We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice "Kapadokya architecture"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spelunca Cave Suites
Ranked #43 of 75 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Well located with a good view of the city. Quiet and cosy. The staff is pretty kind and helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FatCas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (238)
There are newer reviews for Spelunca Cave Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 238 reviews

Reviewed July 12, 2012

My family (2 kids, 10 and 9) spent 3 nights at this lovely hotel. Ramazan, the owner and manager goes out of he's way to ensure your stay is pleasant and your day is well planned. We landed at Kayseri and the hour long drive to Goreme was 'complimentary'. On arrival, my kids were warmly welcomed by Ismail with fresh watermelon, cucumbers, cottage cheese and fresh roll's.

Ramazan had planned our 'red and green tours as well as the famous hot air balloon rides' so this avoided the need to negotiate with the various operators. In addition, good restaurants (like the meeting point) were recommended.

The hotel is in the heart of Goreme so no need for any major walking. In addition, Ramazan will arrange to have you dropped off for any theatre shows / performances.

The room was clean and bathroom of a good standard, most importantly, it has a great view of the city given its location.

We will definitely return if fortunate to travel to Goreme again. Big thank you to Ismail who was always there and ready to help.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mohammed30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was sold to us as a boutique hotel. It is very far from it. The hotel is dirty and unkempt. We were put on a horrendous room with no ventilation, no closet, and very dirty. It has trash and old mattresses right in front of our room. The next day we were transferred to a larger one, which was better and apparently renovated.

The hotel was full of loud and unpolished people, obviously travelling on the cheap. The worst was the manager, who is an unshaven character, extremely rude, uncleaned, appropriately a real troglodyte. When I complained that there was no bottle water in the room, he aggressively shouted "I told you to ask for anything you need, didn't you understand"?

On the positive side, the views are decent and the other staff in the hotel (attendants, cleaners) are actually quite nice (they probably feel sorry for the guests having to put up with the monstrous boss).

The breakfast is very basic with cheap ingredients and poor choices.

Stay away from that cave unless you want to ruin your Capadoccia visit.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gazap0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

We stayed here as a group of friends and we were all happy. Everybody at the hotel was very nice and helpful to us. They accommodate all our wishes and did their best to make us happy. Majority of rooms are carved into the rock facade. The three rooms we took were all spacious and well appointed. There are nice outdoor sitting areas at the hotel. Rooms are established on three floors and there is the garden, breakfast room and reception at the entrance level. Rooms on the second floor are better. I haven't seen the rooms on third floor but I can imagine they are even better than the second floor ones. Hotel is close to Goreme's scenic view point, about 10 minutes walk. It is also possible to do nature walks from here. We walked to love valley in about 45 minutes. Open buffet breakfast was great. Both western and traditional Turkish options were available. Adem even baked borek for us some mornings. Room 206 I stayed was huge, carved into a solid piece of rock. It also had a huge bathroom with two sinks, jacuzzi and a separate shower place.

Room Tip: 201 has a private terrace and great views, 206 is huge and well appointed with a huge jacuzzi bathro...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elinasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

Great little place, rooms are fantastic and big (especially after the tiny rooms of Istanbul), bathrooms are even better. Some of them have jacuzzi's!

As you can see, rooms are on multiple levels. They are designed very well too.

Just a short walk from Goreme downtown.

Breakfast is hearty and fabulous. We tucked into yummy cheese, breads, and true blue Cappadocia staples. Even got a chance to eat fresh honey, with the honey combs!

And on top of all this, they had free WiFi!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank doonyj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

We loved it here! Great hotel, and our room was built straight into the cave. The room was fantastic, very spacious, the bathroom was large with a huge tub/shower, and heated towel rack. Free wifi too! Very nice breakfast in the am. The front desk was very friendly, helped set us up with a hot air balloon the next day even though we didn't get in until 10:30 pm. You cant come to Goreme and not stay in a cave!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank frugaldoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

The owner of the hotel, Ramazan, was extremely accomodating. We had some change in our itinerary so instead of staying for 4 nights, we had to cut it short to 2 nights. He assisted to help modify our reservation on booking.com without any trouble and was very nice about it.

We stayed in Room 303, the cave suite. Very nice and quaint-looking room. However, coming from a tropical country, we needed more heating in the room and toilet. Other than that, great place, great location, no regrets! Oh, please make sure you eat at this restaurant up the hill from Spelunca called Koy Evi. Great home-made food.

Personally, part of the Turkey trip is about the hotel stays and getting to know the Turkish people. We made a conscious effort to stay in hotels like Spelunca Cave Hotel, where the service is personal and exceptional. We were not disappointed. Thanks Ramazan! Strong recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ascetic_sg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.0 mi away
Panoramic Cave Hotel
Panoramic Cave Hotel
#38 of 78 in Goreme
196 reviews
3.9 mi away
Acropolis Cave Suite
Acropolis Cave Suite
#8 of 66 in Urgup
72 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
4ODA Cave House
4ODA Cave House
#11 of 66 in Urgup
288 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Cave Suites
Grand Cave Suites
#11 of 78 in Goreme
375 reviews
0.1 mi away
Aren Cave Hotel
Aren Cave Hotel
#4 of 78 in Goreme
235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spelunca Cave Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spelunca Cave Suites

Address: Aydin Kiragi Mevkii, No 4, Goreme 50180, Turkey (Formerly Spelunca Hotel)
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 75 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $37 - $77 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Spelunca Cave Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This cave hotel in the heart of Goreme has rooms built into volcanic rocks with vaulted ceilings and traditional Turkish style décor. The hotel offers free Wi-Fi and a hot tub. All the rooms at Spelunca Cave Hotel have a private bathroom. Some rooms also offer a flat-screen TV, spa bath or a terrace with views over the fairy chimneys. Spelunca Cave Hotel's restaurant serves traditional Cappadocian meals prepared with organic products. Breakfast is served as an open buffet with homemade jams, local honey, and fresh cream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Spelunca Cave Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spelunca Cave Suites Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing