We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Go!”

Seten Anatolian Cuisine
Ranked #12 of 106 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $22
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Bringing you the quintessential Anatolian Cousine in a magical setup among the fairy-chimneys and the valleys of Göreme. Indoors as well as outdoors dining option with live Turkish music on select days.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Go!”
Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

We went twice. The ambience is wonderful, the menu selection is excellent, and the service is superb. Our best dining experience while in Turkey!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,355 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    853
    321
    106
    48
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
“Dukkah, Pachanga Borek, Vertically Roasted Eggplant-Lamb Kebabs”
Reviewed May 14, 2014

We dined here twice. The first night the waiters were rushing back and forth, no time for conversation at what looked like a one room restaurant. We enjoyed the bread with crushed spices and peanut dukkah and olive oil, meat-filled Pacanga Borek, and the other mezzes(the eggplant was very good) we'd ordered. For the main course we had their famous vertically roasted eggplant and lamb kebab which was tender and delicious, however the chicken and eggplant kebab was dry and tough. The kofte meatballs were tiny and it was more soup than a main course. The house wines were filled generously with local wines.
The second night we realized there are three large dining rooms, and sat in the middle room. It seemed to be the designated families with young crying children area, had we known we would've sat in another room. We had a friendly young man passionate about Anatolian wines and cuisine serving us. We enjoyed the Pacanga borek again, and ordered the mezze platter for the three of us. One mezze was too spicy for both my chili-loving men, and the portions were so tiny I recommend you order the mezzes you want to try individually. I ordered the recommended okra stew but it was a bit salty. I did enjoy my husband's beef stew, served over a bed of pureed eggplant. We tried the recommended baklava made with local walnuts, and reconstituted apricots served with kaymak. The waiter kindly brought more kaymak for my kaymak(clotted-cream made from buffalo milk) loving men and the desserts ended up being on the house!
Nice selection of wines. The wine went well with our meal and the owner dropped by so we complimented our waiter's friendliness, mentioning what a big change it was from three nights before and was told the restaurant had been over-booked. Nice glassware and the restaurant has a nice formality to it.
As the hotel is up a steep hill, we truly appreciated the restaurant sending their drivers to pick us up from our hotel, and the mysterious 10% discount offered each visit. There is a beautiful small terrace with three tables, which was a bit cold for us when we were there. The restaurant/hotel is located on the top of Kelebek hill so the view at night over Goreme is nice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank VolcanoGirl_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Popular & delicious”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

We arrived early in the evening for a cocktail and they did their best to arrange a drink. The waiters were fun and talkative and joiked amongst themselves. Great atmosphere, professional staff without being snooty and the food was excellent. Wine (local) was very acceptable and plan to return again!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lipstickkids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very Good”
Reviewed May 8, 2014 via mobile

Restaurant worth going if you are in Goreme. Nice view depending where you get a table. Really good food !! Fair price and excellent service.

Helpful?
Thank Marcelo K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“motivated to come back”
Reviewed May 6, 2014

we arrived late twice without booking...and the staff has been so kind to arrange an external accomodation while waiting, offering some drinks and snacks.
Exquisite food and unexpected Turkish wine; and note we arrive from the Barolo land!
Even prices, according to the quality of the restaurant, are absolutely affordable and reasonable, at least for a european traveller.
Warmely suggested to book in advance!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seten Anatolian Cuisine also viewed

 

Been to Seten Anatolian Cuisine? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing