We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in Goreme”
Review of Koza Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Koza Cave Hotel
Ranked #9 of 75 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Goreme”
Reviewed October 10, 2011

If you want to stay in Goreme- this is the place to stay, Koza is an enchanting family hotel run by Ayse, Sam, Tamar and their father, The rooms are tastefully done and you can see the attention to detail and pains the family has taken in creating a truly wonderful atmosphere. The hosts are very generous- we were often offered interesting Turkish desserts to sample and at the same time incredibly attentive. We stayed in a double room with a jacuzzi and it is simply the best hotel experience in Turkey we had. Sam also helped us navigate through other parts of Turkey, was always on the phone helping us, offering advice on getting from one place to another and making bookings on our behalf. I would never stay in any other place in Goreme and am hoping this family opens more hotels in Turkey !!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aparande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

352 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    323
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
35
213
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 8, 2011

Koza Cave hotel was honestly the best part of our 2 week trip around Turkey. If you are going to go to Goreme, you simply must stay here. It is one thing to look at all of the caves, but staying in one that has been restored down to every single detail makes all the difference. We visited a few other places, and were even intending on staying somewhere else, but nothing compared to Koza Cave Hotel.

However, the best part is Derves and the rest of the Durel family who owns it. Their hospitality makes you feel like you are part of their family We arrived into Goreme after an all night bus ride from Izmir. As we came into town tired and hungry...and they served us breakfast, helped us to our room, and then from there gave us a plan for our next 5 days in the area. All of their recommendations were perfect for what we wanted - all good value for money. Derves even took us around with another couple and showed us a great tour and his love for the area was contagious.

I am not sure if we will ever stay in better B&B anywhere...it is amazing!

Room Tip: All the rooms are different and have great character, so just choose one that fits your budget
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2011

We stayed at Koza in Sept. 2011 - simply put, the hotel is amazing. The rooms are beautiful, the service is amazing and the family will ensure your stay is very comfortable. Come to Koza for a memorable, comfortable and enjoyable stay in Cappadocia!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mathew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2011

If the novelty of staying in a cave entices you then go do it! If you choose to do it in Cappadocia then you must do it at Koza Cave Hotel. Despite being a 'Cave' the property has every amenity you expect from a 'regular' hotel/B&B. Located just up hill from the center of town you're just minutes walk away from the bars and restaurants but just far enough to feel removed from the traffic and noise. Built into one of the fairy chimney's every wall, ceiling, floor, nook, etc of the rooms are cut from the white stone. The rooms are spacious and spread out giving the feeling of a very large suite. The wood and iron furniture is tasteful and fits well with the natural feel of the place. The proprietors are a lovely family who are more than happy to help you plan every activity the area offers or to jsut tell you stories about the area and how they built the hotel from an existing cave.

Percs: The hotel offers bottled water, saving you a trip down the hill. The best restaurant in town is just next door.

Be aware: Tall people duck. For structural reasons some doorways are shorter than normal. Sensitive or dry skin? The cave sucks all the moisture out of you and the sheets are a bit rough.

Room Tip: Got a family? The top room in the cave is built into the cone of the Fairy Chimney and features a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

It's amazing. Rooms are fantastic, set up is perfect, breakfast is delicious, family is so wonderful and all your needs/wants are taken care of. The glowing reviews are accurate, it's hard to add more. Dervish and family work very hard to make sure that you have a great time. From being greeted with a smile upon our 12:30am arrival to leaving with gifted fresh peaches in hand, our experience was extraordinary. An example: one morning we were unable to join a tour that we wanted to, so Dervish immediately set up an alternate arrangement which ended up being even better than the tour could have been. Seriously, just book here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beextraordinary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Koza Cave Hotel is simply one of the most miraculous places to stay in all of Turkey. First, staying in a centuries-old cave in the Capadoccia region is simply marvelous, once in a lifetime experience. But the Koza Cave makes it so much more than that - all the perfect touches in our beautiful suite - including its own hamam! Incredibly clean and wonderfully decorated, every last touch was perfect. Finally, the staff at Koza make staying there like staying with a Turkish family. Dervish and his wife and two sons make extraordinary efforts to make you feel at home, and are just super warm and friendly people. But they also offer the single most outstanding attentive and perfect service of anywhere I've ever stayed. Hotels in this region are slightly more than other areas in Turkey - but this is the place to splurge for that amazing experience because it is an excellent value for your money. If you want to have the very best memories of your trip, stay at Koza Cave Hotel!

Room Tip: I saw several rooms here and they were all fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank deborahsuzanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

It's one of the best hotels I've stayed in, original and for a great price! It's great to live in a conditioned cave to experiment the sensation of people that inhabited Cappadocia a long time ago... but with all the conditions to make it really cozy: great service (they'll do whatever to please you), hygienic, up the hill with excellent views over Göreme... Spectacular, perfect. Congratulations to Dervish and family for making our experience in Cappadocia even better, they take care of everything: they manage the balloon experience for you (if you are interested: you must be!!) and whatever you want, they give correct advice to travelers about things to do, and they work with the best providers. Even they invite you to have some wine and cheese at night when you come back of your day and chat with you about your experience!! :-) And always keeping the distance and intimacy: the perfect balance in the perfect place. To complain about something... it's very difficult, but I'd suggest the owners to add signs in town indicating their hotel: we came by car and it was difficult to find, but that's not a problem if you have a transfer from the airport.

In short, we had 3 wonderful and unrepeatable nights in the best hotel in Cappadocia.

Room Tip: Ask for a better room when arriving: if they have it free, they'll give you delighted
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gonzalogol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 72 in Goreme
1,023 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 72 in Goreme
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 72 in Goreme
935 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 72 in Goreme
1,159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 72 in Goreme
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koza Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koza Cave Hotel

Property: Koza Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Cakmakli Sok. No:49, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koza Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Koza Cave Hotel was restored using reclaimed stone, iron and wood building materials. It offers rooms fitted with traditional Turkish rugs and furnishings. Several rooms have a living room with a fireplace. Some feature a jacuzzi and a private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Koza Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koza Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing