We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean hotel with good hospitality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Ranked #42 of 77 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights and really liked the hotel. We had a room with double bed which was large but my cousin who stayed alone in a room with a twin bed had a slightly smaller room. So not all rooms are likely to be of the same size. However no complaints for me as the rooms were spacious and very clean, including the bathroom. The breakfast also had good variety to choose from. The location was good but the same can be said for most hotels as its a fairly small town.
The ‘cave’ aspect of the hotel comes from the fact that like all cave hotels in the area its made of stone giving you the feel of being in “The Flintstones” era which we really liked & what most people look forward to while selecting a hotel. Other than that the rooms are the pretty much the same from the inside.
The father-son duo who run the hotel were very helpful and mingled with the guests who stayed there.

Room Tip: The hotel serves only breakfast- no lunch or dinner at all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neeraj V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (532)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

175 - 181 of 532 reviews

Reviewed December 3, 2012

This hotel is in a fantastic location right in the heart of Goreme - close to everything. The staff were particularly helpful organising tours and balloon rides and the room was cosy and comforting. It is very clean and great value for money. We did have a problem with the water on several occassions but this was fixed right away.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZ_traveller1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel has an ideal location in the centre of the town. Serdar hosts many BBQ's on the rooftop terrace with fantastic views.
Serdar has spent time in Australia and America so he speaks really good english and can help with any questions you may have about anything in the region. If you have time, he may even take you on a personal hike around town (eg Rose Valley, Love Valley etc).

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali_cingitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Earlier this month I traveled to Goreme as a group of five and after extensive research decided to book a quadruple cave room with an extra bed at the Caravanserai not only for its value but also for all the positive reviews the hotel has received.

We got in early from an overnight bus and were grateful for an early check-in. The room was delightfully decorated and definitely cave-y, and boasts a spacious bathroom, a great shower and loads of power outlets to meet all our electronic chargers' needs.

The hotel is conveniently located literally minutes away from the "main street" with all the restaurants and shops, ATMs, as well as the main bus terminal.

I'd like to thank Serdar especially for always being welcoming and present to answer any questions and offer assistance. Due to some unexpected last minute adjustments in our itinerary we had to change our dates of stay with a penalty fee from another booking site, but Serdar went the extra mile and actually offered to waive the bulk of the penalty for us. He was even kind enough to give my companions who were under the weather a lift to the pharmacy for some meds!

If you are looking for a friendly and cosy family-run hotel and an awesome cave experience at a very affordable price, Caravanserai is an excellent choice.

P.S. some advice for future visitors... Before you book any tours prior to arrival in Cappadocia do give what Serdar has on offer a shot. He is knowledgable of the area and has a good network with local operators and can recommend reputable agencies and even offer special discounts. He also offers private tours at a competitive price. Had we not already purchased package tours from Istanbul I would have opted for those. Also, when reserving a room consider emailing the hotel directly to get the best deal and flexibility!

Room Tip: Travelers who are not too fond of caves or who may find caves a bit stuffy for their taste has the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lambstana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A lovely little place in the centre of Goreme, run by the super-friendly and helpful Serdar who will give you great advice and help organising tours, hot air balloon rides etc. Rooms are basic but comfortable, nice and warm and the showers are hot! Good breakfasts and lovely roof terraces for watching the sun go down with a beer or glass of wine. Really good value, would not hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for a cave room - not all of them are.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kbt3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012 via mobile

This charming hotel with an old-world courtyard and great views from its terrace/breakfast room is a good choice for backpackers and the young at heart. It's not fancy but it's warm and friendly, with laundry facilities, free wifi, and good English-speaking staff that won't steer you wrong. I think it was a good deal at 100 euros for four nights.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snapper1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The family who run this hotel - Serdar and Oruc - are very friendly, funny guys who went out of their way to help us have a great stay. They organised a late-night airport transfer to and from their hotel, and an early morning balloon flight for us in advance by e-mail. We also took a private day trip with Oruc to the Selime Cathedral (very impressive) and Ilhara Valley - (you can also do this tour with one of the bus companies but I found it easier to take longer or reduce your time seeing an area with it being a private tour). We also asked Oruc to throw-in a quick side trip to see the Love Valley rocks as we hadn't had a chance to see them earlier and were flying-out that night. Luckily we made it just before dark.

Our room was very warm and toasty, more than welcoming on a cold winter's night and the hotel's location is good - about 20minutes easy, interesting walk to the Goreme Open-Air Museum and just 5minutes walk to local restaurants, convenience shops and souveneir places. I can't remember the name of the restaurant - starts with an A, maybe Anatolia, but enjoyed good, cheap priced food there. Serdap recommended it.

If you are going to the Goreme Open-Air Museum in the afternoon I'd recommend you stop in at the little trail graffiti-marked "Rose" (it's written on an electrical power box. Note - It is not the "Rose" written on an actual rock near the Open-Air Museum but it's closer into town and graffiti-written on an electric power box) - next to some steel signs advertisng. Walk in about 5 minutes from the road and hike-up to the top of the nearest hill (about 5 minutes in from the road) and have a look out at the afternoon sunset over the rock cliffs in the distance. Lovely afternoon view.

Anwyays, would highly recommend Caravanserai, thanks for a great stay Serdar and Oruc!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fabauthor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0 mi away
Arch Palace Hotel
Arch Palace Hotel
#46 of 77 in Goreme
381 reviews
0.3 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 77 in Goreme
619 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 77 in Goreme
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Nature Park Cave Hotel
Nature Park Cave Hotel
#48 of 77 in Goreme
152 reviews
0.2 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#35 of 77 in Goreme
401 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#5 of 77 in Goreme
620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Caravanserai Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caravanserai Cave Hotel

Address: Haci Ismail Efendi street no.13 | Gaferli Mah., Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $26 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Caravanserai Cave Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Caravanserai Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caravanserai Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing