We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“very friendly owners and nice hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Terra Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Terra Cave Hotel
Ranked #2 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very friendly owners and nice hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

I stayed in Terra Hotel for three nights. The owner is super friendly and helpful. She gave us a lecture of Cappadocia, provided so many information. Helped us to booked tour, booked restaurant, rent a car, everything, even offered us to a ride to the restaurant. Made our trip fantastic. You can feel that she is trying her best to assist you, in a way also help to find a cheaper way to enjoy our trip.

I would highly recommend Terra Cave hotel to everyone.

Room Tip: I stayed in 504, which is very big and cosy room. There is fireplace, fun to use.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tiffany w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    259
    26
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
141
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Our stay at Terra Cave hotel was amazing. Our lovely host, Dilge, gave us many excellent recommendations on the things to do, places to eat at, scams to watch out for etc. It felt less like a hotel and more like a homestay as the staff were very personable and thoughtful to our needs at all times. We had to check out at 7am to catch a flight and the staff prepared breakfast early for us, which they did not have to. We felt really well taken care of during our stay at Terra :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stace T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, Somerset
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

This is such a special place to stay in. I don't like to call it a hotel as it felt as though we were guests in someone's home. All beautifully rebuilt and designed by our lovely host Nihal who is an architect, with great attention to detail. I was a bit worried about sleeping in a stone room and feeling claustrophobic but I felt very snug and comfortable and loved it. Breakfasts were wonderful and all the staff very friendly and attentive. Loved chatting with Nihal and Dilge on the balcony in warm sunshine and hope to see them here in England. I can't recommend Terra Cave highly enough. I want to go back.
As for Cappodocia, I fell in love!
I have only one regret, that I can only speak a few words of Turkish so could only communicate
with some of the village people with smiles and gestures and a few hugs.
Thank you so much Nihal and Dilge for making us so comfortable and welcome.

Room Tip: I only saw 2 rooms but I suspect that they are all lovely and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JanetFrome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed all aspects of our stay at Terra Caves Hotel. We were traveling with a 6 month old infant, and Dilge went out of her way to accomodate our needs. All the staff were so attentive to us at all times! The rooms are gorgeous, aesthetically decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and allowed us to fill up before heading out for a day of sightseeing. Dilge was also a big help in coordinating our bookings for day trips. Highly recommend staying at this personalized boutique hotel!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mekh2kri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
127 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 15, 2012

When going to Cappadocia , there are several things one should do - take a hot air balloon ride; and stay in a cave hotel.

Of cource we did both!

The Terra Cave was our choice for accommodations and what a great decision that was. The room was large with a separate sitting room and a patio. Our hostess was a delight to work with, making our transfer arrangements to and from the airport, tours, dinner and show arrangements, as as well as for the hot air balloon ride. When we demonstrated an inability to navigate the neighborhood, she led us to our pickup point for a shuttle to a show. She even arranged for a rental car for us.

Breakfast was a delight with a magnificent array of local food. We ate on the balcony overlooking the stone houses of Goreme.

I can't imagine a better experience.

Caveat: since the room is literally carved into the side of a limestone hill, it may seems musty to some allergic prone people.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
Level Contributor
33 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I booked 5 nights at this hotel and we booked room 504, which is a cave room with windows and a fireplace. i assume all the rooms have a fireplace but am not sure.
this hotel has 6 rooms in total, 1 bridal suite upstairs, its a regular room not a cave room. and 3 cave suites which have windows and are at the ground floor, and 2 rooms in the basement which are, i assume smaller cave rooms with no windows.

The rooms have no AC which didnt bother us at all since it was good weather around end of oct and early nov. not sure how it would be during summer.

The hotel manager, is an amazing manager, she is super friendly and sweet. she spent a good time with my husband and i when we checked in, making sure we know all about the hotel and area around it, gave us a map and told us about the nicer activities to do and such. she also recommended several restaurants and dishes to try.

The room we got in was room 501, not the room we booked, the manager apologized for the mix up with the booking and said our room would be ready tomorrow. we didnt mind since it was nice to get to see a non cave room in that hotel. it was a very nice room, however a bit noisy since its right next to the terrace and hotel guests hang out there most of the time.

the breakfast was amazing, an elderly Turkish couple cook and serve breakfast everyday and it was really delicious. they also did the room cleaning, they didnt speak English but they were very sweet.

The rooms get cleaned everyday and i heard some guests mentioning that the laundry service was free, cannot confirm that since i didnt use that service.
the internet reception is rather bad in room 501 and no connection at all in all the cave rooms, you have to sit outside the room or go to the reception/ terrace for internet which we didnt mind much.

Room Tip: Great place to stay at, no A/C so not sure how well it is during summer time. Working Fireplace whic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Abeer1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great little hotel with loads of character. The rooms were decorated beautifully and were so cosy, clean and comfortable. The manageress and her staff were extremely helpful and friendly and she made sure we had all the information about the sights around Goreme. Our balloon trip, which is a must when you visit Cappodoccia, was also organized through them. A very delicious breakfast was served each morning in a room upstairs, with a great view out on the terrace. It was a very easy walk down to the town and restaurants. Thank you for your warm welcome and generosity.

Room Tip: Depending on what time you are travelling, check about air-conditioning. Didn't bother us in Oct...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenPerthAustralia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,067 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bedrock Cave Hotel
Bedrock Cave Hotel
#7 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Cave Hotel

Property: Terra Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mahallesi, Aydinli Sokak No 24, Goreme 50180 , Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint boutique hotel with six guestrooms, Terra Cave Hotel is an ancient rock dwelling built in the 19th century and faithfully restored within the original structure in Goreme, the heart of Cappadocia. We offer our guests a spectacular panorama over the unique fairy chimneys nestled in the village of Goreme. With four original carved cave rooms and two stone rooms, we offer our valuable guests the possibility of a dreamlike vacation and the opportunity to live in this one-of-a-kind culture. On the main floor overlooking the stone courtyard are the rooms named Kagan (Emperor's Room), Kis Evi (Winter Suite), Eyvan (Veranda Suite), Tafana (Stonework Cave Room) and Sirahane (Winery Room) and on the next level is the Gelin Odasi (honeymoon Suite) where you can watch the sun rise, often filled with hot air balloons floating through the valleys beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Terra Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing