We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food and service with a homely feel”

Old Cappadocia Cafe & Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 104 Restaurants in Goreme
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $13
Cuisines: Turkish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Robinson River, NT Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“excellent food and service with a homely feel”
Reviewed January 18, 2013

We enjoyed three meals which where all superb, Halil and his wife Fazilet (an accomplished hat knitter) made us so welcome, honestly we just didn't want to go anywhere else.
We finished each evening with a great Turkish Coffee.
All in all with Cappadocia providing so many natural highlights it was enjoyable to finish a full to the brim day with good company and well prepared fresh food.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stusurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    818
    283
    56
    22
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food for all”
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Were there two times, a large selection of menus is the national food, everything is fresh and delicious. Welcoming staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex, Montana
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Friendly service, okay food.”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

I had the Turkish-style pizza with "Meat and Vegetables" at the recommendation of the server (probably also the owner or manager, as he was the only person around)- it turned out to be minced meat that is often used in Turkish dishes. Of course, this is only personal preference, but I was not a fan. I was able to finish most of it, but only because I did not want to bother ordering anything else. Perhaps this was an error on my part for not ordering something I knew I would like, but I try to be adventurous in foreign countries, and it's rare that I am disappointed with a meal. The service was very nice, and I'm sure that other menu items are delicious, but I decided to not return to see for myself.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank sh0rtnsweet620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Lovely place”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The food was nice, but the highlight of the place was the waiter (I wish I knew his name), who never stopped smiling and was lovely! Very comfortable sitting, nice space outside.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bewareofkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We had a brilliant night sitting outside next to a couple of Americans. We enjoyed good food and the very quaffable local Cappadocian red wine.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Chezz5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Cappadocia Cafe & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Old Cappadocia Cafe & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing