We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Review of Elysee Cave House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elysee Cave House
Ranked #2 of 74 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Rome, Italy
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Place to Stay”
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed for 4 nights in a standard four person room at Elysee Pansion. The room was extremely spacious and comfortable, (even had a random extra bed). Also, heating in the room and hot water pressure was excellent and the bathroom was huge! The room was nicely partitioned into 2 single beds in the front and a king bed in the back so that everyone had some privacy. The upstairs common use room was also extremely comfy, with free flow tea and coffee and a fireplace.

Deniz, the manager was extremely helpful, giving us information about the regions, providing directions and helping us make bookings for tours, shuttles etc. Even when we checked out he made sure we were still comfortable by letting us use an unoccupied room to keep our luggages and take a shower before our flight.

Also, the location of the hotel is excellent, close to the city center and all attractions.

Overall, an excellent stay and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to go to Cappadocia!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lishan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    377
    59
    13
    2
    3
See reviews for
111
141
54
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
alberta
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

Very pleasant experience staying here with our Intrepid guide and group. Rooms were ready when we arrived, Denis was very accomodating, our door lock was broken on check in but he fixed it right away while we all went out. Denis was very helpful with information and whenever we went into the dining area with bottle of wine or just to hang out, he always lit a fire for us, so appreciated. Would definately reccomend this Pension.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking town have better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crossdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Perfect location, warm welcoming, beautiful terrasse where breakfast is served, comfortable rooms, and best hairdryer i have ever used in an hotel. Fantastic bathroom with big shower, very good stay !

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tchoulie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We had a wonderful few days in Goreme. Deniz was a very accommodating manager, nothing being too much trouble (even the rude attitude of other guests). The hotel provided a lovely outdoor area, which was a great space for our young boys to play (and Deniz, when he had time to join them), and was an easy walking distance to the main tourist strip of the town for shopping and restaurants. The breakfast was a great start to the day, located on the terrace roof top - worth getting up early to see all the balloons over the valley. Overall, one of the highlights of our trip to Turkey.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitoelza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Allentown, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed here for two nights as part of a tour. The place has character and is visually appealing. The location is a little out of the way from central Goreme where all the shops and restaurants are located. The breakfast buffet was similar to what I had in other hotels in Turkey, although the top floor location of the breakfast room provides some great scenic views. I couldn't get a read on the manager - an odd fellow. He either has a weird sense of humor or is very rude. At breakfast one morning, after I got up from my table to speak to some other people on my tour, he approached me and asked if I was done. I said yes, and he said, "don't come back for more later." This may have been a joke but it didn't seem so at the time.

My room (Goreme) was unlike all of the other rooms I could find at the hotel -- it didn't have a full-size window as the room was built in to the side of the hill. There was a small window in the door but it didn't provide much natural light in the room. At night, once I turned off the light, it was pitch-black in the room. There was no bed-side light switch so I had to feel around in the dark to make my way to the bed. The room, itself, was comfortable and cozy and actually quite nice with it's carved ceiling. There was no tv in my room, unlike some of the other rooms - why not have tvs in all of the rooms? The bathroom was clean (with some minor exceptions) but not quiet - you could hear neighboring guests' conversations through the walls. Additionally, the rooms in the front of the building are noisy. Any conversations held in the reception or garden areas echo off the walls and easily can be heard in the rooms. If you need quiet, ask for a room on the second floor in the back of the building - they have better morning views anyway.

Overall, I wasn't unhappy with this hotel but I'm sure there are better options if you're going to stay in Goreme.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the back of the building so you don't hear the noise from the reception area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elyseegoreme, Owner at Elysee Cave House, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
I am very glad that you liked our hotel in general but I'm quite surprised about the comments you made about the room.

<My room (Goreme) was unlike all of the other rooms I could find at the hotel -- it didn't have a full-size window as the room was built in to the side of the hill. There was a small window in the door but it didn't provide much natural light in the room.> 'Göreme' (in our hotel rooms have names, not numbers) is one of the cave rooms we have and this is exactly what most people come here to do - to stay in a real cave. Caves are inside rocks and they don't have windows, this is part of their charm.

<There was no tv in my room, unlike some of the other rooms - why not have tvs in all of the rooms?> There are two different categories of rooms in our hotel, budget rooms (which have all the necessary amenities but nothing extra like a tv) for cost-conscious travellers and standard rooms, which are more spacious and also have a tv. As the travel agency you booked with only reserves budget rooms, then you also stayed in one. Most people who come to Cappadocia don't want a tv in their rooms and are happy to pay less for that.

< Additionally, the rooms in the front of the building are noisy.> I have to agree with that but unfortunately, this is true for most hotels in Göreme. We do ask our guests to try to keep their voices down, especially early in the morning and late at night but they often forget it. The biggest problems are with groups who often seem to think they are the only ones staying at the hotel, and if they are not sleeping, then nobody else does.

As for our manager, he does like making jokes and unfortunately, not all foreigners understand Turkish humour. I do apologize for that if he seemed offensive, he certainly dıdn't mean that.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We've stayed the hotel for 3 nights. The hotel manager Deniz was very friendly and Monica was very helpful. They helped us on hot air ballon ride and local tour trip. It ghastly been very pleasant stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed as part of an Intrepid tour during which I unfortunately broke my leg. Nothing was too much trouble for Dennis and staff during my stay including transport to join my group for dinner, faxing countless documents to my insurance and airline companies.the staff went out of their way to make me feel comfortable and this was an experience of being very much at home. I was very thankful for the delightful courtyard outside my room where I was able to have breakfast in beautiful surroundings even if I was unable to get to the rooftop terrace.
I can't thank Dennis enough for his hospitality and willingness to make my stay as comfortable as possible under the circumstances and recommend Elysee Pension highly.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthTess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Goreme hotels
0.3 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#14 of 76 in Goreme
1,029 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#2 of 76 in Goreme
1,108 reviews
0.4 mi away
Artemis Cave Suites
Artemis Cave Suites
#13 of 76 in Goreme
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#23 of 76 in Goreme
945 reviews
0.1 mi away
Goreme Inn Hotel
Goreme Inn Hotel
#3 of 76 in Goreme
1,189 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chelebi Cave House
Chelebi Cave House
#6 of 76 in Goreme
549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elysee Cave House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elysee Cave House

Property: Elysee Cave House
Address: Orta Mah. Mizrak Sok. No:18, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 74 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elysee Belvedere Hotel is a beautifully restored farmhouse carved from the ancient rock and local stones. A tranquil rose garden shaded by old pear trees, and a 300 degree panorama terrace are just a few of the many things to discover in our hotel. We have welcomed travelers for many years from all over the world. At Elysee Belvedere Hotel, hospitality is not merely a word. You will feel a part of the relaxed family atmosphere, where no request is too big and no detail too small. Just ask! All of our rooms are fully heated, and have shower and toilet facilities. We have 18 en-suite rooms. Many of the rooms offer a spectacular panorama of the fairy chimneys and surrounding valleys. You can choose if you want to stay "B&B" or you can also have dinner here. Our new restaurant "Belvedere Restaurant", located on the top terrace of our hotel is an extension of our passion for cooking, for Turkish Cuisine, and for our love of hospitality. Of course, we are always at your service if you need information about the region, and we will be happy to help you in any way we can. We also offer various adventure trips in Cappadocia, such as Hot Air Ballooning, Turkish Nights and Whirling Dervishes ceremonies, so that your stay will be unforgettable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Elysee Cave House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elysee Cave House Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing