We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel and wonderful owners” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koza Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koza Cave Hotel
Ranked #12 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Charleston, South Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel and wonderful owners”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2011

This is one of the most beautiful, if not the most beautiful, hotel I have ever visited. The rooms, terrace, and views are all breathtaking. But what made the hotel truly special is the amazing family that owns it. I have found Turks to be extremely friendly, but this family was absolutely above and beyond kind.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sara S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    315
    27
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
208
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

A stay in a cave hotel seemed the ultimate place to stay but we feared it could have just been a cliche... But Koza Cave Hotel is a genuine cave experience. Our suite was magic, each room carved out of the lovely cave and with attractive wall hangings and ornaments. Loved the cave jacuzzi by candle light!
But it was the people who really made this stay so memorable for us. We felt a part of the family right away in meeting Dervish, Aysel and Samid and enjoying a delicious breakfast (with Dervish's hand squeezed delicious orange juice) after a somewhat grueiing all night bus trip. And co-manager Jem is an absolute gem! - as other reviewers have said, the Koza Cave hosts are quite prepared to take their visitors to any places they wish to visit. Jem collected us wandering aimlessly on Day 1 and delivered us to Goreme Outdoor Museum and on another occasion, took us on a personal tour of Urgurp.
Enjoying a wine and dinner with these lovely people made our caves experience very memorable. It is a stay that will be on the top of our list.

Room Tip: The cave suite provides ambience and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynne056
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

The hosts --- Jem & Devish were nice and helpful. They always gave useful advice to their guests and chatted with them like friends. They were attentive to the guests' needs and always willing to go further to make them happy. Talking about the room, we stayed in a double room which was spacious, clean, tastefully decorated and quiet. Breakfast was lovely with high quality of food and drinks. A definite enjoyable experience when staying in Koza Cave Hotel.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Virginia647
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2011

What can I say??? I would not stay anywhere else. You get what you pay for and more. Koza was the cherry on top of a wonderful adventure in Goreme.
Dervish, I know you read these reviews and take a lot of pride in making sure your guests have a memorable stay. Your attention to detail really makes Koza one of a kind. A huge thank you to you and your staff. Everyone is very welcoming, friendly and helpful. Everything from the fabulous breakfasts and one-of-a-kind rooms, to sharing a few stories over multiple bottles of wine on the terrace made this a part of our trip that all of our friends hear about.
Myself and Janelle really appreciate the fact that you took time out of your busy schedule to personally bring us around the countryside to see some of your favorite sites while listening to some Pavarotti! This is what separates Koza from everyone else, the personal touch that is included with your stay.
We are extremely lucky to have met great friends at Koza and would love to meet again one day. If you ever do that cross-Canada drive you were talking about, you are always welcome to make a pit-stop in Calgary. I'll be sure to have numerous Heineken's on ice!!
Again, a huge thank you to the entire Koza staff. Keep up the good work!! Take care...
Paul & Janelle(Calgary, Canada)

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank d0ublep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2011

This is a wonderful hotel! Everyone in our group of four thought that it was one of the most charming and unique hotels we've stayed in--the rooms are comfy and the bathrooms were amazing (ours had a large jacuzzi, hamam, and shower!) One caveat about the bathroom is that there wasn't a door in either of our rooms--the toilet is on a separate level and around a corner, so it's not a problem, but could potentially be awkward if sharing a room with friends rather than a significant other.
The hotel is a short and very scenic walk down a fairly steep hill into town. The owners are very nice and we enjoyed chatting with them. We'd highly recommend Koza Cave Hotel.

Room Tip: the rooms higher up have better internet connect
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ltc1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2011

We just stayed for two nights at Koza Cave Hotel in Goreme based on recommendations from Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor. It was everything that was promised. Modern restoration built into a traditional Cappadocian cave house. Top design and extremely friendly hosts who gave great advice, and booked us on a Butterfly Balloons trip where we were flown by Mustafa, the best balloon pilot in the region. One of our fellow passengers told us that she'd been on another company's trip the day before with her children and it was a disaster. Both Jem and Dervish's explanation was "we only recommend the things that we would do ourselves, whether it be balloon flights, restaurants or shows". Although Koza is not cheap it's well worth it. The way Dervish has designed and constructed the rooms within the cave is outstanding. Top quality fittings for bathroom and recycled materials for the other rooms. It took four years apparently to construct the ten rooms and must have been a labour of love. The restaurant next door is also extremely good, with great ambience and specialising in Anatolian food.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Firstfleet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

The buzz we picked up around town gave Koza Cave Hotel the #1 rating and we couldn't agree more. Location, views, charming, well-appointed rooms, a fine breakfast: they're all there. But what really catapults Koza into stardom are Cem and Dervish, proprietors and hosts. They were friendly, warm and helpful. For us, there's only one place to stay in Goreme.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jean W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,066 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sultan Cave Suites
Sultan Cave Suites
#12 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koza Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koza Cave Hotel

Property: Koza Cave Hotel
Address: Aydinli Mah. Cakmakli Sok. No:49, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Koza Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Koza Cave Hotel was restored using reclaimed stone, iron and wood building materials. It offers rooms fitted with traditional Turkish rugs and furnishings. Several rooms have a living room with a fireplace. Some feature a jacuzzi and a private terrace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Koza Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Koza Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing