We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful cave hotel experience!”
Review of Terra Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Terra Cave Hotel
Ranked #9 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 9, 2013

We absolutely enjoyed all aspects of our stay at Terra Caves Hotel. We were traveling with a 6 month old infant, and Dilge went out of her way to accomodate our needs. All the staff were so attentive to us at all times! The rooms are gorgeous, aesthetically decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious, and allowed us to fill up before heading out for a day of sightseeing. Dilge was also a big help in coordinating our bookings for day trips. Highly recommend staying at this personalized boutique hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mekh2kri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (341)
There are newer reviews for Terra Cave Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

171 - 177 of 341 reviews

Reviewed November 15, 2012

When going to Cappadocia , there are several things one should do - take a hot air balloon ride; and stay in a cave hotel.

Of cource we did both!

The Terra Cave was our choice for accommodations and what a great decision that was. The room was large with a separate sitting room and a patio. Our hostess was a delight to work with, making our transfer arrangements to and from the airport, tours, dinner and show arrangements, as as well as for the hot air balloon ride. When we demonstrated an inability to navigate the neighborhood, she led us to our pickup point for a shuttle to a show. She even arranged for a rental car for us.

Breakfast was a delight with a magnificent array of local food. We ate on the balcony overlooking the stone houses of Goreme.

I can't imagine a better experience.

Caveat: since the room is literally carved into the side of a limestone hill, it may seems musty to some allergic prone people.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TandemCyclist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

My husband and I booked 5 nights at this hotel and we booked room 504, which is a cave room with windows and a fireplace. i assume all the rooms have a fireplace but am not sure.
this hotel has 6 rooms in total, 1 bridal suite upstairs, its a regular room not a cave room. and 3 cave suites which have windows and are at the ground floor, and 2 rooms in the basement which are, i assume smaller cave rooms with no windows.

The rooms have no AC which didnt bother us at all since it was good weather around end of oct and early nov. not sure how it would be during summer.

The hotel manager, is an amazing manager, she is super friendly and sweet. she spent a good time with my husband and i when we checked in, making sure we know all about the hotel and area around it, gave us a map and told us about the nicer activities to do and such. she also recommended several restaurants and dishes to try.

The room we got in was room 501, not the room we booked, the manager apologized for the mix up with the booking and said our room would be ready tomorrow. we didnt mind since it was nice to get to see a non cave room in that hotel. it was a very nice room, however a bit noisy since its right next to the terrace and hotel guests hang out there most of the time.

the breakfast was amazing, an elderly Turkish couple cook and serve breakfast everyday and it was really delicious. they also did the room cleaning, they didnt speak English but they were very sweet.

The rooms get cleaned everyday and i heard some guests mentioning that the laundry service was free, cannot confirm that since i didnt use that service.
the internet reception is rather bad in room 501 and no connection at all in all the cave rooms, you have to sit outside the room or go to the reception/ terrace for internet which we didnt mind much.

Room Tip: Great place to stay at, no A/C so not sure how well it is during summer time. Working Fireplace whic...
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Abeer1404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2012

A great little hotel with loads of character. The rooms were decorated beautifully and were so cosy, clean and comfortable. The manageress and her staff were extremely helpful and friendly and she made sure we had all the information about the sights around Goreme. Our balloon trip, which is a must when you visit Cappodoccia, was also organized through them. A very delicious breakfast was served each morning in a room upstairs, with a great view out on the terrace. It was a very easy walk down to the town and restaurants. Thank you for your warm welcome and generosity.

Room Tip: Depending on what time you are travelling, check about air-conditioning. Didn't bother us in Oct...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenPerthAustralia5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Originally we booked for 2 nights in suite. Upon our arrival into Goreme, and our magnificent small boutique hotel we decided that we wanted an extra nights accommodation, the manager was exceptionally professional.
At all times during our stay, offering advice on which treks would suit our needs, which food establishments would be good to eat at, she also spent considerable time with us upon our arrival to initiate us with the local area, map with suggestions along the way. Always accommodating but never in your face.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mudda1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Our group of friends stayed here for three nights in October. It was excellent in every way: location, breakfast, rooms, friendliness, great rooms! We hope to stay here again. They take great care of their quests, while giving you much freedom and privacy!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank acajoe52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Stayed in Terra Cave for 3 nights in king suite upstairs. Dirge, the manageress was friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good with home made gozleme. Two minutes walk down to centre of town?
Whilst here you must do Balloon tours. Recommend David at Royal balloons

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kerry b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 78 in Goreme
1,044 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
961 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 78 in Goreme
593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Terra Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Terra Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mahallesi, Aydinli Sokak No 24, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#14 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $45 - $152 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A quaint boutique hotel with 15 guestrooms, Terra Cave Hotel is an ancient rock dwelling built in the 19th century and faithfully restored within the original structure in Goreme, the heart of Cappadocia. We offer our guests a spectacular panorama over the unique fairy chimneys nestled in the village of Goreme. With 11 original carved cave rooms and 4 stone rooms, we offer our valuable guests the possibility of a dreamlike vacation and the opportunity to live in this one-of-a-kind culture. You can watch the sun rise, often filled with hot air balloons floating through the valleys beyond. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Hotels.com, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Terra Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Terra Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing