We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable, very friendly”
Review of Taskonak Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Taskonak Hotel
Ranked #14 of 76 Goreme B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 8, 2012

We stayed here in September 2012, and the hospitality shown to us by the owners was first class. Really helpful and friendly. The bar linked to the hotel, Fat Boys, also has a great atmosphere. The place has a fairly Medieval feel to it- very atmospheric- and is very clean and comfortable. Do check room sizes though if travelling in a couple- I had a room to myself, and though it had a double bed, I think I'd have found it claustrophobic if I'd been sharing. All in all, I'd happily recommend.

Room Tip: Be aware that the mosque is very close by! Morning calls to prayer at very early hour!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKbasedtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (294)
There are newer reviews for Taskonak Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

187 - 193 of 294 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2012

Taskonak Hotel is a brilliant place to stay whist visiting the moon like valleys that surround Goreme. The views from this Hotel are to die for. Comfortable rooms with excellent facilities including great wifi. Angela the owner was so very helpful and extremely knowledgeable of the area. Each morning she baked fresh muffins that accompanied an extensive and fresh breakfast including french press coffee. A comfy boutique hotel that is only a 2 min walk to the center of town. I found this an awesome place to stay especially as a lone female traveller whist traversing Cappadocia.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bernie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

From our first steps onto the balcony overlooking the fairy chimneys and the city, to meeting Angela and hearing about what we could do with our time in Cappadocia, our stay at Taskonak was perfect! Our room was very nice the view from our window in the mornings was breathtaking. Angela was so helpful and was always around for us to ask her anything at any time. Her breakfast was amazing, and the muffins she baked each morning were so good! We are already talking about coming back to Cappadocia and this hotel and the surrounding area are the reason.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank j_frisch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in October 2012 and thoroughly enjoyed it.

Positives:
-The entire place (from the rooms to the dining area) is completely spotless. Rooms were the cleanest we experienced during our 5 weeks in Turkey. Hot water showers with loads of pressure.
-The breakfasts were amazing. Picture you're standard Turkish breakfast plus FRESH bread, homemade jams and spreads, pancakes and freshly baked muffins! Amazing.
-The outside terrace. A little cold during our stay, but great views across Goreme. Perfect place for a bottle of wine.
-The service was amazing. The owner (Ange) helped us plan walks throughout all the valleys near bye. The Red and Rose valleys are an absolute must. They also went out of their way to help us anytime we had a query or needed advice. Ange's husband runs Fatboys (a local pub/bar/restaurant). The food here is unassuming yet delicious!

Negatives
-Hard to think of any...... Enjoyed our experience from start to finish.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PabloNZ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

We stayed here 3 nights. Our first day we arrived early and the owner, Angela, welcomed us and made us feel right at home (even though we were early for check-in!). The entire hotel is exactly as everyone else has said, fairy-tale Flinstones, type deal. Elegantly decorated. The room was a nice, big comfortable size, with a large toilet/shower combination. The bed was very comfortable and very warm for the cold October nights. Breakfast in the morning was fantastic. Including boiled eggs, pancakes, home-baked banana bread, assortment of pastries, yogurt, cereals, and on top of that home-made jams and preserves, along with the typical turkish cheese and veg. Excellent French press coffee in the mornings too!!

The owner Angela is very knowledgeable of the area and is happy to help you with tours or give you ideas on things to do. She also booked us our bus tickets to the next town which was very helpful to us. The young man who works at cleaning and cooking was also very friendly!

A perfect choice for your Goreme holiday.

Room Tip: Room 210 is much bigger than 208, so if you have to choose between the two, pick 210. Also look out...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sherlocktraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012

We usually stay at a hostel when in Goreme, run by a very nice family. When we had guests coming from New Zealand, we wanted them to stay in a cave hotel for their first trip to Cappadocia. We had absolutely no idea any hotel could be this much fun! Winding halls cut though the rock, the rooms on different, asymmetric levels, and secret terraces here and there. The delicious breakfasts on offer are eaten on the bigger, open terrace overlooking the gorgeous valley and the many-colored balloons, while another terrace is perfect for shady book-reading or conversations with strangers. The image of the Evil Queen coming around with her keys to check up on you is very compelling, but the only queen there is the lovely Angela, working her legs off, being everywhere at once and making it look easy and gracious. The rooms are perfectly decorated, the food is good, the beds are cozy, and the price is right. Angela and her husband Yilmaz are really doing it right. Now we have to figure out how we can stay here and somehow not offend our hostel buddies, but we will have to work it out because Taskonak is our new favorite hotel! Unfortunately, though, like all cave hotels we have seen in Goreme, this is not the place for folks with disabilities related to walking and climbing hills and stairs, but if were possible, I am sure that Angela and Yilmaz would make it happen.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elsie31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

I stayed here for 4 nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed it. The room was lovely, comfortable and spacious, down on the ground floor with a patio outside with seating. And the breakfasts here are incredible; you cannot possibly leave hungry. In addition, Angela is a brilliant hostess and extremely helpful.

Room Tip: I stayed in the Rose Valley which is on the ground floor, so no view, but very quiet.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FeliperCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Goreme
0.1 mi away
Divan Cave House
Divan Cave House
#15 of 78 in Goreme
1,044 reviews
1.5 mi away
Taskonaklar
Taskonaklar
#6 of 30 in Uchisar
391 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mithra Cave Hotel
Mithra Cave Hotel
#13 of 78 in Goreme
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Aydinli Cave Hotel
Aydinli Cave Hotel
#1 of 78 in Goreme
1,131 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kelebek Special Cave Hotel
0.3 mi away
Cappadocia Cave Suites
Cappadocia Cave Suites
#22 of 78 in Goreme
960 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Taskonak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taskonak Hotel

Address: Aydinli Mah. Gungor Sok. No 23, Goreme 50180, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Cappadocia > Goreme
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 76 B&Bs / Inns in Goreme
Price Range: $27 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Taskonak Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Taskonak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Taskonak Hotel Goreme, Cappadocia, Turkey

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing