We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great help in time of need”
Review of Arif Cave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Arif Cave Hotel
Ranked #24 of 78 Goreme B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at Arif for two nights. We were in one of the basic rooms (no. 8) so no exotic cave dwelling for us. Traditional Turkish breakfast was plentiful for us. What was remarkable about our otherwise ordinary stay was the staff's flexibility in accommodating us when my husband fell quite sick (his sickness had nothing to do with the hotel, surrounding area or its food) two hours before check out time (which is 10:30AM). Ahmed let us use another room which was going to be unoccupied until later that evening without any extra charge. We were very grateful for that as my husband definitely needed to rest.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zaaviyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (214)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 214 reviews

Reviewed September 30, 2012

I agree with most of the previous reviews . Great location , hospitable family , wonderful panoramic view . But yet , I belive the hotel could have more to offer in terms of services offered , breakfast , dinning restaurant , ...etc.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sherif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in a cave room with panoramic views. This was big, comfortable, nicely decorated and neat. It fulfilled our expectation. The views from the top terrace were fantastic. The treat was correct at all times, though punctual quarrels between family members spoiled the peaceful atmosphere of the place.
We decided to hire the guided day tour that they recommended (Hiro Tours), a truly disappointing choice. This was shortened 45 minutes from the offered plan, with no explanation at all. Only lunch and coffee break were given sufficient time to enjoy conveniently. Moreover, the guide just limited to transmit the information on a monotonous and surly manner.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Arif for five nights at cost of 80€ per night. We stayed in room No.2 which is a beautiful cave room, very tastefully furnished, including a snug and sofa, plus a balcony with spectacular views over goreme.

Have given the hotel `poor` rating for the following reasons. The mattress was very old and was extremely uncomfortable to sleep on, to the point it was affecting my sleep. The breakfast was a very basic turkish breakfast that was on the meagre side, which when compared to the excellent Goreme House buffet, showed it to be very poor value for money.

It was obvious the family lived in the hotel - which in itself is not usually a problem - but at the Arif it created an atmosphere that at times wasn't welcoming. The whole experience just felt as though their hearts weren't in it.

This accommodation is pricing itself as superior accommodation, but actually is only offering a basic hotel experience in Goreme. This is a shame as the location and rooms could have a lot more to offer.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SallyJMGray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

We stayed for four nights. Can only agree with the other reviews. Excellent location. Wonderful views from the terrace. Fantastic cave room (we stayed in room number 3). Arif and his family (a particular mention to his son Ahmet) were so friendly and made our stay excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank footiemum90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is the best hotel in Cappadocia! I stayed in one of the cave rooms which was so cool to do, and it was also luxurious with nice finishes such as a modern bathroom. The balcony and sitting area in the room were also nice features that made me want to hang out in the room. The best part of the hotel though is Ahmet, who runs the hotel with his father and family. He was the best host and so friendly to us. He was willing to get us whatever we needed and to make recommendations about tours and ensure that we got the best tour guides for the tours. He made it feel like we were staying in his home, as he also took the time to talk with us on the terrace. The terrace at the top of the hotel was very nice as it looked out on Goreme. Also, the breakfast was great- lots of good bread and jams, fruit, eggs, coffee, etc- it was so nice that breakfast was included. I highly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Cappadocia.

Room Tip: Panoramic Cave Room was the room I stayed in and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thecooltourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very good hotel. Excellent location. It is located on the top of a hill and perfect for sunset views and for the rest of Capaddoccia. As Goreme is small, it is also only a 5 min walk from central/the bus terminal. The rooms have so much character and are 3/4 stars. The staff were also very helpful and offered free lifts.

Room Tip: Only some rooms have wifi
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiantang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0 mi away
Goreme Ascension Cave Suites
0.1 mi away
Imperial Cave Hotel
Imperial Cave Hotel
#28 of 77 in Goreme
156 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 77 in Goreme
1,172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Traveller's Cave Hotel
Traveller's Cave Hotel
#30 of 77 in Goreme
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#33 of 77 in Goreme
211 reviews
0.3 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arif Cave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arif Cave Hotel

Address: Aydinkiragi Mahallesi No: 11, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 78 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $53 - $91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Arif Cave Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Arif Cave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arif Cave Pension Hotel Goreme
Arif Cave Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing