We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent place to stay!”
Review of Divan Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Divan Cave House
Ranked #13 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at Divan Cave House for 3 nights in late June and we had a fantastic experience!

First of all, I'm not sure why some people are complaining about the service, because we were really impressed by how friendly and helpful the staff was! For instance, we arrived in Göreme from Istanbul by night bus, so we were there pretty early in the morning (around 8:30am). Even though we were way ahead the check-in time, they treated us as guests as soon as we arrived, and even offered us to have breakfast while they prepped our room – which was more than welcomed after this hard travelling night! They will gladly help you if you need assistance in planning activities such as a hot air balloon ride. They also offer their guest activities such as a sunset hike in Rose Valley, and a walk to the sunset point. A special thanks to Abdul and Ali for their hospitality!

The room was comfortable, modern and clean, and the breakfast had more diversity than most hotels we have been to in Turkey : cheese gözleme, lots of fresh and dry fruits, eggs/omelettes ordered to taste, the usual tomatoes/cucumber/cheese/olives, etc. Plus, the you can enjoy your breakfast on a nice terrasse with a nice view over the town.

The hotel itself is not centrally located, which makes it more quiet, and, Göreme being a tiny litlle town, everything is easily reachable by foot. They offer free transportation to and from the bus station if needed.

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank MarieSnow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,052)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

447 - 453 of 1,052 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2013

We had the family room. It was exactly as what we had seen in the virtual tour from their web site. The hotel location is great. Goreme is a tiny place and it takes only a few minutes on foot to reach the "city center". We had reserved one tour from Istanbul (red or green?) and decided to take a second one (red or green?) when we arrived in Goreme as it was a bit cheaper through the hotel. It was very nice that we could have breakfast on our day of arrival and they even let us check in in the morning since the people before us had left quite early. We didn't book our hot air balloon tour with them; I had done it myself before arriving in Turkey. There were a few minor problems with our room, but everything was taken care of upon request. There is a washing machine in that room, which came in handy as we were on our fifth day when we arrived in Goreme, so we could do laundry there and leave our clothes to dry on the clothes line on the roof of the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Turk_cmr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

The staff was so friendly and helped us with everything. They gave us rides everywhere. The hotel was clean and comfortable and was a short walk to the town centre. The breakfast was great every morning. All in all we loved it.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
3  Thank Shrav G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Yes good experience of living in genuine cave rooms... However service needs upgrading and the breakfasts need upgrading too. I liked the decor and enjoyed the well used look but I do think they need to not take take things for granted and improve the staff. Especially since it is not cheap to stay here.

Room Tip: If not young choose rooms with a level floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank maya094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Poor service and does not hold to promises

From the get go I should have known this hotel was a mistake. I got emails confirming my reservation and it went downhill from there. The magical Ali was not to be found during my entire stay, nor was any semblance of service. The room reserved was not available – a bad way to check in, finding that the room promised was not there. To their credit, they offered to take us into town. They scrambled to recover from the initial guffaw, and finally found someone to haul us to the museum. Later we called back as suggested to get a ride back to the hotel and wound up waiting almost 2 hours – wasted time on a vacation, and the driver arrived just before we gave up, without apology and in a grumpy mood.

Hotel was generally ok, though noisy at all times. Really not what was ratcheted up to be at all. Would not come here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
17  Thank Carolynsbd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Hotel staffs are kind. Also we can book the tours in the hotel. Room is clean and neat. We had a comfortable time here! Wifi also works very well.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jangyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

This piace is fantastic everything is perfect, Hanife prepare for us the balloon flight and it was wonderful.
The position is amazing,with a nice wiew on the rocks... our room is big, clean and relaxing...
I think I will return here as soon as I can!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lucabrucius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#20 of 78 in Goreme
616 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#21 of 78 in Goreme
967 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#10 of 78 in Goreme
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#11 of 78 in Goreme
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Cave House

Address: Aydinli Mah. Gorceli Sok. No:5, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Goreme
#5 Family Hotel in Goreme
#6 Best Value Hotel in Goreme
#6 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $33 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Divan Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Cave House is located in the old, upper part of Goreme, less than five minutes' walk from the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and Evoline ltd so you can book your Divan Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Cave House Hotel Goreme
Divan Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing