We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“The best stay in Turkey!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Divan Cave House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Divan Cave House
Ranked #10 of 64 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
83 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The best stay in Turkey!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2012

Before we travel to Turkey, I booked room at Divan and talked on phone with very friendly and co-operative Fatih. When we reached there all we got was more than we expected and imagined! Divan cave house is situated near top of the small hill in Goreme village. The cave hotels have rooms carved in tiny rocky mountains formed by lava. Since many years, people are living in these cave houses.

Our hotel was very beautiful cave hotel, on my husband’s request they offered us Cave suite. The bedroom was carved in a cave & living room attached to it had carved in rest of rocks with wooden roof. This hotel suite is best hotel suite ever one can imagine. In just first glance, we totally fall in love with our suite. The furniture is minimal & well suited to surrounding. There was a big yard in front of our entrance & outdoor sitting area for two. The living room was lavish. The king size bed was royal & highlight of room interior was strategic lighting arrangement, which was simple but very artistic. The washroom in cave was fantastic, the jacuzzi was not working but it didn't bother us. Both the rooms were huge in size with all necessary amenities, only we felt TV is not required in such an amazing place, here one should marvel at beauty of cave or feel the experience. We quite rightly, covered the TV with towel, to make it invisible. There was a small fireplace carved in rock in living room, which must be making this site equally cozy (and beautiful) even during cold winter. Our suite had view of some rock mountains and view from very beatuful bedroorm window was rustic yard outside. This suite has very well privacy and bedroom was so very romatic that I will suggest honeymooners travelling to Goreme should not miss this room.

The hotel people are nice, frindly and co-operative. They offered us the room first, asked us to take rest & then come to do the check in procedure. Also when we checked out we kept our luggage and went to do remaining site seeing. Fatih always helped us providing infor regarding where to have dinner/lunch, where to hire cycle.
The next morning, we decided to catch sunrise thinking it will look great to see sun rising on this exclusive rock mountain skyline. But thanks to very cozy cave bedroom, we couldn’t move till 7 in morning. I wanted to take tea on outdoor rustic table just outside our bedroom window, but in few sips of chai in chilled morning, we came back to cave comfort. After hot shower & getting ready we had nice breakfast on roof-restaurant in our hotel, from where view goreme village, it’s rock mountain houses were just a perfect start of day! I also liked those handmade soaps provided to us in bathroom.

We stayed here for only one night. But we loved the cave suite so much that we will definitely go back to Divan cavehouse, when we will go back to Goreme.

Room Tip: Suite below reception for couples or Room on top
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmrutaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

994 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    820
    159
    13
    1
    1
See reviews for
144
323
78
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
paris
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2012

This hotel was the "cherry on the cake" for our trip. We stayed there with our 4 years old son and the room given to us was just amazing and it looked like a suite. The bathroom was fully equipped with a shower and a bathtub separated. All the room was very comfortable and clean.
Nestled in thr rock at the top of the city of Göreme, it is very easy to access it and very typical because all made of local stones.
The staff was very helpful and nice.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiflo90045Paris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nagoya, Japan
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

Good!
Tasty omelette for breakfast in accordance with your request.
There is a good restaurant nearby where people talk and become friends easily.
Matt

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MadMattNagoya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

We went there as a couple on Christmas Eve. Although there are other rooms with Goreme panorama, our room is more inside. Room service, cleanness are great. They work on every detail. As to the place, a visit to Goreme is a must-done in life. At least for couples, it is very romantic to stay in this ambiance and tasting local wines. My only concern is quality of breakfast. Yes it is open buffet breakfast with full of jams, eggs, olives, cheese etc... But there are some traditional Turkish breakfast dishes -sucuklu yumurta or menemen- that could be served on demand.
However my overall impression is very good to stay there...

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreeTraveller_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

The only "problem" with our cave room no.314 was the earth and little stones chipping off the ceiling. Other than that, breakfast was very nice on a sunny terrace, looking on Göreme's impressive landscape, the rooms were tasteful and quite well-equipped (despite the hair-dryer being a bit old) and staying in the particular village was also an excellent choice. Unavoidably touristy, but beautiful; one can find touristy restaurants, but also excellent taverns, shops, banks, or just enjoy the silence of the higher parts (where Divan hotel is also located).

Room Tip: Go for the cave rooms for something different, but be prepared for dust.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank OlgaMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2012

The landlord is very nice. I love the comfortable room. Anyone can try it, valuable!!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CalvinChen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

I really enjoyed my stay in this delightful hotel. It was brand new when i first visited in 2010, then I couldn't resist another stay when I returned to Turkey for a fleeting visit recently. Beautifully appointed and the bathroom was sumptuous. The staff were very accommodating and the view down over the town was breathtaking.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LozMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.2 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#18 of 64 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 892 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.0 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#12 of 64 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#4 of 64 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,003 reviews
0.2 mi away
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
Caravanserai Cave Hotel
#26 of 64 in Goreme
4.5 of 5 bubbles 508 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 64 in Goreme
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Cave House

Property: Divan Cave House
Address: Aydinli mah Gorceli sk no:5, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Goreme
#5 Family Hotel in Goreme
#6 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Divan Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Cave House is located in the old, upper part of Goreme, less than five minutes' walk from the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Divan Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Cave House Hotel Goreme
Divan Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing