We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and Atmosphere!”

Topdeck Cave Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $20
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Topdeck Cave is a family-run restaurant, situated in the family house on the ground floor in a cave which used to be a stable. The owner Mustafa prepares and serves the food himself, making you feel as part of his family. Simple menu changes daily, offering a wide variety of local appetizers (meze), a choice of one/two soups and four main courses. All ingredients are fresh, coming from local farmers. The open kitchen offers an opportunity to watch how food is being prepared.Open daily Monday to Sunday from 6.00PM to 12.00PM
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great food and Atmosphere!”
Reviewed March 28, 2013

I tried dinning at this restaurant 3 times and they were always fully booked. There only 12 tables available and I could only understand why when I manage to get a reservation. They want you to have a great time and therefore they spend time talking to you and offering you the best they have! Brilliant and romantic place to eat even if you are on your own :)!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank tishcout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,833 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,439
    273
    72
    20
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
““A hidden gem in a magic city””
Reviewed March 27, 2013

Topdeck, is a cozy and friendly family-run business located 100 meters uphill from the main street.The small “cave” restaurant has 5 regular tables and 5 near floor tables.

As we came earlier than our reservation, we sat on a floor table and our young waitress, the daughter of the owner and cook explained us the menu in very good English.

We started with the medium Meze platter, an assortment of 8 different small appetizers, including stuffed grape leaves, yogurt and herbs dip, cheese and chili dip, rice salad, borek (cheese filled pastry), eggplant salad, and more, all very tasty and fresh.

As main courses we ordered lamb and chicken dishes, served with rice and a fresh parsley, tomatoes and cucumber salad. All delicious and the servings were really generous.

Here a tip: order different mezze and borek and share a main dish for 2 people.

Authentic homemade food in a very pleasant atmosphere. Definitely a place to come back.

Dinner for three: 1 Mezze medium platter, 3 main dishes, 4 glasses of local wine, 1 bottle of water @120 TL, including tip (52 Euros).

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Deborah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Amazing food in an amazing atmosphere”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

We spent an entire afternoon looking for this restaurant - a little difficult to find even with our GPS, but boy was it worth it. After exploring the entire town of Goreme in search of this restaurant, we finally stumbled upon it at about 5:30pm (half an hour before they opened). The owner and chef was busily setting up but offered to seat us right away if we wanted to start with a drink. Because it is off season, we did not have trouble making a reservation that same night (10 tables = 10 reservations. We were No. 8). After being offered either a regular table or a table on the floor, we decided to go for the corner table next to the fireplace on the floor (not sure if this is traditional Turkish, but it felt more Turkish haha). Inside the restaurant/cave, candles were lit and the atmosphere was perfect. We started with their soup of the day, which was a yoghurt soup (which was AMAZING - 6TL), followed by these pastries filled with cheese and parsley (7-14TL depending on what you want in it). I'm not sure what I was expecting, but they looked like thin spring rolls or flautas (which were good). But the real deal was the chicken main dish (18TL) that I ordered. They also had the daily special chicken (chicken wings that night), but I chose the normal chicken main they offer all the time. It is cut up chicken breast with honey and spices sauteed with vegetables - absolutely scrumptious!! The portion sizes were also a lot larger than I expected. With a few appies and one main dish, we were planning on ordering more. But after having the delicious salad, rice, and chicken, we were full!! During dinner, the chef came around introducing himself and making sure everything was good. He then offered us this new fig pudding he had just made in exchange for an honest opinion about it. I like figs, and I like pudding, but I never would have put them together. But it was delicious. I don't know how he did it, but you could even taste how FRESH the figs were in that pudding. We left soo incredibly happy and full and are sad that they aren't open on Tuesdays (their one day off)....one day when we make it back to Goreme, this place will be a definite must-eat place again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carollynnwong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“An experience”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

If you go there choose to seat on the floor, near the fireplace... awesome!
The place is nice, the host explain you everything and help you and the food is really good for a very good price. We have a very nice experience and I recommend the place to everybody.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KingCho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty Dinner but Kicked Us Out”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The food was delicious and a good value, but they didn't remove plates very quickly and so they kicked us out to make room for their next reservation when we would be been very happy to stay for dessert. We appreciated them squeezing us in to begin with (very small dining room and we were a last minute request) but it was still a little strange...

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank nalieva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Topdeck Cave Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Topdeck Cave Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing