We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Turkish Restaurant”
Review of Kale Terrasse

Kale Terrasse
Ranked #12 of 106 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $4 - $20
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Family business Since 1983 .Traditional Turkish and Cappadocian Cuisine .Enjoy Excellent Turkish Food in a Relaxing and Welcoming atmosphere ...
Castro Valley, California
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Turkish Restaurant”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I had no information about this restaurant before visit and I think it was a very great choice.
I ordered what the staff recommended, which was kofte with cheese over it. It tasted better than the kofte I ate in Istanbul. The atmosphere was great.with a little dim light and there were some travelers who seemed to enjoy dinner. Also, there were Wi-Fi available, so I could use internet before leaving goreme. The staff was very nice and service was great too.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
6 Thank DevTravelEr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    728
    313
    105
    36
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Poor service and poor food”
Reviewed January 1, 2014

The service was very poor, manners were definitely not on the menu.
Also the food was sub par, the rice was hard and stuck together and the potatoes were cold.
Wouldn't bother to make a second visit

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoddersGlobetrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Food, Nice Atmosphere, and Decent Price”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We ate at this spot a couple times because we enjoyed the food so much. The menu offers several vegetarian options and the prices were very reasonable. A meal for two including drinks was around $25, plus it included dessert.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
5 Thank Gina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Kefte, Uninspiring Testi Kebab”
Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

I ate the beef Testi kebab while the missus had the Kefte. The Testi kebab was alright. Eaten better in my three days in Goreme.

That said, the Kefte was delicious and I was tempted to get that instead but too late.

The Efes is cheap at 8 lira for a 500 ml bottle.

Service left a lot to be desired (although the previous night, when we walked by, the owner came up to us and chatted with us and was very friendly which was why we decided to go in the first place)

Not bad but not great either.

Helpful?
Thank Siddharth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful warm experience”
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We were walking around goreime and it was very cold looking for a place to eat. The owner came out and started explaining the history of the place to us. He did not pressure us in any way to try the restaurant we walked on and eventually came back to try a meal. It was really a wonderful experience, Haroun was an exceptional host explaining the history of the region and about the traditions and the food we had eaten. They went out of their way to provide for our every need even rustling up a dish of chips which weren't on the menu. For me a true sign of excellence and customer service.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Samia Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kale Terrasse also viewed

 

Been to Kale Terrasse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing