We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in a cave”
Review of Divan Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Divan Cave House
Ranked #12 of 78 Hotels in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 7, 2011

We stayed here for two nights during our trip around Turkey, where we were staying in hostels/bed and breakfasts, so this accommodation was our treat - and a treat it was. Our room was huge, wonderfully warm (important as the weather was wet and cold) with a fantastic shower. We slept like logs each night in this super comfy hotel. Breakfast was plentiful (fairly standard cold hotel breakfast spread) and the owner happily double checked bookings for a balloon flight and tour we'd arranged before we arrived. Great free wireless too.

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheYarralls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed April 16, 2011

Enjoyed our stay. Room was great, with excellent bathroom and heating. Bedding was good with comfortable pillows, sheets and quilts. Quiet. Great breakfast - with good selection and good quality fresh bread, olives, cheese, yoghurt etc. Manager (Fatih) was very helpful and even drove us into town a few times. He also allowed us to leave a day early without penalty due to the cold weather and us not having appropriate clothing!We wish the weather had been kinder to us. There was a misunderstanding with regard to the hot air balloons but we will put it down to the language barrier, and it was resolved amicably. Location, while nice and quiet, is a little bit out of the way to walk to restaurants especially for young kids in cold weather and at night. It would only be 5 minutes down to restaurants but 10 minutes back up the hill. An on site restaurant or option to have home cooked meals in your room would be great (even if you had to order them earlier on in the day).

  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NZFamilyTravellers5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2011

My friends and I just came from Cappadocia for the first time in our visit to Turkey. The Divan Cave House is a nice place because of its historical look, quiet and simple setting, beautifully decorated rooms and very courteous staff. My friends and I were made welcome by the staff and made to feel at home. The rooms are not big but are just enough to be comfortable. The beds are absolutely comfortable and make you feel like you are on a cloud. The Cave House serves a great Continental breakfast with great variety of food items for your pleasure. It's location is not far from the main business district less than minutes away whether walking or driving. As an American that has visited this type of hotel for the first time, I was thoroughly pleased.

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thomaswoodson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2010

I am not a person crazy about big touristic places and usually very annoyed when you feel like people force you to do things or buy stuff you really dont need. This hotel was the best example of offering service when you need it but not forcing anything on you. The views are quite spectacular from the little square inside the hotel, the nights where incredibly quiet and the rooms offer an amazing luxurious experience for a small price.

Every morning they had a diverse breakfast waiting for you and I must say that I felt a little guilty about not being able to eat all the nice things they had prepared for us.

If you hate the big tourist destinations like i do and you really want to be left alone to explore and enjoy the almost lunar landscapes, December is the time of year, and this the hotel you would want. Down in the centre of the village, you may have a different experience as there is a lot of traffic going down the road and it is filled with little shops. This hotel is on a walking distance and just breathes calm and luxury.

The area offers almost too much to take in, in just a few days, that's why me and my girlfriend are already thinking about returning for another trip in the future. Naturally we hope that we can stay at the Divan Cave house again in the future. It's really one of those gems you rarely find in a touristic place.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank deBekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2010

Our cave was very spacious, clean and confortable (great bed). The bathroom was small but very confortable and new with good amenities. The staff speaks good english and is very friendly. They picked us at the bus station 6AM and offered complimentary breakfast. Good location.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carolina099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2010

This hotel was really beautiful, really clean and the service excellent. The staff were very helpful and friendly and were always there to answer our questions about the area and recomended great things to do. The breakfast was lovely, especially outside watching the hot air ballons float by. It is located in a nice quiet area of the town, and only a couple of minutes walk from the centre. And of couse free wifi is an added bonus so I could upload my phots to facebook to make all my friends want to come to Cappadocia :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank snoodiemctockish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2010

The Divan Cave Hotel is new (only open 5 months at the time of writing), so don't let the lack of reviews dissuade you. The Divan Hotel is very nice; basic, but nice. It offers clean, comfy and spacious cave rooms, and great views out over Goreme's fairy chimneys. It's located up away from the center of town (about 7 minute walk downhill -- a bit longer back uphill), so you have easy access to restaurants and sights but there's no noise or pollution from buses or motorbikes.

Breakfast is a simple but tasty buffet (with really delicious yogurt). There's no restaurant on the premises, but like I said the hustle and bustle of Goreme is just a quick walk away.

Overall my husband and I were very satisfied with our stay, and would happily stay at the Divan Cave Hotel if we ever return to Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank circusliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.1 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 78 in Goreme
1,187 reviews
0.1 mi away
Erenbey Cave Hotel
Erenbey Cave Hotel
#11 of 78 in Goreme
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maccan Cave Hotel
Maccan Cave Hotel
#17 of 78 in Goreme
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#16 of 78 in Goreme
514 reviews
0.1 mi away
Stone House Cave Hotel
Stone House Cave Hotel
#18 of 78 in Goreme
381 reviews
0.1 mi away
SOS Cave Hotel
SOS Cave Hotel
#22 of 78 in Goreme
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Divan Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Divan Cave House

Address: Aydinli Mah. Gorceli Sok. No:5, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Goreme
#6 Romantic Hotel in Goreme
Price Range: $34 - $67 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Divan Cave House 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Divan Cave House is located in the old, upper part of Goreme, less than five minutes' walk from the town center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Divan Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Divan Cave House Hotel Goreme
Divan Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing