for money, excellent atmosphere and I would strongly recommend this restaurant if you visit Cappadocia.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
45 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wish there were more restaurants like this in places like this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

We only had a chance to try three restaurants in Göreme, but this was far and away the best. We stopped by a few hours before dinner and were able to reserve the last remaining table. All of the staff were uncommonly affable and welcoming, and the food was excellent. There was no hint of the fake pottery kebabs and phoney Anatoliana that we saw on many other menus around town. The food at Topdeck was freshly prepared in the open kitchen and the dinner was full of small gestures of hospitality: a taste of the soup, full explanations of all the meze, not letting us over-order, a friendly chat with the chef, recipe information, etc. This is a touristy restaurant in the best sense of the term, making tourists feel sincerely welcome and striving to give them a truly enjoyable experience, in a town that unfortunately has a lot of tourist traps just out to make a quick buck. Thank you, Topdeck!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DeppityDawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riyadh, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great experience and food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2013 via mobile

Traditional food. Friendly staff, who carefully explain all their dishes to customerd. Unique setting. .. in a Cave.
Family run.

This is a bold statement, but true. .. This is the best restaurant that we ate in in Turkey.


Vegetarian friendly
Vegan friendly





Helpful?
Thank jimbofIlsan_Seoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing