We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value for money and friendly” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sunset Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunset Cave Hotel
Ranked #67 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Side, Turkey
2 reviews
“excellent value for money and friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

my husband and i had 5 days in goreme and this hotel was central to everything, hotel was clean, breakfast plentiful and there was endless hot water and 24hrs central heating. owner and staff very friendly and spoke good english and also arranged trips for us and gave us lots of local information, great view of goreme from the hotel but in a peaceful location. only 5 minutes walk from the shops etc which were all open even in the winter, i was surpised to find nearly everyone spoke english (I am english and my husband turkish) - lots of attractions and places to visit within easy distance of the hotel. can't wait to go back again

Room Tip: we were on the first floor but great views from all levels
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank annie1120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    111
    29
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
21
52
22
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Venice, Italy
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

We were staying 3 nights..everything is just perfect. We had De Luxe room in the chimney, very spaciuos room with jacuzzi bath. Very clean. Breakfast good. If you are going just for couple of days, my advise is to organize and tours and balloon by Hotel - Mr Chetin is more than happy to help you with everything (in that case you don't have to think about nothing, Sunset will do for you).
Maybe it's just better to contact Hotel directly to book the room and tours as they can give you a price as package!!!!!!

Room Tip: De Luxe room on the last floor, spacious, jacuzzi, and beautiful view from terrace in the front of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Luca31385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapaa, Hawaii, USA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

It feels that owner (the man who meets the guests) tries to do his best, but...
Of course, he is extremely friendly and helpful. He didn't even ask us for our passports while it was asked in every hotel in Turkey. It's good idea, I like it.
Several sad details spoiled everything.
It was no kettle and teacups in the room despite it should be according to the booking.com description. No minibar (fridge was absolutely empty). We didn't need it but it was in the description. No safe box.
In the bathroom after having a shower or a bath it was a giant puddle. No curtains in the bathroom but it seems that a puddle caused not only by this fact.
Poor wi-fi - signal was ok just in one half of the room close to the door, in other half with bed wi-fi signal was very bad and unstable cause router is too far from the room and walls are thick. In winter it matters a lot.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vv0vv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed here on my visit to Goreme - clean rooms, sumptuous breakfast, very friendly staff - you can easily chill out on the roof with a cold beer - never mind the season! The hotel offered me uninterrupted supply of tea at no cost - breakfast to die for! They will even arrange ballon rides, bus tickets or day trips - you can get the best deal here. Ask for Chetin - he is absolutely adorable and very helpful.

Hot and cold water, every room has heaters and clean blankets. Absolute silence - as the hotel is a little away from the noisy town centre - hard to say that really, because Goreme is not at all noisy.

Room Tip: The rooms are all quiet - as the hotel is set a little distance away from the town centre - very pea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnjalyDubai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

Myself and my wife stayed at Sunset Cave Hotel .Excellent breakfast and very good food we ordered from the menu at dinner time.Service staff are very friendly and helpful throughout the whole hotel.Love my stay here and would strongly recommend this hoteI for sure.

Room Tip: Ask for room 102.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cameron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I was reach at cappadocia on the 9 nov, mid night, is first time I been this place alone, sure, I was a bit nervous.
I choose to stay in sunset cave hotel ,goreme,cappadocial as I saw a lot good comments from trip advisor about this hotel.
The facts are true, I was welcoming by the owner of sunset cave pension, mr chetin and mr hasan,,at the late night, I feel warm as they are waiting for me and trying to prepare foods for me.
The cave room is very unique, clean and bath room is very big. The view fr the terrace is wondeful.
Location is very good, by 5 min walking distance to town and 10 minute walking distance to Sunset point.
The breakfast is simple but is perfect as one of the staff can make different cookies and desserts, and is delicious. The staffs is very helpful and we used to hv fun together.
The owners of this pension also organizing the tours and hv hot air ballon company.so is very convinience if u wish to joint any tours.
I no feel like I am guest is this hotel, as everyone treat me so good, it make me feel like I m at home. Mr cetin is good cooker as well, I m so lucky that I can taste his foods, its really taste so good.Don't miss it out!
I would like to recomend another restaurant in town, restaurant called "Cappadocia Pide house " , just 5 min walking distance from hostel.food is nice and price is reasonable.
I m sure that I wil come back to this hotel and I wil recomend to my frends who going to come visit goreme,cappadocial soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yvonnekoo81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2012

I initially had planned to stay here for 3 days and ended up staying 10, despite an initial minor problem with the cave smell in a particular room. But hey, It is a cave, after all, and I know the problem is being addressed. Chetin, the manager, went out of his way to make sure I saw the things I was interested in (rugs, rugs, rugs) and provided directions, suggestions and transportation for several fantastic hikes. He also invited me to a family wedding so that I could see the whirling dervishes and meet his family. He helped my book an airline ticket and when my credit card would not go through, without asking or hesitation he put it on his own personal card. I did, of course, reimburse him, but talk about going the extra mile.

The breakfasts were plentiful, views from the balcony were great and it is a great place to watch the early morning balloons. The rooms were a bit on the quirky side so if you are looking for Holiday Inn uniformity, this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#19 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#10 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#1 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.3 mi away
Vineyard Cave Hotel
Vineyard Cave Hotel
#1 of 76 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 741 reviews
0.2 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Cave Hotel

Property: Sunset Cave Hotel
Address: Gaferli Mahallesi Aydin Kiragi Sokak No: 5, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sunset Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Sunset Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing