We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sunset Cave Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$132
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Caravanserai Cave Hotel(Goreme)(Great Value!)
$37
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$51
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$175
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Goreme House(Goreme)(Great Value!)
$49
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
$135
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (167)
Filter reviews
167 results
Traveler rating
118
33
5
3
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
118
33
5
3
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstown centreturkish breakfastquiet locationfew minutes walktop floorfamily roomtwo nightsearly in the morningtourscaveterracehillballon
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
45 - 50 of 167 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2012

I had a brilliant time during my stay at Sunset Cave Hotel. Not only can I say I've now slept in a cave, but I can also say I've come across the best custom Turkey has to offer. Without the help and generosity of çetin and Hasan the owner, we wouldn't have been able to achieve what we did in the little time we had there. They went out of their way to get us on fully booked tours and busses to our next destination - and succeeded. The more you travel, the more you realise it's the people you meet along the way that enhance your experience. I enjoyed staying there so much I returned a week later! I can now honestly call them friends. You would be mad to stay anywhere else in Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CharliGeo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehmet d, Yönetici at Sunset Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Thank you with your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

I stayed at the Sunset Cave Hotel in October 2012 the location was perfect and the terrace fantastic for ' balloon watching' in the mornings, breakfast was very good with a nice selection of bread,cereals and fresh hard boiled eggs :) the rooms were quirky as expected but desperately need a wardrobe/chest of drawers as we ' ladies' don't really like living out of a suitcase ( we were there for four days ) other than that we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stephany P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehmet d, Yönetici at Sunset Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Thank you with your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It's a great place, no doubt about it. The rooms are authentic, location is fantastic, walking distance from many beautiful sites, also very close to the city centre. They offer free pickup at the bus station. It's not far, but it is uphill and with all the baggage it is quite useful. Breakfast is nice, good choice. The rooms in higher floors are better, (more light, better view).

Now to the but part ... the guy who picked us up (not the owner I think) first offered another hotel to us, that it's supposed to have the room ready for us (the room at sunset cave was still full, since we arrived a bit early). We didn't accept. Then he oferred us all kinds of stuff, tours, baloon ride, car rental ... As we didn't accept any of this, he became very unfriendly and arrogant. Also, he told us that he is offering the only available car for rent, everything else is supposed to be fully booked. Later that day we found plenty of cars available at much lower prices.

Room Tip: Room nr. 5 has the best view.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nara77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehmet d, Yönetici at Sunset Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Thank you with your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

The sunset cave hotel near to otogar, just 5mins walk. warm welcome by the owner, good value for tour & hot balloon. The owner has interest with tourisme, thus he can be a reference to know about turkey's attractions.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzelinaA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehmet d, Yönetici at Sunset Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Thank you with your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

We travelled by bus from Ankara to Cappadocia on 8 October 2012 and reached Goreme around 6am in the morning. We took a taxi to the hotel and the place was quiet. Everyone was asleep until 8am. We were allowed to checked in into our room immediately which was a relief after travelling for 6 hours. We were given room 1 which is located at the ground floor. Our first impression, nice hotel and the rooms were lovely. You get to experience living in a stone house and cave room which remind me of the Flinstone. The breakfast was good and the service was excellent. It's cheaper if you book directly by sending an e-mail to them. If you come with heavy luggage, best that you request for rooms at the ground floor.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rehlahku
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mehmet d, Yönetici at Sunset Cave Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2017

Thank you with your comment

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews