We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Travel made easy..” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nirvana Cave

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nirvana Cave
Ranked #18 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Travel made easy..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2012

By far the most helpful and accommodating hoteliers we've come across. Touring around Turkey, planning as we are going, we booked at the last minute. Friendly faces and Turkish tea greeted us when we arrived, along with great advice as to things to do and see while in town. We stayed for 3 nights, as you really need a solid two days to see and do all that there is to do in Kapadokya. Staying in April the nights were still pretty cool but we had no problems with room temperature, at night or during the warmer days. The shower heads were definitely 5 star and we will be looking to install some of them in our houses when returning home! The rooms were spacious and homely and the hotel is two minutes walk from the centre of town.

Above all of this was how easy it was to book activities through Yasin in reception, we felt really comfortable discussing options with him and weren't pressured into booking anything. He was more than happy for us to shop around for good prices. There was no waiting if we did decide to book, he was straight on the phone and sorting our deal out.

Will definitely be recommending to anyone we know visiting Goreme.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    40
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
11
40
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dartmoor, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2012

We loved staying here because the people were so friendly. Within half an hour of arriving they'd helped us to book a balloon flight, 'green tour' and recommended the best places to eat and stay as well as invite us for a walking tour of the Fairy Chimneys. Sometimes during the day with the heating off the rooms were a little cold but apart from that it was fantastic. The location was really good too, close to shops, ATMs, cafes and sights.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank maggiefg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed here for one night in wintertime, when tourism is low and there's not a lot going on in town. I think we were the only guests, so there wasn't much activity at the hotel. However, the hotel manager was very kind, made us a good breakfast and coffee, and most importantly let his cat, Efes, hang out in the common area with us so that I could get in some much needed cat time. Seriously, an amazing cat. I would make a trip to central Turkey just to see this cat again. The room was clean and in fact a cave; the hotel is close to everything but also set back a bit from the main road. It would probably be quite lovely in springtime. Be warned-- no one gets up very early in Goreme in winter when there isn't much going on. But the cats are awake and will follow you around, which is what really matters anyway. Come for the rock formations, stay for the felines.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ncg77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

The Nirvana Cave hotel is located at the perfect place in Goreme. The hotel grounds have been embellished with fruit trees which give you an absolutely great feeling against the back drop of the conical ash hills.

The grounds include a swimming pool, a hammock & garden seats under perfectly trimmed fruit bearing plum and apple trees. The rooms are clean and cosy with perfect white marble flooring and cream colored bed linen. We stayed at one of the cave rooms and the experience was excellent. The bathroom was fully equipped with hot & cold water and complete with complimentary soap and towels. Room service is on-demand, so you may want to request a change of sheets or towels as and when necessary.

The breakfast buffet is very generous and has a wide variety of choices. The hotel manager Mustafa is very friendly and courteous and made our stay very pleasant.

The location is ideal because it is close to the bus station, ATMS, the market place and the open-air musuem is a 20 minute walking distance.

The only thing that was a cause of disappointment was the swimming pool which had not been cleaned regularly and had bits of everything floating in it.

However, my experience on a whole is 9 out of 10 and I will surely go back there again.

Room Tip: As with all rooms across Turkey, always check the ensuite bathrooms to make sure everything is worki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank HanaJalali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2011

When we arrived in Goreme and were met by someone from nirvana who lead us to the hotel, we knew we picked the right place. Our arrival only confirmed this. Although we showed up earlier than our check in time our room was ready and waiting for us. Yinsi at the front desk told us we could pay whenever was convenient and that there was no rush. Our spacious double was both clean and well lit. The bed was more than comfortable and the heavy comforters were perfect for the chilly Cappadocian nights. We were worried after reading reviews that there wouldn't be hot water  but there always was. Just give it a few minutes to warm up and showering at night is a good idea. The free breakfast was a nice touch with fresh bread amongst the spread. Nirvana was hands down the most comfortable place we could have stayed. We were truly sad to leave after 3 days of warm hospitality, and the fact that Yinsi brought us a final cup of complimentary tea while waited for our night bus made it that much harder to leave...what do they put in that stuff??!!

also: definitely take the "green tour" for 70 lira. Well worth the price if you are a backpacker who wants to see many sights but only have a few days to fit them in. 

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2011

The location in Goreme is great. The hostel staff are friendly and helpful. Because rates are negotiated, it is best to have a copy of your reservation with you so that they know what was agreed to. There was no hot water! A necessity with the cool cave rooms and cold evenings. The dorm hadn't been cleaned the 3 days I was there and good thing I had toilet paper on hand for when we ran out (every day). The outdoor pool, although pretty to look at is not filtered and was mirky. I know, I know, I can jump into a river but can't jump into a mirky pool. ;)

If you are booking the dorm, you definitely want one of the alcove beds.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pthft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.A.E.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2011

The best cave rooms and excellent location. The market place and bus stop a stones throw. The ATM machines and the open-air museum all wthin walking distances of 15 minutes. The hotel grounds are beautiful. With just the right amount of nature in a compund, with plum, apricot, quince, walnut & cherry trees and the beautifuly hanging grape vines. I loved this place for the calm it has.

The breakfast is served as a buffet and is ample. The much needed swimming pool at the grounds makes this place a wonderful place to hang out in Cappadoccia after you are done with the hot air ballon rides. It was the perfect ending to my turkish holiday.

Room Tip: The cave rooms are the best and are spanking clean with white marble flooring and bed linen
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank shamim_uae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#9 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,002 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#28 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#13 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 68 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#17 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
0.4 mi away
Guven Cave Hotel
Guven Cave Hotel
#29 of 68 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nirvana Cave? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nirvana Cave

Property: Nirvana Cave
Address: Gafelli Mah. Cevizler Sok. No 9, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 33 Specialty Lodging in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Nirvana Cave 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nirvana Cave Hotel & Camping lies in the heart of Cappadocia, in the small town of Goreme. It is situated among fairy chimneys and fruit trees and is just a few minutes walk from the bus station and centre of town. At Nirvana Cave Hotel you can spend the night in a traditional cave room or in one of the stone built rooms with authentic wooden ceilings. Budget travelers can choose to stay in our unique cave room dormitory where the beds are fitted into niches in the rock. All the rooms at Nirvana Cave Hotel have been recently renovated (in 2010) to bring them up to date and meet the requirements of today’s travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nirvana Cave reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nirvana Cave Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing