We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific hotel and very generous, warm owners”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Ranked #33 of 76 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Terrific hotel and very generous, warm owners”
Reviewed December 11, 2010

Serdar and his father were simply fantastic hosts. Rooms were clean and spacious, and any requests were met promptly. They were very generous with their time / resources, e.g. taking my parents and I to lunch on our arrival day, to ensure we had a great food experience in Goreme. If you are after a relaxed and warm, but efficient stay, you should consider this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickymorris81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    101
    17
    10
    4
See reviews for
95
175
44
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pensacola, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
87 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2010

Oruc and Serdar made us feel at home and were welcoming from the first moment. It was like we were old friends being welcomed home. They quickly made arrangements for anything we wanted to do and gave true advice on ther local things to do. Everything in Goreme is a short walk from the Caravanserai. Not a 5 star accommodation, it is homey and authentic. I recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Javamang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2010

We stayed at the Hotel Caravanserai for several nights at the end of September. The owner Serdar is a great guy who makes you feel right at home. He was most obliging helping us out with a couple of little issues like changing some bus tickets.
The rooms are newly renovated, and ours was very attractive and comfortable. We had the nicest bathroom of all the places we stayed in Turkey. The rooftop terrace is a pleasant place to have breakfast or late afternoon drinks and chat with other travellers. One comment on the breakfasts: some yogurt would be a nice addition, and we thought that the extra charge of 10 lira for an omelette was a bit steep.
The location was excellent: on a quiet street, but very close to the main square and lots of restaurants.
We would definitely stay here again, and recommend it to other travellers.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vancouver reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 7, 2010

Felt like friends from day one. Staff were outstandingly consistent with quality of 'relaxed' care. We had booked 3 days but ended up staying 6. This is a new hotel so well done guys to get to No.1 !!- all that hard work (and charm) have paid off. Keep up the good work. The needed female touch is coming in 2011 I believe but nevertheless the rooms were comfortable and clean, omlettes at breakfast a nice touch. We were kind of sad to leave but hope to return. Thanks so much Cerdar, Oruc, Ilyas, and Mujahid for making our trip one to remember.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAlison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights after reading great reviews. We were not disappointed, this is a small, family run hotel & a wonderful place to stay in Goreme. In no time at all, you will feel like you are staying with family, they are very welcoming & will do everything possible to make your stay an enjoyable one. We stayed in a cave room, quite a novelty even though it felt a little damp. Breakfast is served on the terrace with wonderful view of the town. Location couldn't be better, you can walk the whole town from here. Would stay here again in a heart beat & highly recommend it. Turkish hospitality at its best!!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank phuketexpats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BARCELONA
1 review
Reviewed November 4, 2010

Definetly the best place to stay in Goreme. The place is nice and the rooms are spacious although we missed a femenin touch on the hotel's decoration. Something you won't miss is a family ambiance thanks to the cool management/staff (Çerdar & Ilias their best example) and the relaxed air you can breath there. Goreme's magic landscape feels better with a turkish barbecue and some raki with travelling friends. Don't miss the nice people around the town ... the old ladies neighborgs the best ¡

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUEBARCELONA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Stayed at the Cravanserai with my wife for 4 nights in October prior to a side trip to Mount Nemrut - a must do for all travellers to Capadoccia - then 1 night on the return. Large, spotless rooms, comfortable beds, great location metres from the main square, excellent breakfast. Our host Serhan and his father Oruc were hosts par excellence - every request was met by a gracious reply, nothing was too much trouble for them. And unlike many hotels we have stayed, guests were made to feel welcome - make that like family members - and not an interuption to the otherwise orderly running of the establishment. Almost forgot. Their barbecue fish and chicken dinners were delicious - especially with the weather in Goreme turning suddenly cold and wet making going out to even nearby restaurants unpleasant.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robmacca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#13 of 76 in Goreme
1,028 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#36 of 76 in Goreme
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#21 of 76 in Goreme
596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#14 of 76 in Goreme
458 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anatolian Houses
Anatolian Houses
#22 of 76 in Goreme
435 reviews
0.0 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#40 of 76 in Goreme
379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravanserai Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Property: Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Address: Haci Ismail Efendi street no.13 | Gaferli Mah., Goreme, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
#11 Family Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravanserai Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Caravanserai Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravanserai Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing