We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“HIGHLY recommend!!”
Review of Turquaz Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Turquaz Cave Hotel
Ranked #16 of 78 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2013

My trip to Goreme was in the summer of 2012. I'm reviewing those pics now in Jan 2013, my memory of Tekkaya is just so GOOD that I think I must write a review to thank Mustafa for his warm hospitality.

Before visiting Goreme, my husband and I were in Pamukkale. After an exhausting (but lovely!) day there, we took a 10-hr overnight shuttle to Goreme. We arrived Goreme at around 8, people at the tourist info. centre helped us make a call to Tekkaya. Mustafa came to pick us up in 5 minutes. I first worried if the guesthouse is a bit far away, but it was just a two-minute ride to the guesthouse from the centre. For the rest of our stay, we just walked. Once you're familiar with the way, it's actually just a 10-min walk from the centre.

A day in Pamukkale plus a long overnight ride, we looked terrible and smelt bad!! While waiting for the check-in in the restaurant, seeing other travellers were enjoying their lovely breakfast, I was thinking to myself that it would be wonderful if I could take a slice of watermelon...

Mustafa was just so nice! He offered us Turkish tea and asked us to have breakfast while he was processing those papers. We came here a lot earlier than the check-in time, pick-up service available in 5 minutes and we were even offered an extra breakfast, how could this be possible?! But these really happened in Tekkaya~

Mustafa knew that we had a long ride the day before and immediately brought us to our room after breakfast. Before he left, he even asked us to take a shower and a nap before exploring the place~ Whenever you need his help, he's always around. He may 'look cool', but he's actually very friendly and nice. From asking us to try the Turkish yoghurt, the scenic spots around, the history of his guesthouse... we even talked about how often he went to take a Turkish bath!!

The room is a REAL cave house with traditional Turkish decoration. The guesthouse is surrounded by those funny chimneys, so the view of our room is very nice. Everything is CLEAN! The shower is good. At first I wonder why there is no air-con as it was really hot in the day, but after sunset, I know why. There is NO such need for that, even it is August!

Don't miss the terrace of the guesthouse. At night, my hubby and I went up there. There are countless of stars!!!!! We even saw a shooting star. It's such a romantic memory!!

We joined two tours through Mustafa. One is the hot air balloon and another is a day tour around Goreme. We even went to take a Turkish bath as Mustafa recommended. Both are very good!!

Since our overnight bus to Istanbul leave at eight, we spent the day at the Open Air Museum. Mustafa was so nice that he allowed us to use the bathroom after a long hot day before we left!!

With such great hospitality and a reasonable price, I highly recommend everyone who is going to Goreme to stay in Tekkaya. Hope some day I can revisit and will definitely stay there again!! Thank you so much Mustafa!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carmen Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tch2013, オーナー at Turquaz Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Thank you for staying TEKKAYA GUESTHOUSE. We changed hotels name "TEKKAYA GUEST HOUSE" to "Turquaz Cave Hotel". When you come here again, please find us. Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (211)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 211 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2012

Tekkaya Guesthouse offered very nice rooms, especially considering how affordable they are compared to some of the expensive Göreme options... the quality of the room fittings and furnishings was very satisfactory. The guesthouse is also located quite high up on a hillside, offering very nice views over Göreme and its incredible surrounding valleys, rock formations, and canyons.

The main assistant at the property, Abdullah, is a very kind natured and helpful person, who tried his absolute best to overcome his limited English capabilities when trying to assist guests. He is mostly responsible for preparing the breakfast buffet, and for cleaning and maintenance.

While Abdullah was a pleasure to deal with, I cannot necessarily say the same of the owner, Mustafa, who often seemed unfriendly and rather cold (to the point of rudeness at times). I would encourage him to investigate a friendlier, warmer approach towards interacting with guests, as I think it would benefit what is otherwise a nice place to stay, with good quality rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AdviceTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2012

This cave hotel was a lot of fun to stay in. It is small and family run, and you dont get the corporate run-around you get with some of the larger places where they try to sell you every tourist package at inflated prices. The prices were very good, the rooms were pretty quiet, though only basically furnished. Wireless worked very well. If you are driving on your own, make sure you get good directions and dont rely on the google maps placement of the hotel--it is wrong. It is close to the Sultan Cave Suites, which is easy to find. Keep going past the Sultan Cave Suites, and look for the sign.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Johon Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

The five of us visited Goreme in early July 2012 and stayed in one double room and one triple room for two nights.

Reasons that we loved Tekkaya:
1. The cave rooms were clean, comfortable and nicely furnished. The guesthouse was generally a great place to stay.
2. Breakfast was simple but great and delicious. This was our conclusion after having 10+ breakfasts at the other hotels/hostels/guesthouses we stayed in in the trip.
3. Mustafa the owner was very reliable, helpful and humorous. We asked for his recommendation/advice for food and tours. We were very happy with what he recommended.
4. Mustafa's friends were everywhere in the village!! We had so much fun talking with them and apricot picking at their place!
5. Our bus was at 8pm and Mustafa let us stay in the double room till we left at 6pm. Hence we were able to shower after the hot and sweaty day before getting on the overnight bus.

It's always the people you meet that makes a good trip. Goreme itself was worth the travel but Mustafa made our time even better! Thanks so much and get well soon with the leg!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank YL T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is a great spot in beautiful Cappadocia. From the rooftop terrace, we had a great view of Goreme, with amazing views of the balloons taking off and floating around in the morning (make sure you get up at 6am to see them!) Breakfast was fairly simple, but really delicious and more than adequate (even after 4 days there, we did not get sick of it). The room itself was really clean and tidy. The only slight downside was that, every now and then, we would find a little bit of plaster on the floor (presumably, this cannot be helped and just a natural consequence of being in a cave room). Finally, thank you very much to Mustafa, who was a great host and always helpful (booking tours for us and even booking takeaway pizza for us).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tulleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2012

We arrived in Cappidocia at 6:30am and we were picked up from the bus station by the owner. Our room wasn't ready, but Mustafa made us coffee, and offered us breakfast while we waited for our room to be made up. We had eaten breakfast and checked into our room by 8am at no extra cost! Mustafa also recommended tours and made reservations for us (we booked the Butterfly balloon Tour and the "green line" bus tour through him, and we were very happy with both!). He drove us back to the bus station on our day of departure and refused the tip we tried to offer him as thanks.
This hotel is located at the top of a hill, and it can be a bit tricky to find at night, but the views from the terrace make it well worth it.
I recommend Tekkaya and would stay there again if I was back in Cappidocia.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tandk17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in April and it exceeded our expectations. The owner, Mustafa picks up and drops off from the bus station. It's up on a hill overlooking the town (about 10 minutes walk) and in the morning we watched the hot air balloons take off all around us. The kid's cave room was a bit chilly when we arrived but Mustafa put the heat on (centrally wood-fired!) Our bedroom wasn't a cave room but had a lovely view and lots of light. Nice clean bathrooms and the full Turkish breakfasts complete with fresh rolls, eggs, and freshly sliced fruit. Mustafa was helpful in advising us on walks and tours, although maps would have been useful as we got lost several times. If you want your room cleaned or fresh towels, you will need to ask, however, as room service is not automatically done. Mustafa happily obliges.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Olivia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 80 in Goreme
1,063 reviews
0.1 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#4 of 80 in Goreme
641 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#17 of 80 in Goreme
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 80 in Goreme
979 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 80 in Goreme
1,197 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 80 in Goreme
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Turquaz Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turquaz Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mahallesi Cakamkli Sok. No:16, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $33 - $66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Turquaz Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turquaz Cave Hotel is located between the odd shaped rocks of the Goreme Tarihi Milli Park. The hotel offers traditional styled rooms with free modem internet. Turquaz Cave Hotel has charming cave-type rooms in the style of the hotels surroundings. The soundproofed rooms come with a private bathroom with shower. For your excursions in the park, Turquaz Cave Hotel has car and bicycle rentals that are on site. The hotel also has a tour desk to help coordinate your trips. The hotel has its terrace to enjoy the view from there. Turquaz Cave Hotel serves a breakfast buffet in the morning. Free parking on site. Airport shuttle services from Kayseri and Nevsehir airports are offered at a surcharge. This is our guests' favourite part of Goreme, according to independent reviews. We speak your language! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Priceline so you can book your Turquaz Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turquaz Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing