We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Felt like home”
Review of Taskonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taskonak Hotel
Ranked #14 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 2, 2014 via mobile

Taskonak was a recommendation from a friend and we are most definitely glad for his suggestion.
Angela and Louise were wonderful hosts, offering help and suggestions that made our time in Goreme unforgettable.
Our room was quaint and extremely comfortable. Breakfast was plentiful with a great selection of goodies. I couldn't go past the pancakes with some of Angela's mother in laws home made jams and conserves. Oh and I also got my vegemite fix as I sadly had forgotten to pack any. Thanks heaps for that.
Both the Balloon ride and day tours that were organised for us by Angela were professional and a must do. As is a visit to Fat Boys cafe/restaurant which is owned and run by Angela and her husbad. We only had some meze which were wonderful especially as we washed it down with cold tap beer.
Thank you for a great stay.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank Asgre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you for your wonderful review and we are so happy that you enjoyed your time at Taskonak and that we were able to help you make the most of your stay! We are passionate about Cappadocia and if you are happy, we are happy! We hope that we may see you again one day and thank you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (298)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 298 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2014

I was a single traveller in Goreme - the staff at the hotel could not make me feel more welcome, helping to arrange all my activities. I had a great time in Cappedoccia and would not hesitate recommending it.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Anoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2014

Thank you so much for your lovely review or Taskonak. We enjoyed meeting you and chatting and we are very happy that you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again and thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Taskonak is a fantastic small hotel to rest your weary legs & soak up the atmosphere of this incredible part of Turkey. Angela went out of her way to make sure our every need was catered for including an open door and resting place when we arrived at 0430 from the overnight bus. Local knowledge and great tips, fabulous breakfast and friendliness abound at Taskonak. Our room was a beautiful cave, wonderful shower and excellent wifi. Lots of cosy places to relax and read a book or watch the magic balloon show overhead each dawn. Thanks Angela, Louise and all your staff for a wonderful stay.

Room Tip: Room 4 was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 643Helen1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Helen,

Thank you for such a lovely review. We really enjoyed having you as guests in our hotel and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip. Hopefully we will see you again one day!

Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

I spent a magical four days and three nights in Capadocia, and one of the highlights was definitely staying in a cave suite at the Taskonak Hotel. Room number three is a split level, spacious, comfortable, womb like cave room, with a huge bathroom including a spa tub. The tub was very welcome after my overnight bus ride from Istanbul. I arrived early in the morning, and was lucky enough to be able to check in right away. Also I was graciously offered and very much enjoyed the lovely breakfast upon my arrival. The homemade jams and the view of the fairy chimneys from the terrace set the tone for the next four wonderful days. The owners arranged a balloon ride and two full day tours for me which were fabulous. They also own Fat Boy's restaurant in town and offer a 10% discount for gas, and the food was delicious and the service special. They provided a ride for me to and from the bus station which was very much appreciated.

Room Tip: Room number three which was a key room suite was spacious, warm, and welcoming. However, as to be ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Christine,

Thank you for such a great review, we are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and found it so relaxing!

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your travels and maybe we shall wee you again one day!

thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We had a great stay at Taskonak from the moment we booked our hotel. Angela helped set up our airport transfer, and upon hearing that it was our honeymoon, upgraded us for the last night to a bigger room. The breakfasts were wonderful as was the view from the terrace. Angela went above and beyond to suggest things for us to see and do, even drawing maps for us and arranging to rent a car. We loved our stay here - the rooms are all great, and we were so excited when we got in, even though it was on the late flight at 3am, we could hardly sleep, because we were in a cave, and caves are cool. We would stay again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liz J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Hi Liz! Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we feel honoured that you chose Taskonak to celebrate your honeymoon.
We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip and we hope to see you again - maybe for an anniversary trip!
Thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2014

The Taskonak is a great base for exploring Goreme and the surrounding area. The cave rooms are spacious and comfortable. Angela and Louisa had some great tips for walks in the different valleys around Goreme. Breakfast on the terrace was excellent with fantastic views over the town.

Room Tip: The suites are good fro spreading out, but all the rooms were of a high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank pashab05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you for writing such a nice review for Taskonak. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us and in Goreme as a whole. Maybe we shall see you back on your next holiday!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2014

The hotel was converted from two traditional family homes so no two rooms are alike. Access is via two entrances on different levels. This is a quaint hotel with little nooks and crannies, made all the more delightful by having comfy sofas and seating everywhere. A casually placed pair of harem slippers by the rock-cut stairs, wooden chests and other touches of traditional homey relics gave it a great casual ambience. Angela, and Louise her assistant, were good hosts and helpful with guests' needs. The staff were friendly and non-intrusive.

Breakfast is a daily highlight as, apart from the typical Turkish standards, it included four varieties of cereal, several bowls of different fruit jams (looked homemade), three choices of bread and four different juice options. To top it off, Angela offered some of her own homebaked cookies to her staff and guests (that morning it was cornflake honey crumble) -- a regular practice I gather. It's a breakfast spread any top tier boutique hotel would be envious of.

Room #8 is on the second floor which overlooks the courtyard and the surrounding hotels and homes in the canyon above the town. There are also two other lounging/breakfast terraces from where the distant and imposing Rose Valley can be seen (amazing sunset transformations!). Our room had a great view especially at night when the lights come on in the canyon. Reminds me a little of Oia village on Santorini where we were the week before. Our room was previously the family kitchen although you wouldn't know it now as it had been remodelled with an ensuite shower and WC which is tiny but quite adequate for us -- two ordinary-sized orientals (?).

Room #8 is small without a clothes cupboard but sufficient space for living out of our bags. It would be nice to have more hooks or shelving as the existing small table for the courtesy daily bottles of water, tea & coffee packets and electric kettle had to jockey for place with a traveller's usual nick-nacks. (Yes – coffee, tea, sugar, bottled water and electric kettle are provided complimentary and restocked every morning!) This is not a room for messy travellers. With a bit of space-saving planning, it's not a big problem.

The hotel's location is up a slope from the main street in Goreme. Far enough away from the noise but close enough to all the conveniences. Of the four hotels we stayed in whilst visiting Santorini, Bodrum, Goreme and Istanbul, Taskonak in Goreme has to be the most memorable due to the combination of great hotel character, service and location.

Room Tip: Courtyard rooms (on lowest level) has easy access to pedestrian lane. Second floor rooms above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kl_novitiate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AngelaYilmazSisman, Owner at Taskonak Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a detailed and lovely review for us. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay. We do realise our standard rooms are small and we have taken your comments on board in terms of adding shelving etc so guests will have extra space for all those travel bits and pieces!

Thank you and we do hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
1.5 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#9 of 30 in Uchisar
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#12 of 77 in Goreme
1,053 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 77 in Goreme
1,164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
4.2 mi away
Kayakapi Premium Caves - Cappadocia
0.1 mi away
Local Cave House
Local Cave House
#9 of 76 in Goreme
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taskonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonak Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $27 - $46 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taskonak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Taskonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonak Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing